We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfectly located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #30 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
kintore, aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfectly located hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

we are just back from a 2 night stay at the a la commedia, as we decided to use the public boat transport this hotel was a stones throw away from the stop at Rialto which is also the stop for the boat to/from the Airport. 5 minute walk to St Marcs Square and 2 minutes from Rialto Bridge. On arriving the Staff were very friendly and informative of the sight seeing attractions providing a map and directions which were easy to follow. The room was spacious ( we had a Junior suite with a sofa and large king bed/balcony) and traditionally decorated with a large bathroom. Breakfast was mostly continental with scrabled eggs and bacon offered as 'hot' breakfast, additional to that there is a menu you can chose from but i think this may be an extra charge. Only down side, two (small) things - they dont have an iron which you can borrow, they only provide a ironing/laundry service which takes all day (drop at 9am to be returned at 4pm) so pack your clothes well ! There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room as almost every corner you turn in Venice there are coffee shops but being scottish - nice to have a cup of tea at the ready! that aside these things i can happily live with and i would definitely return there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y2APE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,477
    385
    44
    15
    14
See reviews for
321
1,299
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed three nights at the A la Commedia at the end of my tour around Italy and have to say it was absolutely fantastic.

For the last part of my trip I was travelling on my own, and the staff here did everything they could to make me feel welcome, unlike some other hotels who shoved me into box rooms at the end of corridors/tiny tables by the restaurant doors etc!

The hotel has a luxurious feel to it from the moment you walk in, and the plush, deep pile carpeting in the corridors adds to that feeling. My room was very large and very well equipped-everything in it was electrically operated, including the curtains.

The breakfast was superb, a fantastic selection of fruit compotes, fresh ricotta, warm breads and pastries.

The hotel was a little tricky to find at first, but that's half the charm of Venice anyway!

I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank froebelfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
187 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was our first stop on a two week trip to Italy, and it was a pleasant way to begin. We took the Alilaguna water taxi from the airport to the Rialto bridge stop and, from there, it was about a four minute walk to the hotel. We arrived at around 1pm and were greeted very warmly and showed to our room right away. The staff, without exception, were very nice, helpful and professional. The hotel and room were immaculate and the whole place was obviously very well cared for. The rooms are typical for Europe in size, but very opulent. We had a King bed with high quality linens and drapes, and ornate, polished decorations like Murano glass wall mounted chandeliers. The bathroom was huge and even more lavish than the room with, among other things, towel warmers and a 12" diameter shower head. I was surprised at the quality of the place because I booked it through an online tour company and it was an upgrade that cost only a little more per night (about $25) than the bargain rate place, located on Lido Island, suggested on the original itinerary. I should also mention that the package included the hotels buffet breakfast which was excellent; fresh food and plenty of variety.
I don't spend a lot of time in hotels when I travel, so all of the stuff I just mentioned was just a bonus to me. The location of the hotel was the best part of the experience for us. It is a perfect base point to make any destination on the island comfortably accessible by foot. My wife and I walked everywhere in Venice from that hotel and did this at quite a leisurly pace. It is minutes, literally steps, to the Rialto Bridge where you can cross the canal on foot, or jump on the water taxi. Minutes in the other direction and you will be in San Marco Square and everything that has to offer. On two evenings we walked from the hotel to the Cannaregio*** for dinner and the walk back was just right to help get the blood flowing again after a great Italian meal. If you don't wish to wander too far from La Commedia, there is shopping, dining and entertainment ( Teatro Goldoni) in the immediate vicinity. One evening we saw a bit of Vivaldi performed by a small string ensemble in a church around the corner from the hotel, which was very enjoyable.
If I return to Venice any time soon I would, without question, stay at La Commedia.

***I highly recommend the Cannaregio, by the way, if you want to get off the beaten track and venture where few tourists ever seem to go. Here you will find restaurants and cafes along the Fondamenta Misericordia and Rio di S.Girolamo that are the real deal and frequented by locals. If you go during the day and early evening, it's very peaceful. Later at night (after 9pm), some of the places get very busy, so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
129 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We booked through Citalia, flew with Jet2 from Manchester, and used the Alilaguna water bus from the airport to Rialto. The directions given on the hotel's website were very clear and it was easy to find - literally a two-minute walk with no bridges to cross.

The greeting could not have been warmer, with a very efficient reception. A member of staff took us up in the excellent lift to our room on the first floor. The room was an elegant gold and cream, very tasteful and restful. There was loads of space, with a desk, table and two easy chairs as well as the canopied bed. The bathroom was well appointed with plenty of space around the washbasin, a bath with both a hand shower and a fixed overhead one, and a bidet. There was good drawer and hanging space, certainly adequate for two people for a week. The cupboard contained a large electronic safe. There was also a well stocked mini-bar, with no restrictions on keeping your own water in it. The room was at the back of the hotel, with double-glazed windows overlooking a normally quiet lane. The room was cleaned and tidied each day, and bedding turned down in the evening, with a couple of sweets left on a card with the next day's weather forecast - a lovely touch.

The bar was friendly, warm and comfortable, with plenty of atmosphere. The price of drinks was not excessive when compared to the usual high cost of alcohol in Venice.

Breakfast was the usual continental mix of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cold meats and cheeses, with a variety of cereals, breads and crackers. There was also scrambled eggs and bacon - we didn't ask for anything extra, but I guess they would have cooked eggs to order. Tea or coffee was served at the table (the coffee, of course, was excellent)!

La Commedia is perfectly situated, being two minutes from Rialto and 10 minutes from St Mark's Square. There are plenty of restaurants and shops on the way to Piazza St Marco.

The staff were friendly and helpful at all times, and spoke excellent English. Checkout was smart and efficient, with no delay.

I have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending Hotel a la Commedia for any length of stay in Venice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

Our travel agent, Beach Bum Lisa, picked the La Commedia for us as our last stop on our first anniversary trip thru Italy. We were very impressed. The hotel oozed luxury. The front desk staff was as expected, very nice and knowledgeable, and even helped us save a little money by arranging a group gondola ride with other guests at their hotel. La Commedia was very well kept and met all of our expectations, even exceeded them with the gold inlay in the bathroom floors. I don't know why, but that still sticks with me even after our entire trip through Italy. I guess it was just symbolic of just how much La Commedia personified luxury, even though we tried to travel on a budget. I would absolutely recommend staying here if you are travelling to Venice.

Room Tip: Let them know if you are traveling for a special occasion like a birthday or anniversary to get one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#8 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#25 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Property: Hotel a La Commedia
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#22 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): $320 - $1,179
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing