We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we needed when we needed it. A review by a grateful family.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castello D'Urso Somma B&B
Ranked #14 of 329 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We arrived from our late flight at Catania to the B&B, to be greeted with kindness and an offer to order and pick up pizza for our hungry family. The accommodation was clean and the breakfast also very good. We were there in March so we did not use the lovely pool but I think it must be fantastic in hot weather! I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: The standard rooms were absolutely fine, large and comfortable.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mike01938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGDS, Direttore at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Dear Guest,

We are grateful to you for taking the time to share your experience at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B!
We are pleased you had a good time, although short.
We hope we can welcome you all again soon, maybe in summer, so that you can head to the pool and enjoy the sunny Sicilian weather!

We'll do our best to improve our services meantime, and deserve a 5 score next time!

Thank you for being with us!

Best Wishes


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 356 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2016

As other reveiwers have stated the approach to this fantastic B & B is not the best. However, once you drive off the road & into the grounds it is astounding what you find.
The welcome that we had from Santuzza was amazing & she is so helpful & approachable. The room we had overlooked the massive pool & the gardens are large & very well maintained. The room itself was beautiful & extremely clean with a self serve breakfast area shared by 2 rooms.
We had a lovely relaxing afternoon by the pool following a long lunch @ a family run trattoria recommended by Santuzza. On the way you pass by all the many lidos in this area with Mount Etna gently smouldering in the background.
Although, you can see & hear the planes coming & going, when sat by the pool, the noise is not enough to distract you. The amazing thing is that although when you turn off the main road you are virtually next to the runway, we had a fantastic nights sleep. Aircraft noise is not a problem at all.
Following breakfast we followed Santuzza's simple directions for the airport, 2 rights & the only left by the red aeroplane, & about 5-8 minutes later we were stood in the car rental returns office. The easiest & most stress free journey to an Italian airport ever in our vast experience.
Thanks very much Santuzza for all your excellent advice & you should be very proud of the facilities that you provide @ your wonderful B & B. We would definitely stay here again but for longer next time. A fantastic end to our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bergkamp616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGDS, Direttore at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dearest Guest,

I was so pleased to read your excellent review on your stay here at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B!

It fills me with great joy to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much, that you would choose to stay with us for your next visit to Catania.

We all look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

The area certainly doesn't prepare you for such a beautiful gem rising out of the rough,absolutely tip top service, attention, and accomadation with a fabulous swimming pool, tennis court, easy parking thrown in........hotel airports will never be the same again!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lso270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGDS, Direttore at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at Castello D'Urso Somma!

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had a wonderful experience with us.
We take great pride in our personalized service here and I’m thrilled to read your comments.

Again, thank you for your fantastic review and I look forward to welcoming you back to our B&B in the very near future.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This was a real suprise as what is within the grounds is certainly not given away by the surrounding location. A beautiful room with fantastic 'help yourself' communal kitchen and supplies. The accomodation is newly bulit in the lovely grounds with swimming pool. The welcome was warm friendly and helpful and its just 10 mins (max) drive to Catania airport .

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenneth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGDS, Direttore at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review!

I am thrilled to read of what a marvelous stay you had and hope the fond memories you took away with you shall bring you back on a future visit.
It was a great pleasure to have you staying with us and I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our B&B in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

The Castello D'Urso Somma is an oasis of tranquility and beauty. The grounds are exceptional and beautifully tended with luscious tropical plants such as banana trees and many varieties of palm. The central feature is a 50m pool surrounded by canopied seating areas to relax and enjoy a cooling drink. There is a 24/7 cafe/kitchen area available from which you can help yourself. No cooked breakfast but very fine Sicilian pastries, breads,drinks and fruits. Pleasant staff keep all areas clear and cleaned. San Tuzza runs this family business and is very welcoming and approachable. You would need transport but there are wonderful lidos close by. Catania itself is a short drive away. Mount Etna can be seen from the Castello and of course the airport is just a short drive.

Room Tip: There is one suite available in the Castello itself, costs a little more. just ask about availabilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGDS, Direttore at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Dearest Mrs Christine,

Thank you for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us!
It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Rest ensured, that we will take you comments for further encouragement within the team to ensure personal service and warm welcome for your and our potential guests' next visit.

Our Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,800 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Casa Barbero
Casa Barbero
#1 of 329 in Catania
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello D'Urso Somma B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello D'Urso Somma B&B

Address: Via San Francesco Alla Rena 15, 95121 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range: $123 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello D'Urso Somma B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unusual Bed and Breakfast is set in it's own gated gardens,with palms and trees.Guestrooms, which are housed in 2 self contained annexes around a historic Castle ( NO ROOMS INSIDE IT), are all ensuite ( with shower only)and offer a/c climate control, cable tv (Italian channels only),closet, desk,manual roller blinder and hair dryer (on request). Sorry, smoking is not permitted indoors.Our rates include:Self Service Buffet Breakfast ( Italian basic)* Daily housekeeping* Bed and bathroom linens* Energetic consumption* On site Private Parking* Use of the ourdoor semi-Olympic Swimming Pool - when open (towels not included)* WiFi* Local taxes and VATAlthough close to the airport, to the main highways, to the old city centre,we can offer a silent, relaxing andpeaceful location without being cut away from the world. Besides, our location is also very convenient for exploring most of the island, since the main motorways are a couple of minutes away from our property(Taormina 45 min; Siracusa 30 min; Mount Etna 1h, Palermo 2h).A warm welcoming and a friendly hospitality, which are typical values of our tradition and culture, combined with an exquisite tranquility, are the essential features of our Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castello D'Urso Somma B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello D'Urso Somma B&B Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing