We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star hotel”
Review of Antica Casa Coppo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Antica Casa Coppo
Ranked #229 of 479 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 October 2017

room extremely small. Women owner not pleasant at all. Told that we had a 1st floor room and then when we arrived she said it wasn't available. no excuse why?
Had a bad attitude. No elevator available, no help with our suitcases.
The night lady on the front desk was pleasant and spoke good English.
close to St Marks square. Owner was working on her computer in the breakfast room while we were eating. Little difficult to find. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_ACC_Venice, Direttore generale at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Dear Jane H,
thank you for your comment.
Anyway, we never allocate a room before the arrival (with the only exception of the Junior Suite, that is unique in its category, so when you reserve it you get it and that's therefore the only case when we can actually promise something about room's location) and have no records at all of a room becoming suddenly unavailable on-route between check-in and going to the room, so your comment regarding the room on the first floor promised and then unavailable must be a misunderstanding.
Also, we don't have night reception, so this also should be a mistake.
Regarding the elevator, our Guests should be aware about the lack of it by simply reading the information about the room they are booking (this same way they should be aware of the size of their room), neither we promote any bellhop service, but our staff is instead Always really happy to help our Guests with their luggages, they bring up the stairs your heaviest luggages repeatedly each and every day, even if they are not contracted to do so (and rarely they receive any tip, I must add), it would not be kind towards them not to recognize their efforts and free kindness, but I see from your words that this part is probably another mismatch, as it is the classification you are giving us as a 3 star (our Guesthouse is actually 1st category)

I would be grateful to you if you can check better when writing a review, and especially a bad one at that, that it is directed towards the right property, because unfortunately TripAdvisor refuses any responsibilities in checking this even when presented with evidences (for the most part not existing by the way, since the most part of contributors are writing anonimously)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Great base for exploring Venice , close to Grand Canal and St Marks Square, rooms and breakfast fine for the price. Little difficult to find but probably could say that about a lot of Venice hotels, would stay again

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Samantha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

This is a decent hotel, close to Rialto (in fact, the location is a definite positive for this place).
The hotel itself is quaint, clean and small.
The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Our was a double room and had two terraces, which were a nice touch (they don't get any direct sun but are nice to sit out in / have somewhere to dry your clothes if you need to do a spontaneous wash for the next day).
The beds were two single beds pushed together, which was a bit of an inconvenience as, inevitably, one of us ended up sleeping in the gap!
Breakfast is included in the price and is okay: per couple, three petite pains and three small, filled croissants (apricot jam, Nutella or creme patisserie). There's also a small selection of three meats and a cheese, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt, muesli and biscuits. Coffee, a selection of teas and juices are also available. The breakfast room is very small and accommodates 10 people but, on a few occasions, there were a lot more than this staying in the hotel, which meant the room was crammed and we left our breakfast to allow others to sit down.
The staff are quite mixed: some are really friendly and helpful, others are a little more aloof and, at times, abrupt. However, you have very little interaction with them and, the little we have had, has been positive.
For the price, this is a place worth staying in; however, if you're used to chain hotels with restaurants, room service and 24 hour staff available, this isn't the place to stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 607CharlotteK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Wow! Venice is beautiful as always. After 6 varied weeks of travel through Italy we had 3 nights at this hotel. My wife and I are hotel managers and know the importance to guests of a warm welcoming staff. The manager's demeanour made us, and our friend, feel like we were a bothersome inconvenience to her day. She sat at her computer table - of her 10 room hotel - in an already crowded breakfast room ignoring all guests leaving every 5 mins to go outside where she paced as she had a cigaratte. She has apparently picked staff to emulate her. Breakfast was adequate but the silence was deafening. If only there was music to lift the heaviness of the atmosphere. The manager needs to heed the advice of other guests who have left comments on Tripadviser or move aside and let someone who likes people to manage the place.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

We traveled to Venice for 1 night during a visit to Italy in March and chose Antica Casa Coppo due to the location and price. This hotel is located 5 min walk from San Marco square and other must see tourist attractions in Venice. We contacted the hotel before arrival and asked about a taxi service from the train station, the staff where helpful in providing details of a company but they wanted around €80. Due to the price and our stay only being for 1 night we decided to walk.. this only took about 25 mins (whilst stopping for photos) also we got to see much more of the city than we would have if we got a taxi. On check in we were informed of breakfast times etc and shown to our room. The room was spacious and clean with a mini bar provided *at extra cost. After spending a full day walking around the city we returned to our room. There is a very cute small bar about 5 meters away from the hotel which I would also recommend for a few quiet evening drinks.. breakfast the next morning was very good.. bacon, eggs, toast plus a selection of cold meats and cheeses where available.. the perfect Italian breakfast. Honestly we could have stayed for another 3, 4, 5 nights. The hotel was lovely, clean, in a great location and affordable.. what's not to love?

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GarthCoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#113 of 387 in Venice
866 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#133 of 387 in Venice
844 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Gallo
Hotel San Gallo
#115 of 387 in Venice
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Giudecca
Casa Genoveffa
Casa Genoveffa
#284 of 479 in Venice
30 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#159 of 387 in Venice
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Casa Coppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Casa Coppo

Address: San Marco, 4320, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #229 of 479 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $102 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Casa Coppo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Antica Casa Coppo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Casa Coppo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing