We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendliest Hotel Ever”
Review of Antica Casa Coppo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antica Casa Coppo
Ranked #244 of 482 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 October 2017

We stayed at this hotel for two nights at the end of September. Location is good, between the Grand Canal and St. Mark's Square. The hotel is difficult to find, down several narrow alleyways, even with detailed directions that were sent to us. Our room was extremely small with no room to open a suitcase. The room could have used updating, but was clean. There was no view or outside space, but the hotel is very quiet. However, the hotel owner and the staff were extremely unfriendly. No greeting or smile ever (except for one young woman who worked in the afternoon) and no offer to assist. We had to get our suitcases up 3 flights of narrow stairs on our own. Breakfast was not included in our rate. We purchased it one day for 10 euros each. It was a decent continental breakfast, but the breakfast room was very cramped and the server was extremely unfriendly. The owner sits in the breakfast room all morning working on her computer and not speaking to anyone. I wouldn't stay here again. I don't think it unreasonable to expect a hotel owner in a resort city to be friendly. She should not be in the hospitality business.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pamfromnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_ACC_Venice, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Pamfromnh,
thank you for your review.
We don't want to object your personal opinion about the staff or the room itself, since simpathy and tastes are objective matters, even if we regret to know you didn't appreciate some of those aspects of your stay.
Anyway, we don't have any room up three flights of stairs, that is not part of our property indeed and as such it is managed by others. Our upper rooms foresee just two flights of stairs and our staff always help Guests to take their luggages to the room, no matter of their size or weight. Indeed here nobody would be going upstairs by their own at the arrival, since we always take personally each Guest to their room and show them around, how the Keys work, where to find information, how to operate a/c or heating, etc...
Furthermore we have never had a 10€ per person breakfast.
We are afraid that you might have stayed in one of the neighboring properties that nothing have to do with us and maybe recurred to our reception for some services you needed, as sometimes the Guests at those properties actually do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

room extremely small. Women owner not pleasant at all. Told that we had a 1st floor room and then when we arrived she said it wasn't available. no excuse why?
Had a bad attitude. No elevator available, no help with our suitcases.
The night lady on the front desk was pleasant and spoke good English.
close to St Marks square. Owner was working on her computer in the breakfast room while we were eating. Little difficult to find. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_ACC_Venice, Direttore generale at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Jane H,
thank you for your comment.
Anyway, we never allocate a room before the arrival (with the only exception of the Junior Suite, that is unique in its category, so when you reserve it you get it and that's therefore the only case when we can actually promise something about room's location) and have no records at all of a room becoming suddenly unavailable on-route between check-in and going to the room, so your comment regarding the room on the first floor promised and then unavailable must be a misunderstanding.
Also, we don't have night reception, so this also should be a mistake.
Regarding the elevator, our Guests should be aware about the lack of it by simply reading the information about the room they are booking (this same way they should be aware of the size of their room), neither we promote any bellhop service, but our staff is instead Always really happy to help our Guests with their luggages, they bring up the stairs your heaviest luggages repeatedly each and every day, even if they are not contracted to do so (and rarely they receive any tip, I must add), it would not be kind towards them not to recognize their efforts and free kindness, but I see from your words that this part is probably another mismatch, as it is the classification you are giving us as a 3 star (our Guesthouse is actually 1st category)

I would be grateful to you if you can check better when writing a review, and especially a bad one at that, that it is directed towards the right property, because unfortunately TripAdvisor refuses any responsibilities in checking this even when presented with evidences (for the most part not existing by the way, since the most part of contributors are writing anonimously)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Great base for exploring Venice , close to Grand Canal and St Marks Square, rooms and breakfast fine for the price. Little difficult to find but probably could say that about a lot of Venice hotels, would stay again

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

This is a decent hotel, close to Rialto (in fact, the location is a definite positive for this place).
The hotel itself is quaint, clean and small.
The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Our was a double room and had two terraces, which were a nice touch (they don't get any direct sun but are nice to sit out in / have somewhere to dry your clothes if you need to do a spontaneous wash for the next day).
The beds were two single beds pushed together, which was a bit of an inconvenience as, inevitably, one of us ended up sleeping in the gap!
Breakfast is included in the price and is okay: per couple, three petite pains and three small, filled croissants (apricot jam, Nutella or creme patisserie). There's also a small selection of three meats and a cheese, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt, muesli and biscuits. Coffee, a selection of teas and juices are also available. The breakfast room is very small and accommodates 10 people but, on a few occasions, there were a lot more than this staying in the hotel, which meant the room was crammed and we left our breakfast to allow others to sit down.
The staff are quite mixed: some are really friendly and helpful, others are a little more aloof and, at times, abrupt. However, you have very little interaction with them and, the little we have had, has been positive.
For the price, this is a place worth staying in; however, if you're used to chain hotels with restaurants, room service and 24 hour staff available, this isn't the place to stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank European-Bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Wow! Venice is beautiful as always. After 6 varied weeks of travel through Italy we had 3 nights at this hotel. My wife and I are hotel managers and know the importance to guests of a warm welcoming staff. The manager's demeanour made us, and our friend, feel like we were a bothersome inconvenience to her day. She sat at her computer table - of her 10 room hotel - in an already crowded breakfast room ignoring all guests leaving every 5 mins to go outside where she paced as she had a cigaratte. She has apparently picked staff to emulate her. Breakfast was adequate but the silence was deafening. If only there was music to lift the heaviness of the atmosphere. The manager needs to heed the advice of other guests who have left comments on Tripadviser or move aside and let someone who likes people to manage the place.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#35 of 387 in Venice
1,116 reviews
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#52 of 387 in Venice
1,116 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#125 of 387 in Venice
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#128 of 387 in Venice
849 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 387 in Venice
1,956 reviews
San Marco
Centauro Hotel
Centauro Hotel
#124 of 387 in Venice
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Casa Coppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Casa Coppo

Address: San Marco, 4320, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #244 of 482 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $123 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Casa Coppo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antica Casa Coppo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Casa Coppo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing