We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean, convenient to train station...”
Review of Hotel Villa Romeo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Romeo
Ranked #4 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 October 2011

We recently stayed here and were impressed by the friendly staff. They all spoke excellent English, were anxious to provide information on what to see, where to dine, etc. The rooms are well-appointed with all the ammenities one would want, and very clean. The hotel is easy to locate, and is convenient to both the central station and airport. The neighborhood is a bit suspect owing to its close proximity to the central train station. I would not advise visiting Catania on a Sunday as some tourist sites were closed as was the Mt Etna train.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face the main street
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank tbketh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (576)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 206 of 576 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

I was so glad I booked the villa Romeo, the hotel was trully sicilian with beautiful reception, entrance, rooms, beakfast room and as for the garden terrace - what can I say, tranquility in a buzzing city. We booked a triple room as I was on a family trip with my brother and mum to visit our Grandfathers grave in Catania war cemetry. The room was HUGE with 2 twin beds and a King size also, balcony to the leafy street below and very clean, The staff were fantastic and couldn't help us enough, all spoke good english and made us feel so welcome from start to finish. Catania is a brilliant city, vibrant, beautiful and so much to see, not at all what I expected from reading reviews and books on the city. The hotel was easy to find by car as its right next to the train station, it only took 15 mins to walk to the heart of the city passing lots of amazing traditional baroque architecture. Brilliant restaurants were recommended by the hotel staff, one of which was just round the corner, street parking was available and safe as the whole area outside the hotel has security cameras. you wont be dissapointed if you stay here. We even spoke to the owner Romeo who was in his beautifull gardens inspecting the plants. Brilliant hotel, Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Internal rooms are quieter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

On my return visit to Catania , I had my first and very pleasant stay at HOTEL VILLA ROMEO for 1 Week. This hotel is a real Gem an Oasis and My stay couldnt have been better from start to finish, The location is perfect, minutes to Central Train Terminal, Bus Terminal, Restaurants, Shopping and walking distance to the Beach. Catania is the perfect base for visiting the many areas of tourist interest that Sicily has to offer, most just a short trip by airconditioned bus. The Hotel, a former Villa and slill privately owned. This place uses charm and persionality and is meticously maintained under the supervission of the Familly, who own it. Many of the rooms have French doors that open onto the Patio Gardens.The Gardens are passionately maintained by the Patriarch of the Family, sometimes before breakfast in his dressing Gown and slippers, Breakfast was excellent, fresh and plentyfull , cerials,fresh fruit, fruit juces,bread pastries ,cakes, yogurt, eggs, ham ,tea and great Italian coffee. The rooms are spaceous quiet and recently decorated. all rooms have Cable TV, Safe, Airconditioning, Mini Bar, Hair Dryer, very comfortable beds. Internet is availabe at no extra charge. The staff were very proffesional ,welcoming and always eager to offer help and advice, this Hotel represents good value and the only negative, the front entrance to the Hotel dosn't do justice to the rest of the Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were planning a rail journey from Catania to Rome so needed accommodation near to the train station. We were pleasantly surprised at the high standard of accommodation and nice touches at this hotel. Their patio gardens and orchids were a feast for the eyes. The staff were friendly and accommodating and freely gave advice. Not a salubrious part of town but exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CourteneyGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Location - near by Catania Centrale railway station (3min by walk), 15min from Airport by taxi.
Room - adequate for short stay only. The cooler was disabled by us, because regulation wasn't sensitive. There wasn't balcony (but we don't recommended if yes) - there was door to shared teracce only, used for smokers by morning. Unfortunately it wasn't the beautiful teracce with plants and flowers.
Hotel services - car rental reservation provided by reception directly and promptly.
English - staff on reception only.
Breakfast - same for each day, but in great place - you can choose interior dinning small sallon or great teracce with the plants and flowers and relax music. It was a jewel of the hotel, which hid all of the hotel limitations.
Location secondary - the Catania is dirty city, same as Naples if you can imagine. Don't be surprised.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jeyare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,821 reviews
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
820 reviews
Borgo-Sanzio
Hotel Etnea 316
Hotel Etnea 316
#8 of 49 in Catania
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
285 reviews
Plaza Hotel Catania
#5 of 49 in Catania
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Romeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Romeo

Address: Via Platamone 8, 95131 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Catania
#6 Romantic Hotel in Catania
Price Range: $87 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Romeo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former 19th century palace, the hotel offers an elegant fusion of historic architecture and décor with modern comforts, good transport links and a central location.Fully restored with careful attention paid to its history, this 3-star hotel is fully equipped for both leisure and business travellers. In summer months, you can enjoy a relaxing moment on the terrace, with a drink from the bar. Alternatively you can unwind in the peaceful greenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Villa Romeo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romeo Hotel Catania
Hotel Villa Romeo Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing