We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“the best of everything”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Sogara

The Villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Villa
Swimming Pool Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
The Villa
Swimming Pool
Bedroom
Living Room
Dining Room
Swimming Pool
Upper Loggia
Library
Library
Living Room
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Kitchen
Kitchen
Vineyards
Courtyard
Patio
Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Verona, Province of Verona, Veneto

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Giuliacan...
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the best of everything”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014

We recently had the opportunity to once again vacation at the splendid Villa Sogara located among the hillside vineyards just east of Verona.  Welcomed back as if we were family by Tomasso and Ela, eight of us spent the week absorbed in Italian culture both in their spacious villa and on outings that our hosts not only arranged but accompanied us. We never would have discovered some of the treasures of the area without their guidance. Language problems were not an issue with fluently bilingual hosts to accompany us on the outings to wineries and even a pasta ‘factory’.  The full use of the kitchen made for relaxing meals in the dining room.  We loved the interactive cooking class provided by Ela, where we were taught to make many unique and delicious creations followed by a meal together.
While Villa Sogara is located on a secluded private estate, it is very central to many of the local ‘must see’ attractions.  We enjoyed quick easy drives to spend the day in Verona, beautiful Lake Garda and the spectacular waterside towns, as well as other historical sites.  The drive along the lake was one of the most picturesque routes that we have ever experienced in many years of travelling in Europe.
If you are a group planning a trip to Italy, we highly recommend that you consider Villa Sogara. It will provide an experience to which you will undoubtedly want to return again and again. 

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Our hosts took care of everything we needed. The villa is in a quiet, lovely area but is an easy drive to wherever we wanted to go.
Liked least: We liked everything!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljungathe...
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Time Had By All”
Reviewed 5 December 2014 for a stay in May 2014

There are not enough superlatives to describe our time in this wonderful villa. Eight of us (four couples) were fortunate to spend a week with Tomasso and his family as our hosts.

The villa itself met all of our expectations in size, layout and comfort. It is located in a lovely area untouched by modern development. But our stay was made exceptional by the warmth and generosity of our hosts. On the evening of our arrival, Ella prepared a delicious meal that set the tone for the week. Tomasso led us on a very informative tour of a winery where we sampled the local wines and olive oils. As we headed off on day trips, Tomasso provided valuable information about routes, parking etc. There was an abundance of nearby markets, both supermarkets and smaller groceries that allowed us to take advantage of the well stocked and ample kitchen. (My husband cooked an eggplant dish that is a gourmet highlight of the trip.)

Some of our best memories are of an evening spent with Tomasso, Ella, their young daughter and Ella's mother. We had invited them to join us for an "American" meal (meatloaf, macaroni and cheese and an apple crisp). We learned much about the history of the villa, which has been in the family since the 1600s, their family and the region.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff S
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Best Place to Stay Near Verona”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Sogara was a magical experience for me and my family. We have all seen beautiful pictures of Italian estates and vineyards. The stay at Villa Sogara was much like going inside the picture and seeing the world as an Italian family would see it. The hosts at the Villa were magnificent and graciously brought us into their world. We experienced Italy like never before! The accommodations were remarkable, with everything necessary to just sit back and relax. We will definitely go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience
Liked least: We had no objections
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amcintyre...
Darien, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation and food”
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We just spent a wonderful week at Villa Sogara as a group of 13 with the youngest age 6 and the oldest 75. Tomasso and Ella are wonderful hosts and we had breakfast every morning outside and had 4 dinners at the house. All the food was outstanding and Ella dealt very well with one of our party who was a vegan. Accomodation is old style Italy with lots of antiques and family heirlooms which give the villa a real sense of history. Pool is modern and great for a drip at the end of a long day sightseeing. All in all an excellent week and Sogara is a great location for a large group. Center of Verona is 25 mins away and you can be in Venice on the train in just over an hour.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food and hospitality
Liked least: Not having the public rooms air conditioned meant we spent time either outside or in the bedrooms so didn't get to really enjoy the many living areas
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peggy0323
Newberry, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous week at a beautiful, historic villa surrounded by lush vineyards.”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Sogara exceeded our expectations from the moment we drove through the iron gates. The villa is steeped in history and Tommaso and Ela were wonderful hosts who tended to all of our needs and more. Our extended family of 12 enjoyed the outdoor dining area and pool after long days of touring the region. The location is ideal for exploring Venice, Verona, Lake Garda and surrounding medieval villages. The villa is magnificently furnished with antiques and Persian carpets. The air conditioning and washer/dryer were much appreciated as was the well-furnished kitchen. We can't say enough good things about our stay at Villa Sogara!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and overall charm of the property
Liked least: We cannot think of anything we didn't like.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing