We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
309
52
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
52
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huge swimming pool close to the airport catania airport industrial area convenient breakfast shared kitchen short drive separate building following morning coffee machine cakes stayed one night mount etna property accommodation outbuildings annex
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2016

We booked this B&B for the last night of our honeymoon in Sicily. The wonderful family of Giuseppe and his daughter Santuzza made us feel very welcome; their home created a fantastic ending to our 10 day trip. We were greeted with a great warmth and nothing was too much trouble. The setup is great, spotless private rooms and exceptionally clean communal kitchen filled with delicious treats available 24 hours. The B&B is incredibly close to the airport (6 minute by car) yet we didn't hear a plane take off or land during our stay. The beautiful oasis is located unexpectedly in the middle of an industrial zone, so you if you wish to explore the surrounding area, even for short distances, its probably best to do this by car. However, once you are inside the gates, it is such a relaxing setting with beautiful gardens and a huge pool, you may not wish to leave! :-)

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Turophile10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGDS, Proprietario at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Buon giorno,

Thank you so much for your kind words!
It was such a big pleasure to welcome, even it was for one night only.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at ours and we wish you all the best for your new life.

Hope to welcome you again soon and for longer!!!

Warmest Regards from Castello D'Urso Somma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

We stayed only one night, but were very pleased. The setting is beautiful, the owner was charming and the set up was unique. We did not see any of the other guests, and enjoyed a peaceful evening on our own. But I think you should be aware that you are basically sharing a guesthouse (a really, really lovely guesthouse) with other strangers. So if you are super private and reclusive this is probably not the spot for you. Some of the area surrounding the b&b is not scenic at all, but have no fear, once you arrive you will be surrounded with beauty.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank nygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGDS, Direttore at Castello D'Urso Somma B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments!
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
If you’re traveling to our area again , we would love to have you over!

Warmest Regards from Castello D'Urso Somma B&B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2016

Bored by local hotels I wanted to try something different. I found this B&B with TripAdvisor and it's actually the closest place to my customer in the industrial area. The structure doesn't have a reception and check-in time should be arranged before arrival in order to have someone waiting for you. Not a big issue, they are flexible. Being a trip outside touristic season, only another room was occupied and this made the place pleasantly quiet. The room was nicely furbished with a big wood desk to work. Heating and cooling is provided by the air conditioning system (split). Good mattress on a nice bed. Now what is rather sad for the region is a breakfast based on industrial packed products.
The owners are very honest on the description and specify clearly there is no acoustic isolation for the rooms, and breakfast composition is detailed on the web site. Contact was simple and pleasant, nice people nice place.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moz74370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2015

I've never stayed in a place like this ever before- it is so COOL! What a great find and the reviews are true- it REALLY is a "unique place", "magical oasis" and "hidden gem", as everyone is calling it. We traveled in a group of 6 and we were all situated together in one stand-alone guest house (there are a few of them) in 5 separate rooms, so it was perfect. We made coffee every morning and had Aperitivos on the patio every evening. The ginormous pool is the best part and truly made for a relaxing few days in Catania. The grounds are gorgeous and the rooms are immaculately CLEAN. We unfortunately didn’t get to meet Santuzza as she was away, but her father Giuseppe was a wonderful host. GRAZIE MILLE to Giuseppe & Eleonora, and their wonderful, sweet, friendly staff!

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank gsherm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2015

Since we were flying from Catania and unsure of driving directions, I decided to stay in Catania the night before our departure. My primary requirement was proximity to the airport. Castello D'Urso looked like it might be cute, but I wasn't too concerned. The area you drive through to get there is industrial and I thought for sure it would not be great, but it was only one night. Boy was I in for a surprise! This is a beautiful spot, large well-cared for grounds. The castle is occupied by the family patriarch, his daughter, Santuzza runs the B&B. The B&B is made up of two newer buildings, each with 5 rooms and a "family" kitchen. Breakfast food and snacks are always available, and pomegranate juice from trees on the property was a real treat after we arrived. There's a lovely pool and tennis courts, free wifi. Our only issue was we couldn't manage to make coffee - three tries later, we decided a cup at the airport would have to do (which, as it turns out, was one of the best cups of coffee we had in Sicily). We were truly only 10 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tessabellagordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews