We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“What a Place for a Honeymoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
Ranked #27 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a Place for a Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

Have just returned from this delightful hotel, having spent our first week of marriage in Venice. The staff were amazingly helpful and fulfilled all our wishes, even to booking tickets for local events, arranging private boats (yes, we really did it in style) and advising on timetables for boats etc. The double room, overlooking a side canal, was beautiful and, on some occasions, the towels were replaced TWICE in a day. Reception staff amazing, bar staff very friendly and domestic staff excellent, (although we hardy saw them, and just basked in the beautiful spotlessness of our room. Very easy access to all major sites and Rialto Bridge visible from hotel. Vaporreti stop very convenient and they have their own landing stage with very smart Porter who will assist with lugguage. Would recommend highly

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    149
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
121
456
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed here for 5 days in mid-June. The room was excellent: well appointed, comfortable, spacious. We stayed at the Gritti Palace on our last visit to Venice and the Palazzo Sant'Angelo was much nicer in every aspect. The staff was friendly and helpful in all ways. When we arrived there was a bottle of chilled Prosecco and a tray of goodies waiting for us as I had told them we were in Venice to celebrate our 46th anniversary. This, along with the perfectly air conditioned room, was such a great and welcome surprise because it was very hot in Venice when we arrived and throughout our stay.

The hotel is perfectly situated along the Grand Canal, and it is only 50 yards from the vaporetto stop. This made getting to the hotel from the train station very easy. The Ali Laguna (public transport to Marco Polo airport) stops at this vaporetto station so one can get to and from the airport in almost the same time it takes if one uses a water taxi but the cost is only 25% of taxi fare. There is a traghetto stop (gondola that just goes back and forth cross the Grand Canal for only one Euro) around the corner. It is within easy walking distance of virtually everything in Venice and, if you get tired, there's readily available public transportation to bring you right back to the hotel's doorstep.

Some folks have mentioned that the breakfast at the hotel is not as good as that at other hotels. We have to disagree here. The breakfast was ample and the choices the same as we've experienced at the many other hotels we visited during our other trips to Italy. The breakfast room is small but the food is good, the choices varied and the staff that helps serve you is friendly and very helpful. While speaking of helpful staff, and while we don't like to single out anyone, we do have to mention Nicola Cernison who works at the front desk. He went above and beyond in helping us, giving us insights, offering helpful hints and generally making our stay very, very special.

When you get back to the hotel, there are staff members waiting to greet you with a kind smile that tells you they are happy you are staying at "their" hotel. The little bar off the lobby is delightful and the perfect spot for a quiet drink before you head out to dinner. They provided free hors d'oeuvres from 5 to 8pm as an accompaniment to the drinks and the bar attendant was fun to chat with as we relaxed and watched the boats go by on the canal.

There are some terrific restaurants close by: try "a beccafico" on Campo Francesco Morosini and "Aqua Pazza" on Campo S. Angelo, both within easy walking distance of the hotel. And, if you love gelato as we do, give "Igloo" on the street that connects Campo S. Angelo to Campo Mannin a try. We think it's the best gelato in the city and perhaps the best in Italy ;-)

Room Tip: Consider choosing a room that is not right on the canal. Previous experiences taught us that the boa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SwimMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

Nice Rooms, perfect location to explore Venice.
Great breakfast, but prices in their Bar are at the higher end in Venice.
Marco the concierge is wonderful the way a concierge should be. Happy, helpful without attitude.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Norbert1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

We arrived in Venice with far too many bags and were feeling a little exploited by the water taxi's high fare, but the eager welcome we received from the bellboy and the friendly check-in at the front desk made all our worries go away. Like several other Italian hotels we stayed at on our trip, the front desk person took us personally to show us our room. She explained that we had been upgraded and I couldn't believe my eyes when we walked into our room. It was the room featured on their website with the balconies that opened up onto the grand canal that we couldn't quite afford. Champagne waited for us on the table, and our bed had a heart drawn on it with rose petals. How romantic! Our "romance package" also included a gondola ride, a dinner, a trip to Murano's glass blowing factory, and casino tickets.

Our room had a living room area, a spacious bathroom, and a large comfortable bed. The decor was many different shades of red. A very antique, romantic style. Our only complaint was that the shower leaked all the way onto the carpet in the living room, but this seems to be a typical problem in Italian hotels and it was easily ignored.

As soon as the hotel staff left we threw open all of the windows and watched the gondolas, water taxis, and various other types of boats float by. I could sit there for hours just watching the activity on the canal. It was truly magical. We ordered room service and pushed the room service cart right up to the balcony where we could eat and enjoy the view. Room service was prompt, friendly, and tasted quite good.

We found that the hotel was located a short walk away from St. Mark's and the Doge's Palace area, which seems to be the main area to visit in Venice. The Rialto Bridge was also quite close and you could see it from the balcony.

We visited the hotel bar during happy hour twice and the complimentary appetizers were very good. The bartender was quite friendly.

The gondola the hotel booked for us picked us right up in front of the hotel. The hotel staff scheduled it for us, and helped us get in and out. They also scheduled a water shuttle to take us to their sister hotel's restaurant for the complimentary dinner, which was delightful. The restaurant was right on the grand canal and the service was amazing. Finally, they scheduled our tour of the glass blowing factory in Murano and again assisted us with a complimentary water taxi. However, after the glass blowing demonstration it got a bit awkward because we were taken to a gallery of very expensive blown glass figures which we could not afford and given water bus tickets to go back to the mainland. Apparently there were no more water taxis available for the day. My husband was very turned off by this experience, but we made it back and despite this one small glich, I still thought the hotel was awesome!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PenelopeTsernoglou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Travellers are often advised to stay outside Venice and day-trip in but if you do this you just hit all the crowds when you schlep in at 11 am - much better to stay in situ and get to the front of the queues early. A Venice hotel also means you have somewhere to go back for a shower and a siesta when it all gets too much in the middle of the day. Cue the Palazzo Sant'Angelo in a central location: this is a lovely enough hotel - very nicely done on the inside, good air con in reception, adequate in the rooms. Our room was not big but with good decor and a comfy bed. There are lots of nice touches: we had a bottle of prosecco waiting for us when we arrived.
A stay here is good value given that Venice has some of the most expensive hotels in Europe. Once here, prices may seem steep - 12 euros for a gin and tonic (and that was 'happy hour!) but not unreasonable given the bonkers economics of Venice. There was also a decent breakfast included in the price of our room. It might have been nice if there were a restaurant but you can take a complimentary water taxi to an associated hotel for a posh meal.
Two things make the Sant'Angelo really stand out - the friendly and very competent staff, for whom no question was too hard, making you feel like you were in a five star hotel. The other major bonus was the location. A lot has been said about this so I will be brief. The Sant'Angelo is on the Grand Canal, on the outskirts of the major tourist area: close enough to walk to the Rialto and St Mark's but also away from the crowds. Not only is it right next to a vaperetto stop but this stop doubles as a stop for the Alilaguna orange (arancia) line, which means you can take an Alilaguna water bus straight from the airport. This is an excellent compromise if you want to approach Venice by sea but without the exorbitant cost of a water taxi.

Room Tip: Try booking direct with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Hotel L'Orologio
#14 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Palazzo Stern
Hotel Palazzo Stern
#18 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo

Property: Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
Address: San Marco 3878/b, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Venice
#14 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#19 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#48 Family Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): $332 - $1,258
Hotel Class:4 star — Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE SERENEST OF SIGHS Elegant and aristocratic, the SINA Palazzo Sant'Angelo sits like a modern Atlantis on the Grand Canal between the Rialto Bridge and St. Mark's Square. A patrician residence with a luxurious ambience in which to delight in the unique, vibrant, enchanted and romantic experience that is Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sant`Angelo Sul Canal Grande Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing