We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, quaint hotel!”
Review of Hotel alla Fava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel alla Fava
Ranked #106 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location, quaint hotel!”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

My husband and 12 and 14 year olds stayed here for two nights. I agree with other reviewers that the location and staff are wonderful. We stayed in a room to sleep all four. It was very large and bright. Bathroom was fine. Air conditioning was very comfortable. Huge armoire for storage. Breakfast was perfect. The only negative we ran into is that the room was very bright in the morning and very loud. It was near the garbage boat so beginning very early, we were awakened by the noise of the garbage. Despite this, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    260
    71
    20
    11
See reviews for
123
294
63
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Great location and relatively easy to find (even in Venice), just a short walk from the Rialto bridge. The hotel is located near some really great restaurants. The hotel employees were very nice and helpful. The breakfast food was simple but was very good and fresh. Our room was also simple but very clean and very satisfactory. Because of the location, if we left our window open at night it was a bit loud but once we closed it we couldn't hear a thing. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2012

The review is based on a stay in room 108. Excellent location, friendly staff, good value for money, very clean, air con worked well in our room, breakfast food average, coffee excellent, soft drinks bad. Coming into not so good stuff: a lot of things deposited in the second breakfast room made me fell like I am eating into a store room and the shower water pressure was unpredictable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirdeiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Our experience was almost identical to kimd13, except that we stayed in Room 108 like HappyKiwiTraveler, and in that room the air-con is controlled within. You have a great view over the canal, and the life it produces, and a bridge, and you can well imagine living the Venetian life. While we were there, the temperature reached the mid 30s, but with 50% humidity, the real feel was much higher, so air-con is a must. We had no trouble with mosquitos. Everything else stated we agree with, from the VERY friendly front office staff, especially the welcoming Sara, to the breakfast and the helpful advice about eating places. It's easy to find from Rialto Bridge and an easy 10 minutes to St Mark's Square. If you want a VERY clean, comfortable, friendly, convenient and perfectly located hotel - look no further. If we ever return, it will be to the Hotel Alla Fava.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the canal have more atmosphere but you will pay a little more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The hotel was located a minute or so from the Rialto bridge and ten minutes from St Marks, in a quiet little square. From the minute we arrived the young lady on the desk could not have been more helpful or friendly, and every member of staff we came into contact with during our stay was just as friendly and made us feel so welcome.

Our room was a reasonable size,although the bathroom was a little squashed, almost a cupboard with a sliding door . That said everything was very clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast was the usual continental fayre, but made special by the fresh baked croissants every morning, which you could smell as you came down the stairs and unusually (from our experiences) the coffee from the automatic machine was very good.

I agree with the previous reviewer regarding the air conditioning which was controlled from the lobby, we were fortunate that for the most of our stay we did not need it switched on, but on the one occasion that we did, it made very little difference and I felt very sorry for the poor guy on the desk that evening as he was sweltering, had I not needed it myself I would have lent him the little hand fan I carry with me.

All in all a good place to stay for a few nights in Venice and, if the air conditioning was better, extremely good value for money, by Venice Standards.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#89 of 385 in Venice
423 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#101 of 385 in Venice
419 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#102 of 385 in Venice
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
433 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#114 of 385 in Venice
1,118 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#104 of 385 in Venice
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel alla Fava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel alla Fava

Property: Hotel alla Fava
Address: Campo de la Fava Castello 5525 | Campo della Fava, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price range (per night): $135 - $1,337
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel alla Fava 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alla Fava overlooks Campo della Fava, a small square where Casanova used to meet his young lovers. In the square, the church of Santa Maria della Fava hosts some famous works by Giambattista Tiepolo and Giovanni Battista Piazzetta. Hotel Alla Fava is one minute from the famous Rialto Bridge, one of the main sights in Venice hosting the rich and colourful fruit and vegetable market which enlivens the heart of the city every day. St Mark’s Square and the Bridge of Sighs are also at walking distance. The main public transport hub on the Grand Canal is 3 minutes away and connects to the main sights, to easily reach the islands in the Laguna: Murano, Burano and Torcello. When staying at Hotel Alla Fava, everything Venice has to offer is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel alla Fava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing