We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
222
90
43
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
90
43
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsphilippe starckdesign hotelwelcome drinkgrand canalrestaurant staffquiet alleyjunior suitecooked breakfastgood sizeprivate terracehotel entrancerooms are smallprivate water taxiour honeymoonperfect hotelspent nightsbeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We are going to Venice at least once per year. we decide to try Palazina G has we have been tented by an offer on one of those new website they we where suppose to get 70% off the normal price in fact it was more then 20% off. What ever, we where please to go anyway and discover a new place.
The Palazina G is a typical Boutique hotel so expect no reception. The main room which is in fact the restaurant is very "Stackish", it is very dark which can work in winter but is a bit oppressive in summer. The room are ok: white, full of mirror to make it bigger, very cosy.
However, the roof lounge lack of attention and staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PIXSQUARED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My husband visited Venice for the first time - for a long weekend in August. after some deliberation over similar hotels to the pallazina g we decided to go for this one. on arrival the boat we pre-booked through the hotel went seamlessly and we were greeted by the concierge on arrival at the hotel. the hotel is dark and sultry downstairs and is nicely decorated in Starks usual quirky way. the hotel is very small and when we were shown to our room we were shocked to see how small it was - but it was enough considering we didnt plan on spending too much time in our room - the mirrors however did give it a bit of a larger airier feel. bathroom was a good size with walk in shower and all very modern. the terrace at the hotel is lovely although they dont seem to staff it and its a big challenge ordering anything without staff there... we ended going up and down a few times to get them which was a little annoying. breakfast each day was not included and is pretty expensive for the regular items that you get. its all pre-order but they can take orders in the morning without much hassle. we didnt have any meals at the hotel preferring to dine out in Venice. i was disappointed to learn that the secretive krug champagne lounge that the hotel boasts as exclusively for residents is not actually open to residents of the main hotel - only the suites which are apparently in another building! this wasnt communicated properly on booking - which i did through mr and mrs smith. so if you want a room with a terrace - or at least with a bit of space and access to the full amenities of the hotel - and if the purse strings allow - a suite would be the better option - they also seemingly have canal views - whereas our room and i think many of the other non-suites - look directly onto walls...

good place to stay if you want a chic place to store your things and a comfy bed. the hotel is not bad in any sense - it did seem a tad expensive for the size of the room (and the fact that the complimentary in room water stopped coming after check in!) - but i would rate it relatively good for what it was. definitely not a place for kids, more a sophisticated adult hideout down a quiet alleyway - great location for walking to most of the main attractions - about 10 min from st marco piazza approximately and there is a handy water taxi station really close to the entrance which is also a bonus for those that want to explore further afield.

Room Tip: if you want a view or a terrace - you will have to book a suite. rooms are really small so when booking try and ask them for one of their most spacious ones.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank EdanaSchul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I chose the Palazzina G after hemming and hawing over other "luxury" properties in Venice which seemed extremely expensive and also impossible to tell from the websites if the rooms are worthy of those prices. I don't like ornate or stuffy decor and figured that alot of the rooms at the "standard" Venice luxury properties might be in need of an update so i decided to go with Palazzina G given its modern style. I think the style may be a bit too modern....there isn't even a front desk so basically if you need anything...like a concierge you just have to hope an employee is in the front hall, if not you're out of luck. I felt that the place was understaffed and so dark you can't find anyone. we were on the 2nd floor but got lost in the stairwell coming up from the launch...no signs anywhere, and we are not idiots. The rooms were nice but i felt could you some paint touch ups and carpet cleaning. we had a Jr. Suite which had a nice outdoor terrace with lounge chair and table. I didn't hate this place but I wouldn't stay here again. Compared to the other 2 properties we stayed in during this trip, PG just didn't live up to our expecations.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank collywollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My traveling companion and I arrived at the hotel to find the lobby very inviting. All that changed, however, when we were taken to our rooms - if you can call the closets we were issued rooms. The rooms, which were very small and freezing cold, are so starkly modern that form never followed function. The rooms were barely large enough for an extra chair (for almost $500 per night) and the bathroom sink was a slab over which water flowed making it impossible to actually wash or put anything down without soaking everything around you.

We told the person on duty how unhappy we were and that we would be leaving the next day instead of staying. She offered to let us upgrade to larger rooms but at three times the price. We declined. Later that evening she said her "management" would let us upgrade for the same price. We were taken to what they called suites which were equally unpleasant. We declined again. The next morning when we tried to check out an officious young woman, who called herself the manager, intentionally kept us waiting in the lobby and then came and told us that we had to pay for three nights and if we attempted to leave without signing the charge receipts she would call the police. I told here that since she had our credit cards we did not need to sign anything. She persisted and we both signed under duress. That is how anxious we were to get out of this horrible place. Don't ever stay at this place. Everywhere else we stayed that was 5 star treated us with dignity and courtesy. This one hired the wicked witch of the West with an attitude.

13  Thank busynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My traveling companion and I arrived at the hotel to find the lobby very inviting. All that changed, however, when we were taken to our rooms - if you can call the closets we were issued rooms. The rooms, which were very small and freezing cold, are so starkly modern that form never followed function. The rooms were barely large enough for an extra chair (for almost $500 per night) and the bathroom sink was a slab over which water flowed making it impossible to actually wash or put anything down without soaking everything around you.

We told the person on duty how unhappy we were and that we would be leaving the next day instead of staying. She offered to let us upgrade to larger rooms but at three times the price. We declined. Later that evening she said her "management" would let us upgrade for the same price. We were taken to what they called suites which were equally unpleasant. We declined again. The next morning when we tried to check out an officious young woman, who called herself the manager, intentionally kept us waiting in the lobby and then came and told us that we had to pay for three nights and if we attempted to leave without signing the charge receipts she would call the police. I told here that since she had our credit cards we did not need to sign anything. She persisted and we both signed under duress. That is how anxious we were to get out of this horrible place. Don't ever stay at this place. Everywhere else we stayed that was 5 star treated us with dignity and courtesy. This one hired the wicked witch of the West with an attitude.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank busynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperationsManager81, Operations Manager at Palazzina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the PalazzinaG, I would like to respond to your review.

First of all I wish to answer your comment about the rooms. On websites our superior rooms are clearly stated to be 22 sqm/237 sqft with images demonstrating  the design. We understand that Philippe Starck’s design can be appreciated or not but generally our clients choose us because of the design.

In regards to your issue about the room size we offered you a free upgrade to our Junior Suite category trying to accommodate your request even though we have only 22 rooms. Our offer was declined by you.

We regret that you felt that we intentionally kept you waiting in the lobby when you asked to speak with the management.  The manager arrived after few minutes and explained that as per cancellation policy we have to apply the penalty and as per italian law we cannot charge a credit card without the owner’s confirmation and signature. It is not our policy to threaten to call the police.

TripAdvisor gives the freedom to express each guest’s personal experience which also we encourage, however when we find a review, according to us, not trustworthy we want express our point of view.

Linda Mariotti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews