We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible location, food and wine”
other travellers have booked this property
1° piano
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
1° piano
1°piano 1°piano
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
1° piano
1°piano
1°piano
1°piano
esterno
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Catania, Province of Catania, Sicily

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
BeneMarie
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible location, food and wine”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment was absolutely fantastic. You are literally 100 meters from the most incredible fresh fish market as well as a fruit/ veg/ meat/ wine market. Pretty much everything that Catania has to offer is within 5-10 minutes of this delightful little apartment, including brilliant restaurants, good shopping, the bus station (a vital transport link) and even the train station is only a 20 minute walk away. We had read that the street felt dangerous at night in another review, but we felt very safe the whole time no matter what time of the night we returned home. You could get a litre of delicious wine for only €4, no joke, and it was the same for food.

Mount Etna is only 1.5 hours away on the bus- which cost €6.60 and is very walkable no matter what the tour guides try to tell you. If you decide to visit Catania, Acitrezza is an absolute must-see. It is truly incredible and costs €1 on the public bus, like all other journeys. We would also recommend Taormina, in both these places the water was so blue and clear that we bought snorkels, and it turns out there's an amazing fish population as well!

Limitations of the apartment were the dribbly shower, the old cooking equipment like frying pans, and the temperamental air conditioning.

That's literally it though, and these things are so minor compared to everything that is great about this place. Marcello is such a great guy who makes up for his reduced English skills with bowls full of character. Catania is probably one of the safest and most enjoyable places we've ever been on holiday and we cannot believe how relatively undiscovered it is.

Do go to Sicily, and do stop off at fourroomsrelax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCatBri...
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Charming, perfectly-placed in the heart of historic Catania”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Marcello's apartment for 9 days at the end of July 2014 with a friend and had a great time. It's got everything you need including very efficient air-con and plenty of space for two. The balcony is a lovely plus for enjoying your afternoon coffee in the sun. It was all perfectly clean for our arrival, very secure, plenty of storage for our clothes etc., and overall felt like a real home from home.
The apartment is well-placed in a very small traffic-free residential cul-de-sac in the historic centre of Catania. Within a couple of hundred metres' walk, you can reach the castle, the Piazza Duomo & cathedral, and all the rest of the city centre. Piazza Borsellino, where you get the airport bus (#457) is about 5 minutes away on foot.
The only small caveat I could possibly mention is that the 50m or so section of the street leading up to the cul-de-sac (via Auteri) which itself leads onto the more main road of Via Garibaldi, is rather low-lit at night and there tended to always be a few people hanging around in the evenings. So if you're a woman travelling alone and concerned about safety then do bear this in mind. Having said that, my friend and I just tended to walk up the middle of the street to get the better lighting (there's hardly any traffic on it) and never felt threatened by anyone.
On the same point, I felt safe overall in Catania and found that the guide books' warnings about crime in the city and men being OTT with their attentions to women were rather exaggerated! Look after yourself and your belongings just like you would in any other city and you'll be fine. We actually found everybody to be very open, friendly and kind, and patient with our attempts to speak Italian!
other Catania tips :
- we enjoyed the food and the service at L'Antica Brace - this is the closest restaurant to the apartment, on via Auteri. Antipasti from the buffet are amazing for vegetarian travellers and they also have local specialties including donkey and horse for the carnivores.
- Two favourite cafés: both called Prestipino - one on the corner of Piazza Duomo closest to via Garibaldi, the other on via Etnea between Piazza Duomo and Piazza Universita. At the via Etnea one they give you an amazing amount of free nibbles if you order an alcoholic drink (olives, crisps, pastries etc)
- The fish market is very close to the apartment - it is worth going there just to have a look and soak up the atmosphere. If you enjoy your food, get a slice or two of fresh swordfish (pesce spada) to fry up back at the apartment with some onion and parsley. I got 2 generous swordfish steaks for 7 euros and it was probably the best fish I've ever eaten!
- local seaside - take a cab or the bus up to Aci Trezza or Aci Castello for a charming seaside day out - no sandy beaches but several private and public bathing platforms with access to the sea.
- other regional recommendations (via hire car or Etnabus/ Interbus): Taormina + Isola Bella; Giardini-Naxos for sandy beaches; Ragusa and Siracusa/Ortigia for culture and history. Bus services were cheap, comfy and efficient.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and helpful, friendly owner
Liked least: only a tiny point: slightly low lighting on a section of main street outside - needed to watch our step on via Auteri
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcoraso...
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: L'accoglienza e la disponibilita' del proprietario!
Travelling group: Compagno/a
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebilj
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
Google Translation
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Compagno/a
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing