We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,137)
Filter reviews
2,137 results
Traveller rating
2,044
66
15
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,044
66
15
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crepes orseolo canal iron gate remembered our names water taxi private courtyard mark's square restaurant recommendations canal side tucked away stay in venice watch the gondolas the location is perfect boutique hotel each morning small hotel our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
294 - 299 of 2,137 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2016

We stayed at the Locanda Orseolo for 5 days in December 2015.
We started off our Venice trip lost and waiting at the pier for our taxi which was not there. Thankfully, Gigi from Locanda Orseolo spotted us (on his way home) and "rescued" us by calling and checking for our water taxi. He was kind enough to call and check with the taxi company on our behalf (since we did not speak Italian).

The hotel is in a nice quiet location. Sure, you can hear tourists and gondoliers from your room but if you want silence, there are other hotels you can stay in. The private water taxi entrance is definitely unique and almost makes you feel like you stepped back into time and was part of a food delivery service. We loved that! St Mark's square is a very short walk (less than 5 minutes provided you don't get lost or distracted).

Service provided at Locanda Orseolo is impeccable. The staff go the extra distance to memorize their guest list and are able to greet each guest by name. Their breakfast buffet is good and you can request the kitchen staff to make you a special breakfast. Fresh omelettes, chocolate crepes are just a few of the items available upon request. I did notice that if cakes were unfinished from the previous day, the staff does re-serve it the next day. i can't really fault them for not throwing leftovers because it's still edible, just getting a little on the stale side. The restaurant guide provided by the hotel is quite good. If you require any help, don't hesitate to ask the staff. They are always more than happy to accomodate their guest request.

The rooms are small but comfortable. The superior room consist of a bedroom and a separate sitting area. Do request for the rooms on the second level so that you can see the canal from your room. My parents had a second level room and it was beautiful. The bathrooms could use some updating as our shower was constantly flooding from poor drainage. Other than that, the bathrooms were adequate and kept clean.

For families traveling with young children, please make sure that you request for a second level room. There is no elevator but you can ask to leave your strollers with the front desk. The hotel will also provide a cot upon request.

Room Tip: Second level rooms are best for older travelers or families with young children.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Melissa_Seet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2016

Just got back from a wonderful long weekend in Venice, and cannot recommend Locanda Orseola highly enough. Great location, just off St Marks Square, and manages to remain quiet and exclusive. We were on first name terms with all the hotel team from the moment we arrived. (a water-taxi arrival is a particularly special way of arriving- you arrive from the watertaxi into a discreet door on a tiny canal). Very good breakfast as well, much better than your usual bland hotel buffet. The staff recommended some great places to eat that were not the standard over-priced tourist traps. Overall Locanda Orseola was perfect and I would hurry back in an instant.

Room Tip: A canal side room would be even more special, but there may be a little more noise.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank melathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We spent 3 nights in October of 2015 at Locanda Orseolo following a cruise. It was a perfect location and the staff could not have been more accommodating. They helped arrange tickets for a few things for us and our friends, and they suggested a restaurant as well. The breakfast was delicious. We felt like we were at home with family while in Venice, and we can't wait to return. Lovely room with a window overlooking canal with lovely sounds of music during the day and evening...I would never consider staying anywhere else in Venice!

Stayed: October 2015
Thank CEN27455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2016

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in for so many reasons. The location is absolutely perfect - a 30 second walk from St Mark's Square. Being able to wake up everyday and look out on to the canal was breathtaking. The bedroom was very spacious and beautifully decorated. Similarly, breakfast was absolutely delicious. Above all however, were the staff. They were charming, polite and so helpful. They would help us with restaurant reservations and with our daily itinerary. For anyone going to Venice.. you must stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2016

I never, ever write reviews, but I felt the need to tell the TripAdvisor community that this hotel stands head and shoulders above any hotel I have ever stayed at.

Do you like small, quaint, family owned hotels in the heart of a historic city? Locanda Orseolo.

Do you like walking through the front door of a hotel, where the whole staff knows your name, regardless of having met you? Locanda Orseolo.

Do you enjoy the luxury of having fresh, ready made breakfast and coffee, steps away from your room? Locanda Orseolo.

I have stayed in hotels all over the US and Europe and this place is a gem. From its charming decorations, welcoming staff, and incredible location, this hotel is incredible (try the mini creme filled donuts!) If I return to Venice, I will 100% stay at Locanda Orseolo again.

Room Tip: We did not have a canal facing room and do not feel like we missed out on anything.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews