We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but reasonably priced ”
Review of Antica Casa Coppo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Antica Casa Coppo
Ranked #235 of 482 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

This is a decent hotel, close to Rialto (in fact, the location is a definite positive for this place).
The hotel itself is quaint, clean and small.
The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. Our was a double room and had two terraces, which were a nice touch (they don't get any direct sun but are nice to sit out in / have somewhere to dry your clothes if you need to do a spontaneous wash for the next day).
The beds were two single beds pushed together, which was a bit of an inconvenience as, inevitably, one of us ended up sleeping in the gap!
Breakfast is included in the price and is okay: per couple, three petite pains and three small, filled croissants (apricot jam, Nutella or creme patisserie). There's also a small selection of three meats and a cheese, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt, muesli and biscuits. Coffee, a selection of teas and juices are also available. The breakfast room is very small and accommodates 10 people but, on a few occasions, there were a lot more than this staying in the hotel, which meant the room was crammed and we left our breakfast to allow others to sit down.
The staff are quite mixed: some are really friendly and helpful, others are a little more aloof and, at times, abrupt. However, you have very little interaction with them and, the little we have had, has been positive.
For the price, this is a place worth staying in; however, if you're used to chain hotels with restaurants, room service and 24 hour staff available, this isn't the place to stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank European-Bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Wow! Venice is beautiful as always. After 6 varied weeks of travel through Italy we had 3 nights at this hotel. My wife and I are hotel managers and know the importance to guests of a warm welcoming staff. The manager's demeanour made us, and our friend, feel like we were a bothersome inconvenience to her day. She sat at her computer table - of her 10 room hotel - in an already crowded breakfast room ignoring all guests leaving every 5 mins to go outside where she paced as she had a cigaratte. She has apparently picked staff to emulate her. Breakfast was adequate but the silence was deafening. If only there was music to lift the heaviness of the atmosphere. The manager needs to heed the advice of other guests who have left comments on Tripadviser or move aside and let someone who likes people to manage the place.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

We traveled to Venice for 1 night during a visit to Italy in March and chose Antica Casa Coppo due to the location and price. This hotel is located 5 min walk from San Marco square and other must see tourist attractions in Venice. We contacted the hotel before arrival and asked about a taxi service from the train station, the staff where helpful in providing details of a company but they wanted around €80. Due to the price and our stay only being for 1 night we decided to walk.. this only took about 25 mins (whilst stopping for photos) also we got to see much more of the city than we would have if we got a taxi. On check in we were informed of breakfast times etc and shown to our room. The room was spacious and clean with a mini bar provided *at extra cost. After spending a full day walking around the city we returned to our room. There is a very cute small bar about 5 meters away from the hotel which I would also recommend for a few quiet evening drinks.. breakfast the next morning was very good.. bacon, eggs, toast plus a selection of cold meats and cheeses where available.. the perfect Italian breakfast. Honestly we could have stayed for another 3, 4, 5 nights. The hotel was lovely, clean, in a great location and affordable.. what's not to love?

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GarthCoote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

We had a very good stay here. Our room was large and bright and we had a very big bathroom - both better than the much more expensive hotel we stayed in on our previous Venice visit. We even had access to a roof-top terrace. The hotel is tucked away and was so quiet at night that we could have been in the country, not a busy city.
Its location is perfect - five mins from Rialto vaporetto stop and incredibly central for sightseeing.
There is free wi-fi and the connection in our room was excellent.
We found the staff very helpful and quick to sort out any queries.
We would certainly stay here again. Venice is a hugely expensive city and to find a central hotel at a reasonable price is not easy.

Room Tip: We found our top floor front room lightm, airy and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tina07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

Staff were hostile and unfriendly. Demanded extra money than what was previously agreed at checkout because my 5 year old daughter shared the room in my bed. (I was told it was €30 extra in total, but was forced to pay €90). Intimidated me and wouldn't let me leave without paying more than agreed amount. Facilities and breakfast very basic but uncomfortably small breakfast area and obnoxious owner.
There are plenty of lovely places with friendly staff in Venice to stay... this isn't one of them, it ruined our trip.
This is the first bad review of a hotel I've ever given as I don't normally like complaining, but I genuinely believe people need to be warned about this place. And it seems there are lots of other negative reviews regarding the staff there.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Louise_112233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_ACC_Venice, Direttore generale at Antica Casa Coppo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2017

You booked a Double room for 2 persons, you have never mentioned that you would be travelling with your daughter before arrival - not even when contacted in person. Once you showed up with a 6-year old, trying to get the gratuity reserved to children sleeping in cribs, we pointed out that you would have needed an upgrade in order to get a room which could host the three of you legally. I can understand how for you could be the same to respect or not to respect other country's rules, but instead a hotel could be closed when not respecting the maximum number of people allowed in each room. Rules like this are established above all for Health and Safety reasons, as explained to you, so you should see the good reason behind them.
The upgrade and third Guest with bed, sheets, towels, breakfast, taxes, snacks, etc., all included has been offered to you at € 30.00 per night, as we told you it would have been impossible to offer all this at € 10/night, at that price you wouldn't have got a bed in an 8-bed dormitory. You hadn't contest the price until you were stopped while attempting to dash off without paying your bill, and even then, you tried to deceive the owner about the minibar items you had consumed. Eventually you were able to escape the payment of the tourist tax anyway (of course the credit card provided for incidentals wasn't working...).

Since you - as a great part of Users of this forum, which could be an explanation about the way it is used - are writing as anonymous, I guess I'm allowed to tell how after your departure our maids needed 2 hours and a half to clean up your room, including remove all the marks your daughter had made with the pencil on walls and textiles, not to mention the old clothes and dirty underwear scattered all over the floor, sofa and bed.
About the hostile staff, we were anything but smiling and courteous in the few occasions you allowed us to meet you, five of us had the occasion to talk about this and nobody had been ever caught in a disrespectful/hostile/unfriendly, let's figure intimidating, behavior towards you or your family. It is deceitful to say that a person is obnoxious when all she was doing was asking you for the owed payment for the services you used and I agree that staff at a hotel should never be put in the condition of treating Guests as capricious children.
It is evident that this review has little to do with your real experience at our hotel, rather it seemed there were something already existing in the backwards which has nothing to do with us and that we are not surely the right people to solve.

What is really unacceptable is that hotels are put in the conditions of accepting whatever in order to please Guests, to avoid their name to be defamed by whoever, and that employers have to concede for free whatever service under the threat of a bad review on TripAdvisor. I hope this time it's clear that we do not accept this, and yes, people need to be warned about these scams.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#35 of 388 in Venice
1,116 reviews
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#51 of 388 in Venice
1,115 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#128 of 388 in Venice
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Centauro Hotel
Centauro Hotel
#121 of 388 in Venice
818 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 388 in Venice
1,952 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#156 of 388 in Venice
2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antica Casa Coppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Casa Coppo

Address: San Marco, 4320, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 482 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: $126 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antica Casa Coppo 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antica Casa Coppo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Casa Coppo Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing