We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect birthday meal ”
Review of Bistrot De Venise

Bistrot De Venise
Reserve a table
2
Sun., 13/6
20:00
Ranked #103 of 1,575 Restaurants in Venice
Price range: USD 73 - USD 109
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: San Marco
Description: Bistrot de Venise first opened in 1993 and has since become a hangout and meeting place where the figurative arts, poetry and culture combine, simply, with Food and Wine....1999 saw the start of our research into Rare Wines and Historical Venetian Cuisine, strengthening our concept of applying culture to local and regional Gastronomy and Wine. ...our hard work still continues today... Gastronomy & Wine…extensive research on the history of venetian Cuisine and Wines, from its noble origins to the present time. The Historic & Renaissance Venetian Cuisine revised and suggested by our Chef Mario Missese and his young team. Our House, unique in town, offer a gastronomic trip back to the past glories of Venice following its history & tradition. ”Award winning” wine list, for the quality and variety of the selected rare wines from the Veneto Region and the North-East of Italy. Professional wine tasting (free) all year round. "..exciting Wine List" .. (see Michelin Guide 2012) specialized in the research of many Rare Wines, a truly unique selection purchased directly from small producers with the help of Istituto Sperimentale di Viticoltura di Conegliano. More than 60 options by the glass and a wide selection of the most prestigious italian vineyards. Prized Wine List by Italian Sommelier Association for best 15 in the Veneto Region at Vinitaly 2010.
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

My partner took me here for my birthday meal while on holiday in Venice this last weekend (May). From start to finish we had a perfect experience. We were slightly early for our reservation so sat in the bar area to have a drink - we chose from the extensive wine list with the help of a highly knowledgeable waiter who guided us through. Once seated, we had first and second courses and dessert. My partner had the lasagne which was out of this world and I had the ravioli - also very good. For seconds we had the beef fillet and the duck - both were spectacular. Each course came with an explanation of the ingredients from the waiter. Finally we both had the creme brûlée for dessert. An expensive evening but very much worth it in an authentic Venetian setting.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Beckie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (3,607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

689 - 693 of 3,607 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2016

I tend to only write reviews of a place if my experience of it is either particularly good or particularly bad. I visited quite a few eateries whilst in Venice and most were particularly average. But the Bistrot de Venise is very, very good indeed. This restaurant and wine bar (enoteca) was recommended by a member of our hotel staff; it’s only small so we were advised to book a table in advance; so we did, on a warm April evening. Not the easiest place to find though, tucked away along the narrow back alleyways about half way between Rialto and San Marco on the Calle dei Fabbri. But getting a little lost on the way is all part of the charm of Venice.

As I said, it’s not very big but the ambience, the artwork and the comfort of the place is outstanding. The staff were wonderful too; attentive, efficient and charming. The food and wine were excellent and beautifully served. In truth, I suppose it is relatively expensive but nonetheless worth every penny.

I thoroughly recommend this establishment, you will not be disappointed!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RobertBikerPoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2016 via mobile

The experience is complete; the place is beautiful, the service impeccable and the food and wine list astonishing. They offer some venetian and very old like medieval recipes and have their own olive oil and aged aceto balsamico. It's a wordy experience if you want to indulge yourself.

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank marthaa579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Venice is a "foodie mecca" festooned with all levels of eateries, osterias, trattorias and ristorantes. Around every corner there are many crowded budget options as well as charming-appearing Italianate establishments, those often with fresh fish displayed artfully in ice and a friendly Maitre'd as a "hawker" bidding you to enter. Then you check your app and find that the number of "Terrible" votes is equal or more than the "Excellent". Like airport restaurants, many Venice eateries have seriously inconsistent performance. Perhaps the ration of 1.5 million tourists to 55 thousand inhabitants breeds that. So choose wisely....

We had had Bistrot de Venise on our Tripadvisor possibles list, but when the Michele, the Concierge at the JW Marriott independently recommended Bistrot, that confirmed our choice. We had a absolutely delicious, leisurely lunch outside, served by our charming server Walter, whom so many locals passing by seemed to know personally. Walter, you have a place to stay when you come to Vegas! Also so pleasant to have well-chosen classical music to set the atmosphere. Price is commensurate with being one of the very best in Venice. Go for it!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ELunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Was highly recommended by a close friend so we decided to try it out. Wonderful selection of wines from Italy and all over Europe. Marco our wonderful sommelier recommended a beautiful bottle of Venetian Syrah. The rabbit Porchetta is the best dish and we also enjoyed the beef carpaccio. The squid ink pasta was a little too dry and salty.

Date of visit: May 2016
1  Thank Rommel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistrot De Venise also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Bistrot De Venise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.