We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very good hotel in a nice part of venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Ranked #176 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A very good hotel in a nice part of venice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 3 or 4 nights. We loved our time in Venice and this hotel was mostly part of the nice experience.

The staff were friendly and even though our reservation (from Hotels.com) said check-in time wasn't until 2 pm we we checked in at around 1 pm without any problem. All the desk clerks were very helpful and friendly with directions or any help they could give and all spoke good English, which was good for us since we attempted to speak some rudimentary Italian, but wouldn't be able to get very far with it.

We had a room near the elevator on the top floor that had a nice balcony that overlooked the garden in the middle of all the houses. The bed was not exactly super-fluffy luxurious like in the high-end US hotels, but it was just fine. I find I sleep just fine as long as the bed is not too hard.

One day we were incredibly tired from our travel schedule and slept through breakfast and everything was already cleared away, but Maria was very kind to give us some food and even make us espresso, even though we were hesitant since it was our own fault for missing the meal time.

The bathroom had a comically narrow toilet and bidet, but it all worked out just fine.

We absolutely loved this location near the south side of the island since it was close enough to many things to do and wasn't too much of a bother to get anywhere, yet it was far enough away from both the train station and Piazza San Marco that we weren't inundated with the bustle of the area around the train station or the relentless annoying herds of tourists all the time. It was probably only a 15 or 20 minute walk to Piazza San Marco. The southern promenade near the hotel also was enjoyable to walk along and it was very close to a Vaporetto stop. There is a grocery store along the promenade around the corner from the hotel and a lively neighborhood with interesting nightlife and places to eat north (or maybe north north east) about 5 or 10 minutes walk.

The price for this hotel was very reasonable for Venice compared to things I saw online in other nice neighborhoods there. We were there over part of the holiday weekend before May day and it was hard to find reasonably priced rooms, but the price and the experience were both mostly good.

The only bad part of the hotel was the typical European habit of never, ever believing in screens on the windows. You really don't find them anywhere and in Venice it's extra bad because there are mosquitoes that are waiting to drink your blood if you leave the window open, even for a few minutes to cool off.

This was a problem because the hotel was not running any kind of air conditioning. It's totally understandable not to run it since the day wasn't too hot and the evenings were pleasantly cool outside. However, this is a big problem with a room with no air circulation on the top floor and all the heat rising. Without the windows open, it was ridiculously hot and stuffy; and with them opened enough to cool off, we were dive-bombed by mosquitoes all night and woke up with a number of itchy mosquito bite welts. Not a very pleasant choice: either roast to death from the heat and not sleep or have mosquitoes buzz by your ears and bite you and wake you up.

I'm sure the situation would be different at a time of year when the air conditioning was on, but the hotel either needs to provide some kind of screen to allow people to cool off without the mosquitoes getting in or circulate some kind of cooler air, even if it's just cool outside air run through the air conditioning system. (We tried running air but it just blew hot air which made things worse.)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holodan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    182
    49
    21
    9
See reviews for
64
277
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Lovely location a bit off the beaten track of the Grand Canal, but worth views of the Lagoon and the restaraunt just along the canal towards the Lagoon. Rooms were the smallest in our tour of Italy but had a nice balcony overlooking the garden as redemption for size of room. The Staff on the first day were great could not do enough then went down hill considerably till we left as an after thought they happened to mention general strike and trains might be effecte d. No water Taxis so carry case to Train station not amusing as lots of bridges . Venice try the alleyways you will find some treasures shops and restaraunts , Bridge of Sighs is how it came across in my history lessons Rialato was disappointing to commericial, but everyone has to make money... Great place to stroll............

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Due to the contradictory comments on previous reports,we were a little aprehensive about our stay...four days at the start of October.The hotel is over-rated and should be one star less.It seems that the room you are allocated determines your overall view.We had room 37,which was on the second floor.It was of acceptable size with comfortable beds and nice crisp bed linen.Storage space was limited,the wardrobe was hangerless, but did contain a safe which was free of charge.Everything was clean and presentable.We had a large walk-in shower with good water pressure.The view was a little limited, but not a drawback.The main problem was the air conditioning....quite a common problem aparently.It was very hot during our stay and the air conditioning was not working properly.Two requests for someone to take a look at it brought no response.Sleeping was not always comfortable. The hotel has a garden which is quite unusual in Venice.It is an obvious plus, but is clearly in need of some care and attention...an opportunity missed I think.We didn't take the chance to have breakfast in the garden,but many other guests did. The hotel is on a canal side,very close to bars and eating places.Also, a big plus, is its nearness to a vaporetto station (San Basilio) from where all of Venice is available to you.Make sure that you purchase a 'season ticket' for boat use, as individual journeys cost 6.5 euros, an expensive way to see a magical city.Slightly disappointed with the Grand Canal 'cruise' by night,but each to his own. Back to the hotel....breakfast was good and compared well with other continental breakfasts we have had. Coffee was really good and the service was excellent, efficient and friendly. Reception staff were all friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

We choose this hotel from the reviews we read on TripAdvisor, however after 2 nights at this hotel we would not recommend it. We booked 2 rooms for 4 people (two couples) on Orbitz. The reservation indicated that check in was at 12:00 pm. However when we arrived at around 12:35 pm, the woman at the front desk informed me that check in was not until "2 or 3" and that Orbitz was wrong and a check in at 12:30 was impossible. Very curt and that was the answer, no offer to take my luggage or offer up the lobby restroom. Once I asked if them keeping our luggage was an option, she did agree. So we went to see some sights and eat lunch. When we got back to the hotel at 3:30 (just in case) we may have been the 2 worst rooms in the hotel. Rooms 10 and 11. Room 10 is the first room to the left when walking into the hotel within the lobby. Room 11 is the door in between the staff lobby restroom and the guest lobby restroom. Room 10, the air conditioning was lacking and was full of cob webbs and mosquitoes. Room 11 was just noisy from being mistaken for being the lobby restroom. Both rooms, the shampoo and bath gels provided were open and used, there were dead mosquito smudges all over the walls and ceiling, and the plaster in the bathrooms was moldy and falling down. Lastly upon check out we needed to pay the city tax in cash, not credit card, which was never communicated to us prior to check out. Luckily we had reserved just enough euros to pay for it with getting back to the airport to return home. While the continental breakfast included was minimal, the breakfast waitress was very nice. If we return to Venice, we will definitely take our chances on another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

Highlights were cozy, clean rooms, extremely helpful staff, great breakfast, and the somewhat secluded location (everything in Venice seems to be within 30 minutes walking distance; but only 3 minutes to a vaporetto stop). Can't say enough about how helpful the staff was!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidpryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#72 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#145 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#157 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#175 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Castello
Hotel Gabrielli
Hotel Gabrielli
#125 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#152 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Sebastiano Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Sebastiano Garden Hotel

Property: San Sebastiano Garden Hotel
Address: Fondamenta San Sebastian Dorsoduro 2542, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#111 Family Hotel in Venice
#141 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): $224 - $590
Hotel Class:4 star — San Sebastiano Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Agoda, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your San Sebastiano Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Sebastiano Garden Venice
Hotel San Sebastiano Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing