We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveller rating
262
266
71
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
266
71
15
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view busy road reach the city center breakfast is served roof garden wonderful hotel nice breakfast recommend this hotel mt etna comfortable hotel top floor booked this hotel the hotel staff front desk staff convenient location min walk enjoyed our stay
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 626 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

Stayed in the hotel in October. My impression is that it's more a location for businessman and conferences, however it is still perfect for couples and families. Situated about 10 mins by taxi from the airport away from the chaos of the city on the seafront. Access to the city centre either by walking (around 35 mins) or bus (stop is a couple of minutes away and ride takes around 10 mins although buses are not frequent). Rooms are comfortable and spacey, modern and maintained. We had a room exactly near the lifts and stairs, however there was no particular disturbance. Hotel has its own shuttle service, which although a bit more expensive than the taxi companies in Catania, is 100% reliable

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brendan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca T, Front Office at Plaza Hotel Catania, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Brendan,
We would like to thank you for the review you wrote about your stay.
We are happy that you are satisfied from your stay.
We hope to meet you as our Guest in Catania.
Best Regards,

Giusi, Staff Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

Very clean, warm and friendly,nice rooms with WiFi
The service is excellent centrally located to many restaurants, near the water and various attractions
I would not hesitate to return to this hotel.
We enjoyed our stay at the Plaza Hotel Catania Sicily

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank duckman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca T, Front Office at Plaza Hotel Catania, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Dear Sir,
Thank you to wrote a review about your stay.
We hope to meet you as soon as possible, as our Guest in Catania.
Best Regards,

Giusi, Staff Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The location of this hotel is far away from main attractions, such as Duomo, Roman theatre, etc. Nevertheless, its seaside location is quite attractive. Unless you have a car, don't expect to rely on public transportation. Yes, a bus stop is nearby the hotel, but there's only one bus per hour.

I stayed at room 314, right next to the housekeeping room and another lift, was being disturbed almost every minute by bumping sound especially early in the morning at around 6:00am.

The room is extremely dark with insufficient lights. No kettle is provided so we need to buy bottle water ourselves. The bed mattresses are dated that caused annoying sound when you turn your body each time.

The most disappointed incident happened there was the Mt Etna tour(book through the hotel) guide didn't show up as scheduled due to the miscommunication between the hotel & that tour Company (Etna Tribe). The tour Company refused to rectify the situation and the duty manager (Sarah?) also not helpful on the spot. Fortunately, with another FO staff Bruno's help, the case was finally resolved. Appreciate Bruno's help.

Frankly, a totally disappointed experience there!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CChanHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca T, Front Office at Plaza Hotel Catania, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Mr. Chan,
We want, firstly, to thank you for the review.

We feel very disappointed because it's true that you had some issues with the agency we work with, but you didn't say that they (to apologies for the mistake) offer you the excursion for free (giving back the money you paid as deposit)!

You didn't say, also, that the General Manager of Plaza Hotel Catania was totally willing to fix the problem (althougt it wasn't our fault!)

Everyone of the staff works everyday to make the customers feel like at home, and we are proud to be in the top of the best hotels in Catania.

So, many thank's from the General Manager, Sara and all the staff.

Best Regards,

Giusi, Staff Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel on June with my friend. Helpful and friendly reception and restaurant staff. Thanks for all of your help and attention. I also liked terrace on the last floor with beautiful sea and etna view. The only negative think is that it is not very comfortable to reach the city center if you don't have a car. There are few buses so the only option is to take a taxi.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank greta-mskt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca T, Front Office at Plaza Hotel Catania, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased to know that you are satisfied from your stay.
We hope to meet you soon as our Guest in Catania.
Best Regards,

Giusi, Staff Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

very clean,very professional helpful staff,they also arrange site seeing excursions at no extra costs.excellent breakfast,restaurants near by.could not ask for more.very near the sea 5 minutes walk.supermarket near by. Bruno is very knowledgeable regarding customer needs.

Room Tip: top floors ideal view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinodrailadva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luca T, Front Office at Plaza Hotel Catania, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here.
Thank you from all the staff of Plaza Hotel Catania and Bruno.

Best Regards,

Giusi, Staff Reception

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews