We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hand Made Masks”
Review of Atelier Marega

Atelier Marega
Ranked #10 of 303 Shopping in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In the heart of Venice, Atelier Marega means a wide range of masks: from the typical Venetian ones, the most fanciful and colored ones, to huge creations used also for smart fittings and furnishings. Mask are made of "paper-mache" according to the ancient traditions dated back to the beginning of the XIVth century. Morever, you can rent or buy theatrical and historical costumes, accessories, three-cornered hats, mantels, wigs, shoes and tuxedos. We are open every day from 10 AM to 7.30 PM. We have four shops in Venice: -Calle Larga San Polo 2940/b, Venezia (vicino alla chiesa dei Frari) -Fondamenta dell'Osmarin 4976/a -Fondamenta dell'Osmarin 4968
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hand Made Masks”
Reviewed 28 February 2017

This is a wonderful shop for higher end mask collectors. All the masks are hand made, painted and decorated. The owners are very helpful in showing their wares. This is not a very big store but if you want a quality mask, this is the best place to go. They offered us a 10% discount when we paid cash as opposed to CC. The quality is magnificent.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Dawsontodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    12
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical Place in a Magical City”
Reviewed 22 February 2017

This is a thriving shop with unique, beautiful, authentic Venetian costumes and accessories. You will find lots of things made in China and finished in Venice....But not at this shop....it is all made in Venice and is all beautiful. Will return for Carnival next year!

Visited February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank JRod4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed 17 February 2017

It was amazing. I am not a normally proportioned person and fitting me is usually a challenge. They were able to fit me into an attention grabbing authentic costume that made my Venice experience unforgettable! I felt like a celebrity with tourists taking pictures of me in my costume.

Visited February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful shop”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Must see in Venice, eye catching store.You can buy beautiful souvenirs from this shop and staffs are great.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Phiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Can I give 10 stars?”
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Right between St. Mary of the Friars and Scuolo Grande di San Rocco, there is both the workshop where they sell masks, and around the corner there is just a store. I went to both but the mask I wanted I found in the store, not the workshop. The woman that worked there was lovely and as we still had nearly two weeks before returning to the US she told us that she would send our mask anytime we wanted. She sent it on the day we requested, it didn't cost much to ship, and it came in just a few days. It was also packed nicely. You have to get a mask when in Venice, and you need to get a real one. Most are fake. This place is the real deal, and the fact that you can so easily have it shipped home is a Godsend.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank doke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atelier Marega also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Atelier Marega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing