We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location ...Poor customer service”
Review of Hotel Flora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Flora
Ranked #49 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good points: Good location and good email communication before reservation.
Bad points: The two middle aged men we encountered on the first day were unhelpful, rude and almost monosyllabic. We asked about transportation to the airport and they were pushing for us to take the water taxi (at 150 euros) and did not mention there are water buses which leave from the same point at 15 euros each. We have to add the older gentleman we encountered the next day was far more helpful. Would not visit this place again. Note: rooms are very small.

Room Tip: Don't choose these rooms if you have three people sharing a room. You have to step over each oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shaz754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 1,302 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed the night at Hotel Flora while spending a couple of days in Venice. For the price and furnishings, this place should definitely be a top choice if you need somewhere well-located for high end shopping in Venice. The hotel is lovely and was such a welcome stop after a day of exploring in the cold of Venice in winter. Everything is clean, warm, and cozy inside, and the staff are very helpful even if you speak little Italian. Breakfast is just enough, with a variety of pastries, fruits, and juices as well as eggs, sausage, and bacon. The cappuccino is delicious and staff are attentive at ensuring everything is kept clean and refilled. Our room was quite small but had everything necessary inside. The size only added to the charm of the traditional space for us, but it may bother a couple that isn't romantically involved.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank WhitTuck803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2017

I first discovered the Hotel Flora online through Trip Advisor last year and booked a single room for two nights in early June. Of course, online reviews at different sites are excellent, and I liked the look of the hotel instantly in photos: beautiful, cozy, quiet. I traveled alone to Venice last summer for pleasure, as I did just two weeks ago for work, and I was not disappointed in my decision to stay at the Hotel Flora: indeed, I knew I would be returning to Venice in the fall, and there was no question in my mind that I would choose the Hotel Flora again.

Last summer I was treated with thoughtfulness, kindness, courtesy, and unfailing patience, all at the height of the tourist season when demands upon hotel staff are especially great, and though I was there for only two nights, I was made to feel at home. These are some of the signs of an excellent hotel and staff.

In my most recent stay two weeks ago, I was treated just as professionally, but perhaps because I was able to stay a little longer this time and have some informal conversations with Giovanni and Vinicio in the course of my days there, I felt even more fortunate. They’re considerate and interesting people. I’m lucky to have visited Venice a number of times in the past 30 years, but I do not speak Italian (to my shame) and I am always a tourist. Giovanni was kind enough to direct me to a special shop (La Fenice) when I admired a leather book; Vinicio quickly figured out that I was partial to Negroni cocktails and greeted me after long days at a conference or of other work with the offer of a much-appreciated drink. Occasionally I’d work in the morning or afternoon at the hotel in the garden or the breakfast room, and people kept an eyeout for me very pleasantly and unobtrusively.

And so I was genuinely sad to leave Venice, to leave the Hotel Flora, and to say goodbye to people who had made my stay so pleasant. It’s a special place, and Giovanni and Vinicio seem like remarkable people, in addition to being extremely professional and good at their jobs. I can’t thank them adequately or extend enough good wishes to them and their families for the future.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonMcKee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Eighteen of us stayed at Hotel Flora and were really well looked after. Comfy rooms, excellent breakfasts, very helpful hosts in a prime location. Nothing was too much trouble. We will come again for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms traditional, warm, comfortable with good bathrooms.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DavidHicksBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

This was our second enjoyable stay at this establishment. In the perfect location!, everything is accessible from this location. We took our private water taxi in & a very short walk & you arrive. What makes this the perfect stay is all the special touches, the crisp white bedding & comfy duvet, the well appointed bathroom, heated towel rack, the thoughtful and homemade breakfast every morning, the adorable bar tucked away in the lobby to grab crisp cold glasses of wine at the end of our days. The staff are great, friendly and accessible. We returned late one evening after a gala we attended to a locked door & we barely had to wait before a staff member appeared to usher us in. The Italian decor, the huge chandelier over the bed, handing in you key when you leave. I adore it. If you don't want a real Italian experience then go stay at some chain hotel. I hope to return for a third visit.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#26 of 385 in Venice
1,439 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,303 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#13 of 385 in Venice
1,057 reviews
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 385 in Venice
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Address: Sestiere San Marco 2283/a, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Venice
#52 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: $143 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Flora 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Flora, an intimate and charming hotel with a delightful garden.The Hotel is situated in the heart of Venice, behind Saint Mark's Square, on Calle XXII Marzo, one of the city's most elegant streets, between Campo Santa Maria del Giglio and Campo San Moisè.Hotel Flora's 40 rooms, intimate and light-filled, have been furnished with care by the Romanelli family, each in a different style. Period furniture from the end of the 19th century, or in 16th-century Venetian style create a discreet elegance, enriched by damask tapestries and golden cornices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flora Hotel Venice
Hotel Flora Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing