We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous cocktails, wonderful friendly staff - and that seafront view!”

Ciclatera Sotto Il Mare
Ranked #120 of 1,235 Restaurants in Bari
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 21 May 2018

This lovely bar was probably my favourite place in Bari for food and drink. The staff are so friendly and helpful and the cocktails terrific at about 4 euros! (They would cost £10+ in London!) Outside one can sit at tables overlooking the harbour - which as the sun goes down, is quite magical. The food is bistro style - they do very tasty toasted sandwiches. Recommended.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BrendanCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2018

Stopped here twice during our stay in Bari, and both times we were pleased with the service, the drinks and the food, all at a good price and with views over the harbour.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

Obviously with such a splendid location overlooking the harbour this place will never be short of customers so perhaps they don't feel the need to have high standards, We waited 35 minutes for a spritz and a sandwich. The drinks were too heavy on the campari and not much prosecco, the sandwich (cheese and veg) was tasteless though big. The olives and carrots looked as if they had been sitting around all day, then we found a big black hair in the spicy mayo and stopped eating. The waitress offered to change it which is not the solution - who wants to keep eating after the?!. We were presented with the full bill of 20 euros and no apology. Underwhelmed. Also annoying to be pestered by sunglass salesmen, buskers and beggars continually - about 8 different ones in an hour which perhaps the management could do more to discourage? I'd suggest just having a drink and enjoying the view. Snack or eat elsewhere.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Londonsunlounger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2018 via mobile

Nice place with a lovely view on the sea. We had a Greek salad (that would probably make a Greek person cringe but that was good) and a parmigiana. The staff was friendly, they moved the table for us so that we could sit in the shade. Nice for a lazy lunch.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Kelilans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

My friend and I visited this place after reading some great reviews on here . We had a few hours to kill before our flight so thought we’d try it out . We arrived and took a spare table , food was still being taken to the other tables . Nobody greeted us so after a 15 minute wait I went indoors and was ignored by the man with grey hair for over 5 mins . I then asked could I take a menu outside to our table and a very angry woman snapped at me that the kitchen was closed , despite their hours stating otherwise and food still being prepared for other tables ! Definitely a place to miss out of your itineraries If you prefer to be spoken to nicely by people !
This place may have an amazing view but manners cost nothing .

Date of visit: April 2018
1  Thank lisac9666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ciclatera Sotto Il Mare also viewed

Bari, Province of Bari
Bari, Province of Bari
 
Bari, Province of Bari
 
Bari, Province of Bari
Bari, Province of Bari
 

Been to Ciclatera Sotto Il Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing