We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bit Out of the Way but a Wonderful Find!”
Review of Majer

Majer
Ranked #115 of 1,615 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Neighbourhood: Giudecca
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Giudecca
Reviewed 7 November 2018

This restaurant is located on the island of Guidecca but is well worth the vaporetto ride. We didn’t find many outstanding restaurants in Venice but Majer was truly an exception. Our waiter had an amazing knowledge of wine and when we asked him for a recommendation, he brought three bottles back that were in our price range and began to explain each to us. Our meal consisted of an antipasti of mixed cheeses. We each had homemade pasta and followed that up with the most amazing desserts, mine being the best millia folglie I’ve ever had. Truly an unforgettable experience!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank QueenGrimhilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2018

Were looking for a light dinner, turned out this place was perfect. I swear this was the friendliest staff I ever experienced in Venice and it was good for the vegetarians in the family and the absolutely non-vegetarians (they were also dog-friendly) alike.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank boern_2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed in an Airbnb accommodation on Guidecca for a couple of days and had breakfast at Majer every morning. Great choice of food,fresh orange juice,wonderful coffee and a both comfortable and modern place next to the canal.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank ddorf-nord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Ate at this restaurant for a light evening meal. Decided on a plate of cold cuts with delicious breads. Was advised not to go for a large one for the two of us as it would be too big. Excellent advice from a lovely waiter. Good wine too. Loved it so much we went back for breakfast and had great coffee and croissant. This is a great place to eat on Giudecca away from the frenetic crowds of Venice and the Grand Canal area.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Just back from long weekend staying on Guidecca, Venice. Found Majer for a light lunch when we arrived and then had two lovely dinners during our stay too! Small but imaginative menu and all food beautifully cooked and presented. Tomato cheesecake and squid ink Tagliolini were particularly memorable. Fresh bread in the morning for breakfast was an added bonus!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank EdandSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Majer also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Majer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing