We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, cheerful, 5* Location, Overall satisfied!”
Review of Archie's House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Archie's House
Ranked #189 of 233 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Reviewed 15 December 2010

I had my doubts from reading the reviews of this hostel on tripadvisor, as I was on a tight "student" budget I decided a bed is a bed at the end of the day and being the cheapest accommodation in Venice, I went ahead and booked a three night stay 11th Dec 2010-14th Dec 2010.
The location is ideal, directly in walking distance from all major tourist hot spots in Venice, free internet and wifi, a nice welcome as I entered the hostel,.
I first taught when reading the directions from the bus terminal in Venice that it was going to be a tricky one and as I dont speak a word of Italian I found it quite worrying but it was very easy to find.
Besides all the positives there was two downsides to the hostel, I was a little cold at night but I helped myself to an extra blanket which was available in the room free of charge the other downside was that I didnt come across any other backpackers but I suppose it was my luck that was out and not the hostel itself.
Overall I would 100% recommend this hostel to everybody, I didnt experience any bed bugs or any problems with the hostel that others seemed to have experience and I am a picky one!
I hope you all enjoy your stay at Archie's Rooms!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuxuriousTraveler004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

If you are a budget traveler and you don't want to spend to much money then Archie's House is a relatively cheap and easy alternative, the hostel is near the train station, and very easy to get to. But .....the rooms a a bit dirty the place smells a bit of old furniture and age old dust and the kitchen it's all that clean.... but if you don't mind that then it's a goon place to stay for not much money and you can get around Venice in no time also the staff is realy friendly and helpful.

O..... one more thing, i didn't check the blankets for bugs because we didn't use any being it was summer but make shoure you do that before you go to bed ..... so the bed bugs don't bite :P

have a great time in Venice

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vladsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

i was just about to go to sleep when i felt my skin tingling here and there....thought i was just paranoid, but turned the lights on and there were bed bugs EVERYWHERE. the staff were good enough to give me another room, but i'm almost too paranoid to sleep right now.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
1  Thank sowahpah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2005

Yes this was five years ago...but as I'm having a look over some places that I have stayed I remember the night I slept outside in Venice because of whatever was living in my bed at Archies. Woke up with huge red welts all over my body and face-not the best thing to experience on holiday. Other than that it was a basic backpacker dive place-but oh so convinient-shame about the creatures...

Stayed: September 2000
4  Thank sjdavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: kmer bij het trappenhuis kan wat geluid geven van de bel of van de mensen op straat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2017-Sarah-2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#156 of 388 in Venice
2,192 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 388 in Venice
1,952 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 388 in Venice
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#87 of 388 in Venice
1,121 reviews
Hotel Laguna Residence
#293 of 482 in Venice
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archie's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archie's House

Address: Cannaregio 1814/B | Rio Terrà San Leonardo, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 233 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Archie`s House Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing