We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A happy chance”
Review of Atelier Flavia

Atelier Flavia
Ranked #6 of 359 Shopping in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Since 1980 Venice Atelier specializes in creating handmade paper mache masks totally handmade in the tradition of "Maskmakers Venetians", embellished with precious fabrics, feathers, gold leaf and crystals ...Unique pieces. We also offer a wide range of tailored costumes for adults and children, coats, wigs and shoes, available for rental and sale. We also rent tuxedos.
Reviewed 11 April 2018

We stumbled on Atelier Flavia entirely by chance on our way to a chocolate shop.
Flavia enticed us in and we were delighted she did so. The atelier is a treasure house of costumes, beautifully made, but also masks made from recycled materials, hats likewise, jewellery and other tempting bits and pieces.
My granddaughters were in awe of Flavia's language skills. She is clearly passionate about her business and was very informative about the history behind the items she sells. She was totally charming and we were so glad to have met her.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank DinahC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"beautiful costumes"
in 4 reviews
"hotel baglioni"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful dress"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"take pictures"
in 2 reviews
"visit venice"
in 2 reviews
"outfit"
in 5 reviews
"wig"
in 4 reviews
"carnival"
in 6 reviews
"mask"
in 10 reviews
"carnaval"
in 5 reviews
"shop"
in 23 reviews
"shoes"
in 3 reviews
"lace"
in 3 reviews
"photos"
in 5 reviews
"hat"
in 2 reviews
"highlights"
in 3 reviews
Filter

4 - 8 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2018

Stunning costumes!
My husband & I rented costumes during this past 2018 Carnivale in Venice. I didn't know anything about Carnivale or how to rent costumes. Our hotel recommended Atelier Flavia and stressed that she was one of the most respected Atelier's in Venice. Leading up to our arrival in Venice, I must have sent her at least 30 or more emails with questions. She answered everything in a very timely manner & very patiently. Atelier Flavia truly went above & beyond before we even arrived in Venice. I could not have planned and executed this surprise trip for my husband's 40th birthday without her. I wanted this to be a very special experience for him & she helped me every step of the way, including with recommendations & booking our tickets to the masked ball we attended. Everyone we encountered during our costume fitting was also very professional & kind. The costumes were so beautiful & of very highly quality. She makes it so easy by delivering & picking up the costumes right your hotel. I can not recommend Atelier Flavia enough. She is the BEST!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank christinau531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018

I rented a costume from Flavia for three days during the 2018 Carnevale. The customer service and overall experience was absolutely accommodating, friendly, and professional throughout. Flavia and Ester met us and guided us to the right costume for me - so mine matched my lady’s Carnevale garb. They put us at ease immediately and made us feel like we were the only people in their shop. They provided several outfits for me to choose from, had a seamstress present to help try on for fit, and outfitted me for an entire three day experience - from shoes, socks, shirts, hat, wig plus the pants, waist coat and coat. The best experience was strolling through the streets of old Venice and having locals nod, clap, and take pictures. This is a truly amazing experience - all thanks to Flavia and her wonderful, expert staff. I will be happy to see them again in future years and either rent or purchase another costume.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank normreitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2018

A walk through the picturesque and romantic streets of Venice dressed as in the 17th century was undoubtedly the most special experience we had on our last trip to Venice.
Flavia's shop is a lovely place for anyone looking for top quality costumes. All the staff is so pleasent and very professional. They does above and beyond to make sure that your experience will be just as perfect as you imagine it.
The staff is very patient and gave us all the time to decide which costume is right for us and what accessories will make the perfect outfit.
It is amazing to see Flavia's passion for costumes and how she speaks with tremendous love about Venice and the carnival.
We recommend the place warmly :-)
we will definitely come back on our next visit to Venice.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Zfanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

A very nice shop in the Hart of old Venice the staff was friendly and polite and the mask absolutely amazing

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank briks1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atelier Flavia also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Atelier Flavia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing