We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect place to stay in Venice”
Review of Hotel Galleria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Galleria
Ranked #179 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Mistley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay in Venice”
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This was our second stay at Hotel Galleria. We had such a warm welcome from Stefano and Luciano who looked after us beautifully during our visit.The perfect location right on the Grand Canal with wonderful views from our room. We happily watched Venice come to life every morning while having a delicious breakfast in our room. The hotel is situated right next to the Academia vaporetto stop which makes it ideal for transport. It is also well situated for many good restaurants in walking distance in the Dorsoduro district. We will certainly be back, as well as recommending it to friends going to Venice. Really good value. Thank you Stefano and Luciano for such a special place to stay.

Room Tip: It is worth paying extra to have a Grand Canal view room. Also the rooms on the canal are quieter th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beedibells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    147
    41
    17
    7
See reviews for
60
264
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

A 2 star on the grand canal?!! Yes, and clean, friendly, good breakfast and funky in a good way!!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We've stayed at the Hotel Galleria 5 times now, it's so wonderful! Can't beat the price for a room on the Grand Canal, would cost 2 or 3 times as much anywhere else. They also throw in a free trip in a water taxi to Murano, very special. The hosts, Stefano & Luciano, and all the employe's are great. They've helped us with all our questions on what to see and do and how to get around. Really got spoiled by them bringing us our breakfast on a silver tray in our room at whatever time we wanted (wish I could get that at home). The rooms with views on the Grand Canal, and even the rooms looking out at the Accademia Bridge, are fabulous. Room #10 is the biggest and grandest with beautiful antique furniture, venetian wallpaper, and a painted ceiling. I finally realized why we go to Venice so often, staying at this hotel is what makes it so special and why we keep going back. Great location, easy access to everywhere. The Vaporetto stops right in front of the hotel and the Alilaguna boat from the airport stops a few minutes away. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Room #10 is the biggest and the grandest. Room #8 has a table and chairs in front of an arched wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Great location, nice staff. Stayed here Oct 10. Had big room 10 for a couple of nights which was nice, but then had to move next door to room 9 for a few nights.
Room 9 was so small you can touch both walls with arms outstretched. We chose to leave at that point and find alternative hotel. Breakfast served to room at prearranged time can be inconvenient if you want to sleep in a bit. Hotel is OK If you really need to be right next to the Academia Bridge and if you can get one of the 2 large rooms 8 or 10, otherwise there are better options.

Room Tip: Room 8 or 10.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slam60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I tried to book this hotel on July 7, 2011 for a stay in early October. However, while I got immediate response to confirm the availability of the room, once I sent out my credit card information to confirm the booking, I have never heard back from them again, even though I tried to contact them a couple of times.

Naturally, I thought my email didn't get through to them and booked another hotel. However, when I came back from my Italian trip, I found I was charged for the hotel room which was never confirmed!

I tried to contact the hotel first, and again no response whatsoever. Then I had to file a dispute via my credit card company. However, they magically showed to the credit card company a confirmation email that I have never received! Now I have to write another lengthy letter to dispute the charge.

I would not recommend this place to anyone! I have done a lot of traveling over the years. This place is probably my worst nightmare.

Room Tip: Don't book this place if you don't want to go through the same nightmare!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yyhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galleria, Owner at Hotel Galleria, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Madam,sir,
we don't know who you are and as always with these weird reviews we are very disappointed because we can't replay.
We don't know who you are and so cannot write any sort of clarification.

You haven't tried to get in touch with us, for sure in your country you use telephones, and magically (in this case it's appropriate) this review shows up on December 24th like a funny present..
You gave to the hotel 1 star for Value, Sleep Quality, Rooms, Cleanliness, Service, how is it possible?
This review clearly shows it's weakness and unfortunately does a big harm to the hotel which doesn't deserve that.

Declaring that we "magically" showed a mail to the card company means that we showed something fake in order to steal your money.
Well, think twice before writing, we are not here to be offended by whomever.
Luckily we don't run our company to steal a little night to you and we have good lawyers to defend our honour.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#176 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#152 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Belle Arti
Hotel Belle Arti
#227 of 385 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel American Dinesen
Hotel American Dinesen
#33 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,527 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#14 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#76 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galleria

Property: Hotel Galleria
Address: Dorsoduro 878 / A | Accademia Bridge, 30132 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
#109 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#136 Family Hotel in Venice
Price range (per night): $182 - $594
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Galleria 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number of rooms: 10. This is a small hotel, the only 1 star right on the Grand Canal. Here you'll find a place with charm in the heart of Venice. We'll do our best to make your stay a pleasant one in a clean and welcoming Venetian house. This is the cheapest hotel on the Grand Canal, the perfect location for leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Galleria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galleria Hotel Venice
Hotel Galleria Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing