We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best business hotel in Sardinia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Olbia
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Olbia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Best business hotel in Sardinia, and by far.

Wether for it's infrastructure, it's facilities or it's staff, the Hilton Double Tree Olbia is in my opinion an oasis for business travelers in Sardinia.

+
Breakfast is great, salty and/or hot food is on demand - meaning that what you order is always freshly sliced or cooked
Rooms and bathrooms are larger than the average and very very conformable
Staff is friendly, efficient and professional

-
The food is "ok" for Sardinian standards (probably means rather good for international standards) but the prices of the main courses are ridiculously high and in no way justified. Bar menu looked good, but was available only at lunch time.
The hotel advertises complimentary wifi in the entire building, this is not true. Wifi is exclusively in the lobby and on the first floor - which unfortunately was closed during my stay. Can be a pickle if your computer does not have a ethernet port

With a restaurant menu more adapted to business travelers this hotel would be a hit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (749)
There are newer reviews for Doubletree by Hilton Olbia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 221 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2011

I have been to most 4* hotels in Olbia and must say that I like this hotel best. The hotel is brand new and eventhough it is posted as 4 star, I really believe that both the staff and the rooms deserve more. The room was one of the spaciest I have seen in Italy and they have free high-speed Internet (and this is truly high-speed, so was able to work, Skype and surf without any problem - you get the password from Reception). The bathroom with rain shower is great. My room didn't have a balcony, but I think I will take one next time I am there, especially when the weather is nice. I really like the decoration throughout the hotel, modern but warm. The food was really good in the Restaurant, quite some local specialties, which I always like and the prices were reasonable. Also the staff is nice, they are all quite young, but professional and friendly. So overall really good value and will definitely be back here on my next trip to Olbia.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chd1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Stayed for three nights at the Doubletree and it was wonderful. Great rooms, comfy beds, great service, huge breakfast, nice little gym, beautiful gardens and pool area, fab staff, I could go on......

After our stay at Doubletree we went to a different part of the island for a few nights, as planned. The hotel in Cannigione turned out to be a big disappointment so we came back to Doubletree for another two nights. It was great to be back!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MallorcaLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night before setting off for Costa Smeralda. It's actually quite tricky to find as the road it lies on isn't included on the GPS. The hotel is based in what I think will become an industrial area in Olbia. It takes around half an hour to walk to Olbia town centre and it's not a particularly nice walk involving walking through a road tunnel

There is a lovely large pool with sunbeds and a spa pool although it was quite windy on the day we stayed there.

Breakfast is amazing. One of the best buffets I have experienced with guests able to make their own fresh orange juice from the juicing machine, (throw the oranges in at the top and turn it on!).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbo041271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Just enjoyed 11 nights at The Doubletree by Hilton Olbia. I therefore believe that we are in a good position to have the following opinions.
It is brand new, has quality furnishings and is light and sunny inside. It is an atrium style hotel. The bedrooms are comfortable. Ours had a huge balcony with view of the pool, the town, the inner harbour and the ferry harbour and mountains across the bay. The bathroom was large and well equipped. The shower head was huge and gave a rain forest feel to cleanliness.
Views do vary depending on floor level and some at the back view towards the car park and mountains in the distance. Most rooms have a panoramic view I would say.
Small garden with clean deep pool and sunbathing area.
Check in was slick, friendly and hospitable. All the girls and guys behind reception were excellent and knowledgeable.
Modern lobby lounge and bar
Good buffet breakfast but ask for eggs fried or poached etc, if you want them, because only scrambled on the buffet.Fresh oranges cut for use in the fresh juice making machine. Good dinner menu and varied. We ate here every night because we are basically lazy and although we had checked out some town restaurants we found the prices in the hotel competitive to the good restaurants in Olbia.
The hotel food was always excellent and the staff very attentive, informative and friendly.
Use this hotel for comfort and a great base for touring the Costa Smeralda and Northern Sardinia. 35 minutes drive to Porto Cervo and we could visit Romazzino, Cala di Volpe, Baia Sardinia, Porto Rotundo and others very quickly and easily. There are some public beaches with wonderful sand and azure waters.
The Costa Smeralda hotels are wonderful in their own elite way but very much more expensive than The Doubletree.
A visit to the Maddelena Islands from the port of Palau is a must. The regular ferry currently costs 40 euros return for a car and two adults. Garibaldi's house and museum is on the island of Caprera but is closed on Mondays!
The Doubletree is out of town slightly, which suited us perfectly because it was quieter than the town area. Olbia is quite scruffy I am afraid and has very little charm. The local authorities should have some vision for the future tourist dollar, euro and pound.
There are no exchange bureaux that we could find and the staff in the banks were condescending, rude and full of bad attitude. Particularly the Bank of Sassari in the main street. Bring €uros with you.
To summarise - Great Hotel - Open 12 months of the year and it's a great shame that Easyjet are not flying here from Gatwick at least Friday and Monday in the Winter, Spring and Autumn because we found the September weather just perfect for us. I am sure that after 31st October the town could encourage some out of season visitors like Mallorca and the Spanish destinations do.
Costa Smeralda resorts close in mid September but the coast is still open for driving and visiting year round.
If you are expecting Costa Smeralda typical scenery in the immediate vicinity of the hotel then don't stay here but within a few minutes by car you can be heading for those areas
Use this hotel - You will not be disappointed
We would return and we would recommend it to anyone who is not expecting the world and who is not unreasonable and too demanding. No where is absolutely perfect but for what it is this hotel takes some beating!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WOLFSPIRITTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olbia
2.7 km away
Jazz Hotel
Jazz Hotel
#2 of 40 in Olbia
997 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#1 of 40 in Olbia
740 reviews
32.7 km away
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
#7 of 17 in La Maddalena
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Speraesole
Speraesole
#12 of 40 in Olbia
585 reviews
18.6 km away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
540 reviews
1.6 km away
Mercure Olbia
Mercure Olbia
#11 of 40 in Olbia
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Olbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Olbia

Address: Via Isarco 5/7, 07026, Olbia, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Olbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Olbia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Olbia
#13 Family Hotel in Olbia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Olbia
Price Range: $76 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Olbia 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern Doubletree Hilton offers a free swimming pool, free Wi-Fi access and a beautiful view on the Sardinian coast. Olbia's historic centre is just a 10-minute walk away.Hilton Doubletree's air-conditioned rooms all have an LCD HD TV with Sky channels and free tea and coffee-making facilities. Most have a furnished balcony overlooking the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hotelopia and Cancelon so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Olbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Olbia Hotel Olbia
Doubletree By Hilton Olbia Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing