We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stylish warm and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
Ranked #13 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2012

After a trip to Russia we came to Venice to see our Daughter who is studying there .
From the moment we arrived to this cosy stylish imaculate boutique hotel we felt very comfortable . We had 8 nights and our daughter was given a room next to ours it was so nice
the way they looked after us !!Walter and Sandro really run a very personel service together with their friendly staff the breakfast was delicous with warm pastries and great coffee.
We would highley recomend this hotel !!
Despina and Brian

Room Tip: our room was on a small canel which was lovely to look out to perfect location nice and quiete so...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank despina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,670)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,236 - 1,240 of 2,670 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

While it's difficult to add much to the reviews, here is a guide to planning your visit to Venice.

1. Make a reservation at Al Ponte Mocenigo as soon as you decide to go to Venice. It is a small hotel and fills up quickly.

2. Go to www.veniceconnected.com and buy a Vaparetto Pass. You can buy them online at a 25% discount. You hand your receipt in to any ticket booth and they give you a pass. The pass makes staying at Al Ponte Mocenigo even more convenient. We found this by accident, but it is legitimate and saves you a few dollars.

3. Go to www.veniceurbanadventures.com and book the Cichette tour with Cecilia for the first night you arrive. It leaves from directly across the Grand Canal from Al Ponte Mocenigo and is a wonderful and delicious way to learn your way around Venice. You can read the reviews for the tour on TA.

4. The map that Sandro and Walter give you has the main walking routes in Venice highlighted in yellow. These routes are very helpful for getting around.

I agree that Al Ponte Mocenigo should be at 3 star hotel. Our room, Annex 44, was as nice as any room in a 5 star hotel, and probably larger! The staff could not have been nicer. The fresh baked croissants were wonderful. I also agree with the comments about the firm bedding, but we found that in a number of hotels in Italy.

Before arriving we were concerned about the hotel location in Santa Croce. After a couple of days we learned the shortcuts and how close the hotel is to almost everything. If you get a Vaparetto pass you think nothing of jumping on to cross the Canal to get to Cannaregio and a number of good restaurants. A 3 or 4 stop trip takes you to the Rialto Bridge, which is a 5 minute walk from St. Marks Square (look on the map for Mercerie dell Orologio). This route is much faster than taking the Vaparetto to St. Marks, which can take 40 minutes from San Stae.

There are also a number of good restaurants near the hotel. We enjoyed Al Ponte del Megio, a short walk from the hotel. La Zucca gets very good reviews, but book early, as we could not get in during our visit. Sandro and Walter were very help with recommendations and reservations.

Enjoy Al Ponte Mocenigo and Venice!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I stayed for 3 nights with my mother - who had hurt herself and had to walk with crutches. We we're given the room next to the reception, so that she wouldn't have to climb any stairs. So thoughtful. From the minute we arrived, the staff we're so helpful and pleasant. More than willing to help reserve a place for dinner or show us how to get from one spot to the next. Even before we arrived they were fantastic - patiently answering all my mother's endless queries.
By accident we paid twice for a concert - they realised the mix up and had the refund ready before we even had time to ask! Very honest.
Great location, great rooms, great breakfast with fantastic staff.
it deserves it's first spot on trip advisor 100%

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank madch82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We arrived by water taxi from the airport in pouring rain and the taxi 'driver' let us off at the first set of steps along the side canal to the hotel. In fact, we found out from Walter at the hotel that the taxi could have got right next to the hotel and saved us a 100 metres walk in the rain! The 'driver' was in a great hurry, and we knew no better. Let others be warned !
The hotel is in a very quiet area of the city - many people still live there, and the shops and restaurants reflected this (our best meal was in the Osteria Mocenigo restaurant which was 1 minute from the hotel). Yet the hotel is only 2 minutes from S Stae water bus stop on the Grand Canal, where the Number 1 service stops, and also the orange Allilaguna service to/from the airport.
Our room (33) was in the annexe, and was spacious and comfortably furnished in traditional Venetian style. We got a good nights sleep in the comfortable bed. The room was up 4 flights of stairs (no lift), and was at the rear of the building overlooking a small courtyard. It got the morning sun and was very quiet.
Sandro and Walter were charming hosts, and full of useful information about the city. All the staff were likewise very friendly and helpful.
All in all, an outstanding hotel for a reasonable price in a city where there are lots of average, expensive hotels! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QuoVadis2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel deserves its #1 rating on Trip Advisor. It was so easy to get to from the train station and then it was an easy walk to everywhere on the islands. The staff are gorgeous and always ready to help, our room (the red one) was big enough for the four of us (2 children and 4 suitcases), bathroom is modern, breakfast is a delight (cereal, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, the most amazing croissants and bread rolls, delicious hot chocolate, coffee, etc) and a beautiful courtyard to eat in if it's a pleasant day. The location is perfect - quiet but very close to Rialto bridge and some lovely little restaurants. I don't want to leave and am already planning our next vacation!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lyndaw573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
3,739 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#4 of 384 in Venice
1,928 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 384 in Venice
2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 384 in Venice
2,387 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 384 in Venice
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo

Address: S. Croce 2063, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#8 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#16 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $133 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Wotif.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hotel Al Ponte Mocenigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Ponte Mocenigo Venice
Al Ponte Mocenigo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing