We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
66
116
39
17
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
66
116
39
17
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location gladly stay here again clean room and bathroom included in our rate rialto bridge detailed directions quiet alley expensive hotel comfortable stay restaurants and bars quiet at night rooftop terrace no lift san marco square stayed here for nights mini bar water taxi
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Wow! Venice is beautiful as always. After 6 varied weeks of travel through Italy we had 3 nights at this hotel. My wife and I are hotel managers and know the importance to guests of a warm welcoming staff. The manager's demeanour made us, and our friend, feel like we were a bothersome inconvenience to her day. She sat at her computer table - of her 10 room hotel - in an already crowded breakfast room ignoring all guests leaving every 5 mins to go outside where she paced as she had a cigaratte. She has apparently picked staff to emulate her. Breakfast was adequate but the silence was deafening. If only there was music to lift the heaviness of the atmosphere. The manager needs to heed the advice of other guests who have left comments on Tripadviser or move aside and let someone who likes people to manage the place.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

We traveled to Venice for 1 night during a visit to Italy in March and chose Antica Casa Coppo due to the location and price. This hotel is located 5 min walk from San Marco square and other must see tourist attractions in Venice. We contacted the hotel before arrival and asked about a taxi service from the train station, the staff where helpful in providing details of a company but they wanted around €80. Due to the price and our stay only being for 1 night we decided to walk.. this only took about 25 mins (whilst stopping for photos) also we got to see much more of the city than we would have if we got a taxi. On check in we were informed of breakfast times etc and shown to our room. The room was spacious and clean with a mini bar provided *at extra cost. After spending a full day walking around the city we returned to our room. There is a very cute small bar about 5 meters away from the hotel which I would also recommend for a few quiet evening drinks.. breakfast the next morning was very good.. bacon, eggs, toast plus a selection of cold meats and cheeses where available.. the perfect Italian breakfast. Honestly we could have stayed for another 3, 4, 5 nights. The hotel was lovely, clean, in a great location and affordable.. what's not to love?

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank GarthCoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We had a very good stay here. Our room was large and bright and we had a very big bathroom - both better than the much more expensive hotel we stayed in on our previous Venice visit. We even had access to a roof-top terrace. The hotel is tucked away and was so quiet at night that we could have been in the country, not a busy city.
Its location is perfect - five mins from Rialto vaporetto stop and incredibly central for sightseeing.
There is free wi-fi and the connection in our room was excellent.
We found the staff very helpful and quick to sort out any queries.
We would certainly stay here again. Venice is a hugely expensive city and to find a central hotel at a reasonable price is not easy.

Room Tip: We found our top floor front room lightm, airy and quiet
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Staff were hostile and unfriendly. Demanded extra money than what was previously agreed at checkout because my 5 year old daughter shared the room in my bed. (I was told it was €30 extra in total, but was forced to pay €90). Intimidated me and wouldn't let me leave without paying more than agreed amount. Facilities and breakfast very basic but uncomfortably small breakfast area and obnoxious owner.
There are plenty of lovely places with friendly staff in Venice to stay... this isn't one of them, it ruined our trip.
This is the first bad review of a hotel I've ever given as I don't normally like complaining, but I genuinely believe people need to be warned about this place. And it seems there are lots of other negative reviews regarding the staff there.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Louise_112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_ACC_Venice, Direttore generale at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

You booked a Double room for 2 persons, you have never mentioned that you would be travelling with your daughter before arrival - not even when contacted in person. Once you showed up with a 6-year old, trying to get the gratuity reserved to children sleeping in cribs, we pointed out that you would have needed an upgrade in order to get a room which could host the three of you legally. I can understand how for you could be the same to respect or not to respect other country's rules, but instead a hotel could be closed when not respecting the maximum number of people allowed in each room. Rules like this are established above all for Health and Safety reasons, as explained to you, so you should see the good reason behind them.
The upgrade and third Guest with bed, sheets, towels, breakfast, taxes, snacks, etc., all included has been offered to you at € 30.00 per night, as we told you it would have been impossible to offer all this at € 10/night, at that price you wouldn't have got a bed in an 8-bed dormitory. You hadn't contest the price until you were stopped while attempting to dash off without paying your bill, and even then, you tried to deceive the owner about the minibar items you had consumed. Eventually you were able to escape the payment of the tourist tax anyway (of course the credit card provided for incidentals wasn't working...).

Since you - as a great part of Users of this forum, which could be an explanation about the way it is used - are writing as anonymous, I guess I'm allowed to tell how after your departure our maids needed 2 hours and a half to clean up your room, including remove all the marks your daughter had made with the pencil on walls and textiles, not to mention the old clothes and dirty underwear scattered all over the floor, sofa and bed.
About the hostile staff, we were anything but smiling and courteous in the few occasions you allowed us to meet you, five of us had the occasion to talk about this and nobody had been ever caught in a disrespectful/hostile/unfriendly, let's figure intimidating, behavior towards you or your family. It is deceitful to say that a person is obnoxious when all she was doing was asking you for the owed payment for the services you used and I agree that staff at a hotel should never be put in the condition of treating Guests as capricious children.
It is evident that this review has little to do with your real experience at our hotel, rather it seemed there were something already existing in the backwards which has nothing to do with us and that we are not surely the right people to solve.

What is really unacceptable is that hotels are put in the conditions of accepting whatever in order to please Guests, to avoid their name to be defamed by whoever, and that employers have to concede for free whatever service under the threat of a bad review on TripAdvisor. I hope this time it's clear that we do not accept this, and yes, people need to be warned about these scams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

We stayed at the Antica Casa Coppo for a few nights in March 2017.

The hotel is a little hard to find but so is everything in the maze of Venice. Once you know where the hotel is you'll realize it's quite a good location with a supermarket 5 mins walk away, the Rialto area 10 mins walk away and a bunch of nice little places for dinner also about 10 mins walk away. So great location.

The room was nice and clean. Very cozy but comfortable. The bathroom even had heated towel rails. I can't imagine any of the rooms being very light though just because of the quite street that the hotel is on.

Breakfast was nice and was included in our booking. I don't if it is included in all bookings so check first.

There is only reception on site from 8am-8pm. We met two different people on reception. One was quite nice and helpful the other was a bit less 'conversational'. All the staff seemed to speak adequate English.

Overall:
Good accommodation on a budget. We had a couple of concessions that could not be helped when we stayed here but lets face it, not that the room was bad but you don't go to Venice to stay in your room all day so the great location is the payoff.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FindingHappy_blog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews