We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #13 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

The only time we have stayed in Venice was in the early 1970s when booking hotel rooms was quite different to today. In the 1960s work started to clean up Venice and one can see now the enormous improvement since then, particularly to the buildings.

This hotel has been number one on TripAdviser every year since it opened. I think most people must like the same things that we do such as friendly staff, immaculate rooms with character, gorgeous modern spacious bathrooms and excellent breakfasts. The only savoury food for breakfast were triangles of cheese spread and Philadelphia cream cheese, (it didn't matter to us that the hotel breakfasts did not include any cold meats), gorgeous fresh fruit salad, small cereal packets of Coco-pops, muesli and cornflakes, Nutella, honey, jams, rolls, delicious pastries, muffins, tea, and any sort of coffee.

Having read most of the over a thousand TripAdviser reviews I didn't bother to check out any other hotels as I knew this one would be the perfect hotel for us. As regards the hotel's star rating, Walter told me that they chose to be a two star hotel. A star rating can also go up according to whether, for instance, the hotel employs a permanent porter which, as far we are concerned, would not fit in with the personal attention guests have from the super owners Sandro and Walter who alternate at the reception desk for the whole day every day. There is someone at reception day and night. In the main part of the hotel, reception and three bedrooms are on the ground floor and there is only a first floor with the other bedrooms; we had our suitcases carried up to the first floor for us anyway which I am sure happens to every guest.

Rooms 1, 2 and 3 downstairs have showers and are standard rooms. Room 4 has been converted to a breakfast room next to the lovely courtyard area where one can also eat breakfast outside. All the rooms upstairs are superior with a shower over a bath tub. Room 5 is a delightful double room with a balcony overlooking the canal; room 6 can sleep 3 people with a canal view but no balcony; rooms 7 and 8 are doubles; room 9, which is the bedroom we had, can sleep 4 people and room 10 is a suite which can sleep 3 people. On reading the latest reviews I now remember some comments made about the beds; our bed was perfectly comfortable. Room 9 has two large windows and two small windows either side of what must have been originally a fireplace. Through the small windows one looks down onto the alleyway which we walked along from the San Stae water stop to the back door of the hotel. Another great asset to the hotel is that it is extremely easy to reach the hotel from the airport with the Alilaguna water bus orange (arancio) line to the San Stae stop. In the airport, near the luggage carousel, there is a ticket a machine for the Alilaguna water bus; a return ticket costs 27 euros.

I noticed that not only were all the staff very friendly but this friendliness seemed to permeate through the whole hotel to the guests as well. It can be compared to a first class bed and breakfast establishment. Thank you so much Walter and Sandro for the wonderful few days we spent in your hotel. We hope to come back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amazingfuntraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,226
    355
    44
    5
    4
See reviews for
439
1,686
70
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We read some great reviews before we booked Al Ponte Mocenigo and I can say that everything you hear about this place is true! The staff are amazing and very helpful. The hotel is beautiful. The rooms are wonderful. The furniture is Venetian. Great Breakfast. Great Value. Cannot say a single bad word about it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapinder C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balashikha, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Great hotel in an old building located 5 to7 minutes walk from the market and Rialto bridge in a quiet town area. 1 min walk from vaporetto station S.Stae. Perfect location!
The hotel is very clean, we had a superior very nice decorated room upstairs with a small balcony overlooking a small channel.
I'd stay in this hotel again, if I happened to visit Vince one more time. Very good service and quality for the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RagnarRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a 5 night stay and were very pleased with our choice of hotel. We booked as a result of the reviews on TA and we were not disappointed. I booking via email and always got a very swift response to my enquiries. (there were quite a few!)
The directions provided were spot on and we caught the water bus from the airport which was easy and the San Stae stop is literally 2 mins from the hotel. The location was perfect for us as we wanted somewhere quiet at night and less touristy places to eat.
Walter and Sondro were so hospitable and always on hand for advice it was a pleasure to stay with them. The `breakfast ladies' were lovely and made the best hot chocolate my daughter and i have ever had!
My only little niggle would have to be the bed was too hard! Other than that the room was lovely and spotlessly clean.
So thank you Walter, Sondro and your team of ladies for making our stay so enjoyable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

This was our third stay in this hotel and thie standard remains consistently excellent. The location is great either for walking or taking the vaporetta from St Stae. This time we had our best room yet, No 10 the junior suite in the main hotel although we have in the past had the junior suite in the annexe. No 10 is huge with a four poster and a day bed as well as pretty tables and desks all in the hotel's trademark old Venetian style. The owners Walter and Sandro and all their staff make you feel really welcome and go out of their way to help. Breakfast is simple but delicious and I recommend having a hot chocolate before bed. It's the perfect end to a hard day's sightseeing! We wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristineDGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#11 of 385 in Venice
3,637 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,885 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 385 in Venice
2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,301 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#26 of 385 in Venice
848 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Property: Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#9 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): $166 - $306
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing