We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,950)
Filter reviews
1,951 results
Traveller rating
1,093
696
122
23
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,093
696
122
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar una hotel executive room roof restaurant via etnea mount etna sicilian breakfast the main street an upgrade central location reception staff per day top floor would highly recommend this hotel comfortable hotel excellent location arancini
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 1,951 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2017

This hotel has been renovated since the last time I visited Catania which was some years ago. The transformation is superb, the hotel in the center of Catania on via Etena, easy access to sights, shopping and restaurants, the rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable.
The reception staff are the most helpful that I ever met, nothing was too much. Breakfast very good, not the usual croissant and coffee but a choice of sweet and savoury.
One important item they have secure parking which at 20 euro a day is a bargain

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank henryborgbarthet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Catania | UNA Esperienze, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Sir,
it is our greatest pleasure to read here on TripAdvisor that you had such a perfect stay at UNA Hotel Palace and that you mainly appreciated our dedicated guest service at the front desk, because we have at heart to provide you and all travellers that choose to stay here, a memorable experience, full of details, cares and high quality services, so that every guest can feel welcomed, cared for and valued, as you did.

Wishing you all the best for the incoming feasts and we wait then to welcome you again in the UNA Hotels & Resorts and Atahotels' world in the near future,

Kindest regards,

Rita Monfrini

Guest Relation
UNA Hotel Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

We stayed at Hotel Una Palace in October 2017 and were surprised by the modern and large lobby compared to typical hotels in Europe. Front desk staff were fluent in English and very helpful and friendly. They gave us a spacious suite (two stories in fact) but it was on the main street and sounded a bit noisy for me being a light sleeper. It was late in the evening so we just had dinner and went to sleep. The next morning after the included breakfast buffet service, which featured squeeze-your-own fresh orange juice, among other fresh varieties of food, we asked the front desk for a quieter room. When we came back at the end of the day they had moved us to another suite that was as quiet as a grave. We had expected to "loose" the suite perk by moving, but they still kept us in one, although our reservation was only for a superior room. At one point, the front desk manager spent about 15 minutes with us in a concierge role giving us advice and tips about places to visit, things to do and restaurants, etc. The hotel offers a menu of pillows so we asked for feather ones by phone and in less than 5 minutes we had two goose down pillows in zipped bags brought to our door on the 4th floor. The rooms had very comfortable king size beds, spacious and well equipped bathrooms, good size showers and plenty of space for our luggage and clothes. We stayed at 8 hotels during this Italy trip and all were pleasant experiences but Una was one of the best we had. It is located centrally and close to many of the local attractions. We walked everywhere and never needed a bus or taxi. The hotel also has a roof top restaurant that you must try even if you don't stay at Una. Excellent international food with Italian slant, good service and selection of wines, all at surprisingly reasonable prices.

Room tip: Rooms on the main street may be noisy. There are many quiet rooms on the inside.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KananaskisJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Catania | UNA Esperienze, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear Sir,
thank you very much for this review and sharing your plesant stay experience with the other travellers on TripAdvisor.

Your feedback is really important to us as is first aconfirmation of your liking and it also allows to monitor our services and make them closer and closer to our guests' desires.

Then, looking forward to welcoming you here, in the meantime we invite you to visit also in the other architecture.design hotels of our Italian brand group.

Warmest regards,
Rita Monfrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

Having stayed in smaller hotels on a two-week Overseas Adventure Travel tour of Sicilia, the comparative mammoth Una Palace felt more like a Manhattan hotel. There’s little wonder why it’s TripAdvisor ranked #3 of 49 Catania hotels. The lobby is huge, various meeting areas, and baskets of apples available. Registration staff is exceptionally helpful. The room (307?) is spacious, modern, and far enough from the elevator to avoid noise. The bathroom is modern, spectacularly clean. I enjoyed a long soaker tub (my height is 1.9 meters) after a day exploring Aetna's slopes on a cold, blustery day. The breakfast buffet is adequate, mostly greasy meats and carb overload…but it seems most tourists want that fare. I prefer fruit, yogurt, cheese, juice. All that was available, but in limited supply.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeanMurphy2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Catania | UNA Esperienze, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Sir,
what a great pleasure to know that staying at UNA Hotel Palace your travellers expectations were more than satisfied, being a big suprise in comparison to other Sicilian hotels and not only.Moreover, the quality of services and facilities, the care of details, the perfect location in the core of the historical commercial city centre make our hotel the choice of losts of travellers differently from small private ones in Catania here with highest ranking.

Therefore, we are very happy to know your preference and we will be very glad to welcoming you here again in the near future and in the meantime we invite you to visit also the other hotels our group in Italy.

Very best regards,
Rita Monfrini

Guest Relation
UNA Hotel Palace



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We spend a weekend at Una Palace and were upgraded to a small suite. The location is perfect, right in the center of town on the main shopping street, all sights can be easily reached by foot. The very friendly and helpful staff left a lasting impression on us, as did the roof top terrace with its beautiful views of the city and the Etna volcano.

What we did not like as much: we heard noise from a nearby service elevator which woke us up around 7.30am in the mornings. While the rooftop terrace is wonderful, breakfast there costs 10-12 Euros extra per person. In the end, this is worth it, as their normal breakfast place is a rather feature-less big hall with no views. However, the food offering is not so different, in the end, you pay for the view and the solitude, we were nearly alone up there.

Room tip: better don't take 401, too close to the service elevator
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveZug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Catania | UNA Esperienze, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear Sir,
we would like to thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and that you enjoyed your weekend experience at UNA Hotel Palace for its central location in the historical Catania and our team, who left such a lasting impression on you.

As a matter of fact, we have at heart to provide you a stay full of details, cares and emotions. Therefore, we are glad to read your comment about our work and at the same time, we are pleased that you also shared your pointed out also your preferences, perception and impressions, through which, we can monitor our hotel services and getting closer and closer to your desires. Concerning the elevator service noise, we have double checked discovering that they were due to some exceptional and temporary works in building next to ours. Besides, we would like to ensure that the additional Etnea Roof breakfast is a special service during which you can taste tipical typical sweets and savoury delights freshly prepared at the moment by our chef de cuisine from the traditional recipes of Sicily, such as the original arancino a fried rice ball with meat sauce or cuttlefish ink, the cannolo with fresh ricotta, caponatina i.e. stewed vegetables in sweet and sour taste, parmigiana and lots of other typical delicacies. So, with only a little supplement of 12.00€ per pers., you can also choose to start your day with the Sicilian taste during this additional breakfast that is performed in the breath-taking location of our panoramic terrace, the Etnea Roof agreeing with you, with beautiful views letting you discover the taste of Sicily too. We are sorry and we apologise for your perception about this service, which a special menu à la carte of products that you don’ find in our delicious buffet continental breakfast as being so different. We are sure that during your next stay here as other guests did you will enjoy more the Sicilian delicacies up there.

We look forward to welcoming you as our appreciated guest in the near future in the UNA Hotels & Resorts and Atahotels too enjoy our hospitality all over the beautiful Italy.

Kindest regards,
Rita Monfrini


Guest Relation
UNA Hotel Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

The location of the hotel is just great, the room is very clean and comfortable, the breakfast is good but not more. The staff is helpful, if u staying in the city of catania it is good choice , the city itself is rather boring

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank yobar41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UNAHotelPalace, Guest Relations Manager at Palace Catania | UNA Esperienze, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Sir / Madame,
thank you for sharing your opinion in TripAdvisor allowing us to monitor the quality of our services close to our guests' desires.

We also appreciate your liking for your room comfort and cleanness and as well our team helpfulness and our hotel location in the down town where there is a concentration of Baroque properties and historical ruins and monuments, evoking the grandeur of the Greeks and Romans' world, reviving in the modern city life, as the area is characterized by the presence of pubs, clubs, locals with folk, pop and jazz music, museums, galleries and concerts and in these days too, the preparations for Christmas' time.

During your next longer stay here you will enjoy more and more Catania and other Sicilian destinations and especially in summertime the Mediterranean colours are even brighter and in the meanwhile, we also invite you to visit the other hotels of our group centrally and strategically located in the most important Italian cities and tourist sites.

Warmest regards from Sicily!
Rita Monfrini

Guest Relation
UNA Hotel Palace










Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews