We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very loud”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Taranto
Reviewed 18 February 2017

This hotel is not bad and enjoys a good location. Rooms are clean and reception was efficient and friendly. We stayed there two nights and every night the place was like trying to sleep at a frat house. The halls are all stone so they echo plus the clients don't care how loud they are. 1st night the fire alarm sounded at 2AM because of smoking in the rooms. They then stayed in the hall, talking, and shouting for another hours. Second night there was a party in the room next to us and they had their door open. To the hotels credit after complaining the noise stopped. Too bad because the hotel should get a 4 but I must give it a gerious 3.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ComeflywithmeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2016

The staff at the reception desk is helpful but not everyone speaks English. The room was modest but clean and the service staff thoroughly tides the place up and is very kind. The wifi service is not so great but it works. The minus is breakfasts, they are available until 10:30 but the selection isn't so great. Plenty of sweets, not so much of other things like ham or butter. Otherwise good, if you're not extra demanding this place should be ok for you. The great advantage is the location of the hotel just in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sisoj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

The only positive thing about this hotel is its central location and nothing more. It surely needs a renovation, it's like you're entering a hospital instead of a hotel. The room was clean, not big, and didn't even have a mini bar or hair dryer. Also the breakfast is very poor, a couple of cakes, toast and milk. We stayed in B&Bs with better breakfast. So, if you just want a hotel that will allow you to go around town on foot and not be very expensive, that's an option, otherwise don't go there.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Stella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Our room was very basic, but it was a good size. Bed was OK. Ours was an inside room and there was no street noise. The bathroom definitely needed attention - the toilet base was cracked, the shower stall was very small, shower head was not adjustable, and the sink faucet dripped continuously. We also found the only accessible electrical outlet was for the TV. We don't watch the TV, but one outlet was not adequate to charge our phones, cameras , and other electronic devices. WiFi was sporadic at best. However, if we are in Taranto again, we will definitely return to this hotel. We found the breakfast good, the staff was excellent and answered all our questions and provided any information we needed, and the location was perfect. Stepped out the door in the evening to find ourselves on a pedestrian street and walked for blocks enjoying the evening, people of all ages, window shopping, and stopping for coffee and pastries (great cannolis) a number of times. In the morning, we found the sea was very close and a wonderful walkway followed the shoreline. There were a number of historical buildings and a reasonable fish and food market, all within close proximity to the hotel. The price was very reasonable. We would rate this somewhere between average and very good if that was an option.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Betty668988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2016

We booked this hotel through famous booking site and had an offer for 38 Euro that day but before that, we called them via phone and they told us 80 Euro/per night.
When reached there the man in charge was a bit irritating for our fast arrival after receiving the confirmation of booking the room.
Then they took us to a room that was totally a non value of what they showing on their site for the offer we booked. I tried to have a shower and there was coming water from the wall next to the piping. It was a disaster.
I called and they came and checked the problem so they moved us to another room.
Misleading services to the next room too.
The bathroom was probably under construction. The washbasin and the toilet was moving and there was glue and colour all over the bathroom. It wasn't clean as a whole and we didn't feel nice at all.
Of course the wifi wasn't working on the room. The breakfast was so poor and all were ready packed snacks.

It was so disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eleni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taranto hotels
6.1 km away
Tursport Hotel Residence
1.2 km away
Hotel L'Arcangelo
Hotel L'Arcangelo
#1 of 14 in Taranto
564 reviews
1.4 km away
Mercure Delfino Taranto
Mercure Delfino Taranto
#10 of 14 in Taranto
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Hotel Akropolis
Hotel Akropolis
#3 of 14 in Taranto
271 reviews
1.2 km away
Albergo del Sole
Albergo del Sole
#4 of 14 in Taranto
166 reviews
9.4 km away
Best Western Hotel Ara Solis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Address: Via D'Aquino, 46, 74100, Taranto, Italy
Region: Italy > Puglia > Province of Taranto > Taranto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 Hotels in Taranto
Price Range: $61 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Taranto. The Hotel Plaza is situated downtown, in the main center of the city. This location provides the best possible personal logistics, without any particular need of vehicles for moving all around the city, for both the tourist and the businessman. The hotel looks out on the Piazza Garibaldi, one of the main Squares in Taranto. In the neighborhood, guests can easily walk beside the seafront, as much as reach the famous "Ponte Girevole" (the ancient swing bridge of the City), the columns of the Poseidon's Temple, the majestic "Castello Aragonese". The Tourist, the Manager, the Family, Each Type of Client are received by multilingual receptionists, deeply committed to satisfy with courtesy and professionally Guests' requests, providing with the maximum competence and availability, information on touristic tours, shopping, trade offices, timetables on national and international flights/trains, shuttles from/to the airport. All services are efficiently provided 24/7, aiming at make Your stay more pleasant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing