We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the extra”
Review of Il Principe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Il Principe Hotel
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Catania
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We were due to arrive late at Catania Airport and decided to spend one night in the city before travelling down to Siracusa. We very nearly went for somewhere cheap and cheerful - it was just one night, right? How glad I am that we changed our minds and paid a little more for a room in this delightful hotel. The room was spacious, the sheets crisp, the bathroom gleaming. The reception staff were also very helpful in assisting our arrangements. I recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipeHotel, Direttore at Il Principe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your great review of Il Principe Hotel Catania. We are so happy that you loved your first stay with us and were satisfied with our service. We look forward to having you again on your next trip to the Catania area.

Sincerely,

Marco De Pinto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,057)
There are newer reviews for Il Principe Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 384 of 1,057 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at the Principe for one week on our honeymoon earlier this month. We had the suite which was very roomy and comfortable.
The location of the hotel is perfect as very central allowing us to just step out straight towards the main squares of Catania.
All the staff was very professional and helpful. No queries were too much for them and they also looked after our hire car all week (although a bit pricey at 15euros/day). They advised us on Etna tours but also on restaurants and interesting Easter celebrations.
Breakfast was buffet style with a wide choice of continental food and fruit juices.
I would strongly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a clean, comfortable and great location hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emily h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipeHotel, Direttore at Il Principe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for your wonderful review of Il Principe Hotel Catania. The hotel staff is always happy to give our guest all the informations and the tips to visit the city of Catania and its beautiful sites.
We hope you'll come back soon to visit us again.

Sincerely,

Marco De Pinto
Direttore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This is a very nice hotel and the location simply couldn't be better, at just a block away from the fabulous Piazza Duomo. A great place to stay when visiting the old centre of Catania, but definitely better to come without a car as the narrow streets are difficult to navigate. The room itself was lovely, very comfortable bed and clean for the most part. Bathroom could have been a bit cleaner. I'd booked a suite with jacuzzi bath which probably wasn't the best way to go since the sitting room was not really usable - it was dark, and since the TV was in the bedroom we spent no time at all in the sitting room. For a two day stay it wouldn't be good value for money but probably would be if you were staying for a week or more. Also, jacuzzi bath was a bit of a disapointment since the tub kept slowing draining water and it took ages to fill up so, in retrospect, a standard room would have been better value. Still, nice atmosphere in the hotel and staff friendly and helpful. Wi-fi not working at all, despite getting all the relevant codes from staff. Breakfast was good, in typical European style, and good quality. I would definitely stay here again if I was visiting Catania, although I would be very clear about my room requirements re: room location, view, facilities etc. Overall, a very positive experience of this hotel.

Room Tip: Have a conversation with staff as there appears to be a wide range of choices available and often th...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Row52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipeHotel, Direttore at Il Principe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012

Dear Guest,
thank you for choosing Il Principe Hotel for your stay in Catania.
We are happy that you enjoyed our central location.
Our staff is always ready, according to the availabilty, to change the room with another if it doesn't meet the guest at the arrival. For the next time, we suggest you to ask for a deluxe room which is cheaper than a suite, but is much more comfortable and has a better exposure than a standard room.
Regarding the problems with free WiFi, we apologize for temporary inconveniences caused by our internet provider.
We look forward to having you again on your next trip to the Catania city.

Sincerely,

Marco De Pinto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I did not quite recognise the description in the Rough Guide of 'spacious rooms and handsome beds' though 'Bathrooms can be a bit of a squeeze' was certainly accurate. Nevertheless, this was a perfectly acceptable place to stay, well located just a couple of minutes walk from the Piazza Duomo. A reasonable buffet breakfast was included in the cost. 'Average' is perhaps not quite right, but it was not 'very good' - something inbetween.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cajwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipeHotel, Direttore at Il Principe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank You for your review regarding your stay at Il Principe Hotel Catania.
As the hotel is hosted in a historic building, there are different types of rooms and the smallest one is 18 mq.
All the room spaces are well documented in our website and you can choose your preferred type of accommodation.
As you noted, we are the perfect choice to visit the old center of Catania, with its beautiful historical places.
We respect your opinion, that is clearly different than the other guests.
We really hope you'll come back to visit us for your next trip in Catania.

Sincerely,

Marco De Pinto
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The location is excellent, very central. I found the staff to be very helpful, even before we arrived I arranged an excursion to Etna with them and they were always there to answer emails and provide useful information. The room is exactly what you would expect from a 4-star hotel, clean, good quality bed, decent bathroom (the shower could have been upgraded though but it was still completely adequate). The breakfast is fine: nothing to rave about, but nothing to complain about either. Overall, a good experience: would definitely stay there again on my next trip, and recommend it to colleagues.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKTT09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipeHotel, Direttore at Il Principe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review regarding your stay at Il Principe Hotel Catania.
We are pleased you were happy with our hotel and service.
It is our goal to provide a great experience for all of our guests so I am glad you were satisfied with our amenities and cleanliness of the property.
We look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future.
Sincerely,

Marco De Pinto
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Catania hotels
UNA Hotel Palace
#3 of 49 in Catania
1,741 reviews
Hotel Royal
#15 of 49 in Catania
543 reviews
Manganelli Palace Hotel
#16 of 49 in Catania
422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Catania
Liberty Hotel
Liberty Hotel
#2 of 49 in Catania
781 reviews
Centro Catania
Hotel Romano House
Hotel Romano House
#11 of 49 in Catania
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Principe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Principe Hotel

Address: Via Alessi 20-26 | Centro Storico, 95124 Catania, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Catania
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Catania
#4 Romantic Hotel in Catania
#5 Family Hotel in Catania
#9 Luxury Hotel in Catania
Price Range: $138 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Il Principe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Principe Hotel is surrounded by baroque architecture in Catania's historic centre. Located on the Alessi Steps between Via Etnea and Via Crociferi, it offers free Wi-Fi. The rooms at Il Principe Hotel Catania all have parquet floors and elegant furnishings. Each room includes satellite TV and a private bathroom. A continental buffet breakfast is served daily in the dining room. Guests can also relax in the hotel's American piano bar. Il Principe Hotel lies 1.5 Km from Catania Centrale Train Station. The airport is a 12-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Agoda, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Il Principe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Principe Catania
Hotel Il Principe
Il Principe Hotel Catania, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing