We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveller rating
306
52
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
306
52
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge swimming poolclose to the airportcatania airportindustrial areaconvenient breakfastshared kitchenshort driveseparate buildingfollowing morningcoffee machinecakesstayed one nightmount etnapropertyaccommodationoutbuildingsannex
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2016

As other reveiwers have stated the approach to this fantastic B & B is not the best. However, once you drive off the road & into the grounds it is astounding what you find.
The welcome that we had from Santuzza was amazing & she is so helpful & approachable. The room we had overlooked the massive pool & the gardens are large & very well maintained. The room itself was beautiful & extremely clean with a self serve breakfast area shared by 2 rooms.
We had a lovely relaxing afternoon by the pool following a long lunch @ a family run trattoria recommended by Santuzza. On the way you pass by all the many lidos in this area with Mount Etna gently smouldering in the background.
Although, you can see & hear the planes coming & going, when sat by the pool, the noise is not enough to distract you. The amazing thing is that although when you turn off the main road you are virtually next to the runway, we had a fantastic nights sleep. Aircraft noise is not a problem at all.
Following breakfast we followed Santuzza's simple directions for the airport, 2 rights & the only left by the red aeroplane, & about 5-8 minutes later we were stood in the car rental returns office. The easiest & most stress free journey to an Italian airport ever in our vast experience.
Thanks very much Santuzza for all your excellent advice & you should be very proud of the facilities that you provide @ your wonderful B & B. We would definitely stay here again but for longer next time. A fantastic end to our holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bergkamp616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGDS, Direttore at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dearest Guest,

I was so pleased to read your excellent review on your stay here at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B!

It fills me with great joy to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much, that you would choose to stay with us for your next visit to Catania.

We all look forward to welcoming you back!

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016

The area certainly doesn't prepare you for such a beautiful gem rising out of the rough,absolutely tip top service, attention, and accomadation with a fabulous swimming pool, tennis court, easy parking thrown in........hotel airports will never be the same again!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank lso270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGDS, Direttore at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at Castello D'Urso Somma!

It gives me great pleasure to know that you had a wonderful experience with us.
We take great pride in our personalized service here and I’m thrilled to read your comments.

Again, thank you for your fantastic review and I look forward to welcoming you back to our B&B in the very near future.

Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016

This was a real suprise as what is within the grounds is certainly not given away by the surrounding location. A beautiful room with fantastic 'help yourself' communal kitchen and supplies. The accomodation is newly bulit in the lovely grounds with swimming pool. The welcome was warm friendly and helpful and its just 10 mins (max) drive to Catania airport .

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KennethO972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGDS, Direttore at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review!

I am thrilled to read of what a marvelous stay you had and hope the fond memories you took away with you shall bring you back on a future visit.
It was a great pleasure to have you staying with us and I very much hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our B&B in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2016

The Castello D'Urso Somma is an oasis of tranquility and beauty. The grounds are exceptional and beautifully tended with luscious tropical plants such as banana trees and many varieties of palm. The central feature is a 50m pool surrounded by canopied seating areas to relax and enjoy a cooling drink. There is a 24/7 cafe/kitchen area available from which you can help yourself. No cooked breakfast but very fine Sicilian pastries, breads,drinks and fruits. Pleasant staff keep all areas clear and cleaned. San Tuzza runs this family business and is very welcoming and approachable. You would need transport but there are wonderful lidos close by. Catania itself is a short drive away. Mount Etna can be seen from the Castello and of course the airport is just a short drive.

Room Tip: There is one suite available in the Castello itself, costs a little more. just ask about availability.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGDS, Direttore at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Dearest Mrs Christine,

Thank you for your kinds words and the time you took to share them with us!
It is great to hear, that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Rest ensured, that we will take you comments for further encouragement within the team to ensure personal service and warm welcome for your and our potential guests' next visit.

Our Warmest Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Stayed here for one night before flying out from Catania. Just 5 minutes from the airport- really. The area is a bit grotty, but once inside it's a wonderful oasis, completed secluded and surrounded by lush vegetation. Huge swimming pool, which we had all to ourselves. Help yourself to breakfast which was fine, but not spectacular. Very welcoming hosts. Wifi and comfortable beds, lovely bathroom. You don't stay in the actual castle, but the whole place looks wonderful. We had an incredibly relaxing last day of our holiday there. It's also only a short drive to plenty of restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxford_UKRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews