We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
28
25
12
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
25
12
8
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2012

A central city location in an authentically historical building in the heart of one of the oldest cities in Europe. This is not Hilton/Holiday Inn/Sheraton/Hyatt country and if that's what you're looking for then go away!
This is genuine family-run (and very well run) high quality simple accomodation with extremely kind, helpful and generous staff. Room and public areas clean throughout. Having been to Verona (for the opera) on 3 previous occasions, will certainly stay here again as long as the current owners remain.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jimbo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The railway station in Verona is quite a walk away from the old town, so we broke with tradition and took a taxi into the old town. Our stay was the albergo al Castello, exactly what it says; the old castle (now museum) and the ARCO DEI GAVI Roman gate are less than 100m from the hotel. The hotel fronts on to Corso Cavour, but entry to the hotel is from a side street; Vicolo Brusco.

We were met at the door by a middle aged gentleman who promptly picked up both our travel bags and took them upstairs, all the while apologising (in Italian) for the out of order lift.

We met mama and her daughter who run this little establishment and were shown to our room; what a room! Quality antique furniture, huge bed and a bathroom complete with bidet! WIFI of course and flowers in a widow box outside. Great air conditioning (it was still very warm in September), in a word, WOW!.

We asked for "must do" places to visit and eat and were given more information than we could absorb! Lots of great little restaurants in the area and a short walk to all the old City attractions.

Great security; one cannot get inside unless reception recognises you as a guest and lets you in.

Lovely breakfasts rounded off a terrific few days in Verona.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the hotel, facing Corso Cavour. I would imagine it was one of their best rooms; ask for it!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HenknAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

This 'hotel' was the worst place I have stayed in years. The patriarch pretended he didn't speak English when it was inconvenient for him, like when I requested two extra pillows, the front room was RIGHT on the cobbled stoned main drag of Verona, where the cars and trucks did not stop al night! I did not sleep at all. The photo on the hotel site of trip advisor indicates a nice hotel. Do not be fooled by this image! We stayed in the right hand window/French door and it was horrible. Tacky room, and very overpriced for what you got.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CorriedogAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Stayed there for two nights.
The place is nice but set your expectations right - if you expect Holiday Inn kind of thing you will be surely disappointed. It's a family-run hotel, seems like it has under 10 rooms/ It feels more like staying in someone's large apartment rather than in a hotel.
Owners (all the people there are a family) are nice, though patriarch doesn't speak any English at all, anyway wasn't a problem.
Rooms are small and basic but were enough for us.
Location is right next to Arena but a bit far from the Medieval Center.
If you go there make sure you know how to get there - it's a small door in a narrow street and it soen't look like a hotel entrance at all.
I wouldn't like an idea of stayin there for a week but for those two nights it was really good for the price (considering overall high pricing in Verona)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NataliaKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I could not fault the service in this B&B but I thought it was extremely expensive compared to other 3 & 4 star hotels we stayed in throughout Italy. The location was fantastic for the Arena and the 3 generations of host/hostess couldn't have been more welcoming. However the breakfast was of poor quality (cheap yoghurt, diluted "sunny d" style artificially flavoured juice and cheap breakfast cereals) The reception area is basically the family living area so if you like this aspect of B&B accommodation it's a nice experience. The garage is convenient but there's plenty parking on the street. Amazing restaurant close by - Il Cenacolo on Via Teatro Filarmonico - highly recommend it - really well priced for excellent quality food, amazing service, linen tablecloths, charming cobbled street side dining - wonderful Italian experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank holidayjunkieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews