We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castello D'Urso Somma B&B
Ranked #12 of 327 Catania B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2012

My wife and I just left the amazing Castello D'Urso Somma B&B and it was one of the most memorable stays we have ever experienced!
Upon arrival we where greeted in the "open air reception" with a refreshing drink (fresh made orange juice!!!).
After a little tour of the property we where shown to our room: beautiful and sober decor, private bathroom, brand new LED tv. Rooms are inside a nice outbuilding, facing the Castle which is, instead, the owner's house.
The famiy "staff " are an asset to the B&B!They knew everyone by name and made you feel like you belonged rather than just being a guest. Stayed for 4 days.
This B&B is an amazing experience and one that we can not wait to repeat: such a peaceful, happy place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel82_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2012

We stayed for 1 nite before flying the next day. The lady manager was very friendly and welcoming, with very nice grounds, but given previous reviews were were abit disappointed in the place. Our room was in the annex, not the main house. The room smelt quite musky, the bed was only average comfort (a bit thin), it had an il-fitting bottom sheet and no top sheet, just a doonah. The shared common area was good, until 2 people arrived at approximately 10pm and decided to have some dinner, drinks and started smoking. We could hear everything they said, even though it was just a normal conversation.

So overall, we found our stay only to be average, but a good option if you want to avoid staying in Catania itself, and is very handy to thr airport.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank Shukes-and-Jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

We stayed here two nights this February. The rooms are lovely and clean. We appreciate B and B that have different quarters than the homeowners. The common kitchenette was appreciated with access to drinks and snacks 24/7. The owners are wonderful and fun to talk to. The gentleman owner is hilarious and despite his lack of English speaking made our waiting time fun. It was thoughtful to store our massive bicycle bags without charge and Santuzza helped us arrange transport to the airport. The grounds are immaculate and a nice oasis in the midst of Sigonella Base. The nearby area is food desert and no eating establishments are within walking distance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I found this B&B through TripAdvisor, and was thrilled to discover a lovely alternative to the dodgy or expensive options near the airport.

There really is a castle-like residence here, which the family has owned for several generations. The grounds are beautiful, well-kept and surrounded by a citrus farm. There is also a huge outdoor swimming pool. Rooms are in two out-buildings, with a group of rooms clustered around a spacious central breakfast area. Coffee, breakfast items and snacks are set out for self-service 24/7.

I was greeted by a delightful older gentleman who didn't speak English, but I was able to converse with him in French. The next morning his grown daughter, Santuzza, dropped by the breakfast room and asked if I'd like a piece of chocolate cake. In a couple of minutes, she was back with a divine slice of chocolate mousse cake. Santuzza was very friendly and speaks excellent English.

The family also very kindly found a cardboard box and newspapers for me to wrap up bottles of olive oil and other items so they'd be safe packed in my suitcase.

The room and bath were clean and comfortable. I'd call the decor "pleasant" rather than elegant or luxurious. The wi-fi was the fastest and most reliable of anywhere I stayed in Sicily.

The area surrounding the airport is a bit of a wasteland, so not sure where you'd go for food - but I suspect the family would be helpful with that.

Be sure to make note of directions, as this B&B is very difficult to find, even if you have printed out google maps. Once you're inside the gate, you'll be amazed at this oasis!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFTravelWriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Unfortunately we only stayed one night in the Castello d'Urso Somma but we were impressed with the service from the beginning. Our flight was delayed by 5 hours from Pisa to Catania so instead of arriving at 10.20pm we arrived at about 3.20am in the morning. We notified the owner of the Castello that we would be arriving late and she organised a car to meet us which was just as well as there were no taxis available at Catania airport at that time of night. The following morning we arranged with the person who picked us up at the airport to take us to our car rental company. The Castello owners were not put out by our tardiness and instead welcomed us expressing their disappointment in the delay & the airline. The grounds of the Castello are carefully manicured and well kept and the pool is exceptional. It is close to Catania airport (around 6km) but remains in a serene and tranquil setting. Breakfast is continental and the rooms are clean and sufficiently spacious. The bathroom was also quite large. As noted by a previous reviewer, the rooms are not in the Castello itself but rather in separate lodgings. The Castello is close to Catania and other points of interest if you have a car to get around and wish to explore the east coast of Sicily.We explored Taormina and the southern eastern tip of Sicily around Noto. I would recommend the Baroque towns of Noto, Modica and Ragusa Ibla if you're interested in history. If you're interested in beaches then Lido di Noto, Avola, Vendicari, Calmosche and San Lorenzo are exceptional. Fontane Bianche is also beautiful however is more dependent on the tides. There's lots to see and do in this area. Also, the old fishing village of Marzamemi which is fantastic to see. There's also all the towns featured in Andrea Camilleri's novels of l'Ispettore Montalbano if you're into those.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ooElektraoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
Hotel Villa Romeo
#4 of 49 in Catania
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,800 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Casa Barbero
Casa Barbero
#1 of 327 in Catania
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castello D'Urso Somma B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello D'Urso Somma B&B

Address: Via San Francesco Alla Rena 15, 95121 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 327 B&Bs / Inns in Catania
Price Range: $125 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castello D'Urso Somma B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our unusual Bed and Breakfast is set in it's own gated gardens,with palms and trees.Guestrooms, which are housed in 2 self contained annexes around a historic Castle ( NO ROOMS INSIDE IT), are all ensuite ( with shower only)and offer a/c climate control, cable tv (Italian channels only),closet, desk,manual roller blinder and hair dryer (on request). Sorry, smoking is not permitted indoors.Our rates include:Self Service Buffet Breakfast ( Italian basic)* Daily housekeeping* Bed and bathroom linens* Energetic consumption* On site Private Parking* Use of the ourdoor semi-Olympic Swimming Pool - when open (towels not included)* WiFi* Local taxes and VATAlthough close to the airport, to the main highways, to the old city centre,we can offer a silent, relaxing andpeaceful location without being cut away from the world. Besides, our location is also very convenient for exploring most of the island, since the main motorways are a couple of minutes away from our property(Taormina 45 min; Siracusa 30 min; Mount Etna 1h, Palermo 2h).A warm welcoming and a friendly hospitality, which are typical values of our tradition and culture, combined with an exquisite tranquility, are the essential features of our Property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castello D'Urso Somma B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castello D'Urso Somma B&B Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing