We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (746)
Filter reviews
746 results
Traveller rating
134
354
194
39
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
354
194
39
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station shuttle service mini fridge cute hotel town centre hotel martini after midnight google maps upon check arena di verona main road short walk air conditioning breakfast room bastioni opera city
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 746 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2017

This is a nice hotel clean small rooms but ok this is the big BUT it's not close to the sites and restaurants of the city of Verona it's in a residential are no bars or shops so you have to walk along way every DAY and return to fresh up and after having a meal late or the Opera. That's four miles a day, the local 11 bus finishes at 20.30 after walking round the sites all day it's so tiring in 35 degrees C I know the resturant runs a shuttle service but we go to experience the buzz of the city and a meal .We walk miles every day so are fit but it was to much for us ,as for a comment sateing a stroll by the river it's a 500 yard view of the river but after a mile walking through residences ,we need another holiday to get over this ,Pay extra to stay closer save on taxi fares we will next time .

Room tip: Pay extra to get closer to the sites of Verona
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gogetter123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

The location of the Hotel is not a secret.
We offer to our guests a compromise: a short walk to the centre for an affordable price.
This is not the only benefit of our location: we also offer free parking outside (impossible to find in the city centre where parkings cost as a lunch at the restaurant), we are close to train station, and we are close to all the supermarkets and city malls.
As you have told we offer a free shuttle bus to the Opera to the guests who dine at our restaurant, but you wanted to experience the 'real touristic kitchen' of the city centre restaurants.
I also would like to remember you that our city offers a very good taxi service. Of course is not free as walking, but, since you have saved a lot of money choosing our hotel, you should have used it at least one time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We were staying in Hotel Martini in Verona and they arranged transport (free) to the Trattoria Bastioni in the Porto Palio Hotel, The mini bus picked us up promptly at 7pm. to the Trattoria Bastion .
We had a very pleasant meal in the Trattoria. Then their minibus took us to near the Arena where I realised I had lost my camera. However we had a brilliant evening at the Opera (Verdi's Rigolletto)
After midnight we went to the pickup point where the minibus was waiting to take us back to the Hotel Martini, however when we told the driver I had lost my camera he took s back to the Trattoria Bastioni where we looked for the camera, no luck. However when we arrived at the Hotel Martini my camera was at the reception.

First class service, Meal and the Opera, all told a brilliant night.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenJones744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you so much dear friend, we are glad you've enjoyed your time in Verona, your stay in our Hotel and to attend the Opera!
To take some beautiful photos you should come back next year!
We will be plasured to guest you again! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Aging hotel, very weak A/C NOT ABLE TO KEEP UP WITH THE HEAT FROM THE AFTERNOON SUN. Location is about 40 min (by foot) away from the old town center. Important in Italy parking lot plus garage with enough space.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floridaherbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Dear friend,
the air conditioning works perfectly for European standards. We are not in the United states: you will never find inside the room 20 degrees less than outside!
The city center is just 5 minutes walking from Hotel door (Porta San Zeno). The Arena is reachable in less than 20 minutes walking in a very nice touristic area.
I don't know where have you walked for 40 minutes, probably you have arrived half way to Venice...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

I loved staying at this hotel, the bedroom had the perfect size, amazing breakfast,the staff was lovely and everything was clean and nice.
The centre is close and there's several restaurants and markets in the area.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Petina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Thank you so much dear friend! <3

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of three reasons:

close to city centre
private bathrooms (I was suprised how difficult it is to find that in Verona!)
price.

and these ones met our expectations.

Hotel is in walkable distance to Castel Vecchio, Arena etc. - 15 min on foot and the same distance to train station.

Every morning really good buffet breakfast is served, which consist not only of sweets, but also meat, cheese, hard-boiled eggs. Good one for non-italian people :)

Well equipped bathroom

Minuses:

small roms

air conditioning: it was not working. because of rooms size in sunny, italian day it is very hot and airless. eventhough we got information that it is not warm enough for italian to turn on ac...

hotel is clean, but need a little of renovation

elevator: you can wait several minutes (on the first floor!) and still choose stairs instead:)

hotel restaurant is really italian type: it opens at 7:30 pm so do not expect any possibility for buying lunch after check in

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank vesta92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacopo T, Proprietario at Hotel Porta Palio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Thank you for the positive review.
I think your expectations about our easy 3 stars Hotel were too high.
Early spring the temperature is still pretty cold, especially at night. Sometimes it is enough to open the window to have a little fresh air...
Elevator is normally busy when all the guests go up and down for breakfast.
The restaurant opens only for dinner cause the majority of our guests prefers to discover the city after check in, and come eating at night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews