We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$292
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
AU$253
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,891)
Filter reviews
1,891 results
Traveller rating
902
749
173
39
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
902
749
173
39
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews st marks square great location san marco square clock tower free trip to murano stay there again murano glass factory water bus visiting venice breakfast was excellent the air conditioning pastries few minutes walk central location alley calle rialto
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
266 - 271 of 1,891 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We love this hotel and stay here everytime we visit. This time a little knock to our strong loyalty to the hotel. I do not know if the hotel knows if we are returning guests, probably due to booking through different means. We arrived to the normal pleasant greeting and mentioned we had stayed here last year. We were offered to see if our room from last year was free, but we said no as normally we get a good room.
We were in room 406, and I think this would be one of the rooms our American cousins would say is small, and I have to agree. I do understand it is due to the conversion of an old property, so I understand the sizes of rooms will vary, room 402 that we stayed in before is bigger, but this was probably our worst room, but hey-ho. Room 406 has a view of property roofs, indeed one home opposite looks into your room, but from some distance. Air-con a little issue, could not get it balanced between the three settings.
The reception staff are absolutely lovely, never ignored and always helpful and made to feel valued. Oddly you do have to ask for the free safe key, that has height, not too much depth.
Breakfast has changed a little, coffee and juice are from machines, but cooked food, cereals, toast, pastries, fruit etc all available. The hotel now does free tea and coffee between 16:00 and 18:00. Machine coffee, hot water, juices, cakes and machine made ice-cream. It is not top restaurant stuff, but a nice gesture that we have seen before in Washington.
The closeness to St Marks Square is a USP of this hotel, and the Rialto is also not far. We got up at 3:00am to go to the Square and see it empty of all tourists. The reception is manned during the night, so you are let out by the receptionist and have to ring a bell to get back in. Superb to see the Square so deserted, great atmosphere.
I still have an allegiance to this hotel, but it may be time to try somewhere else or I may book direct next time to see if we can get a better room.
I highly recommend this hotel for location and staff, but be aware rooms are not to "Vegas" standards as this is a conversion of a very old property!

Room tip: Avoid room 406, small and lacks a view.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPP2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

Dear Guests
thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at the Hotel Montecarlo.
We are very sorry about your disappointment. The staff would have provided a different room right away, if asked.
This would have surely made your experience at the Hotel Montecarlo as good as ever.
We hope we will see you here for the 6th time!
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017

I stayed at Hotel Montecarlo with my sister from August 17-20, 2017. It was overall a good experience. Pros: Great staff. Super helpful, professional, friendly especially Dario who I really enjoyed talking to! They gave us a great restaurant recommendation (Trattoria Alla Scala). Breakfast is included and was good.I suggest a real cappuccino machine though.. Cons: Major issues with the air conditioning in our room throughout our stay but to be fair, the staff was very attentive to addressing it though it wasn't completely fixed while we were there. The room and bathroom was nice and a good size for two people. I suggest theu update their safes which require keys (??). Note that the room keys are HUGE and you will want to drop them off each time you leave. Great location once you find it. And its not hard to find but use the directions NOT Google Maps (which doesn't work well in Venice). Overall we had a great experience and I would stay at the hotel again.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Baldgirlwilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Guest
thank you for taking time to leave your opinion about your stay at the Hotel Montecarlo.
We hope we have the pleasure in welcoming you back to the hotel soon again.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

I’ve just recently come back from a cruise that started in Venice and stayed at this hotel with my family for a couple of days. The hotel is tucked down a very narrow street but bang in the centre of all the main landmarks. Very convenient. The hotel was very clean and the staff are very helpful. They also threw in a complimentary trip to murano which was a great gesture. I would definitely go to this hotel again.
Make sure you get your restaurant recommendations from the main desk as I got stung ££££ by one nearby (trattoria Casanova see separate review).

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Guest
thank you for taking time to share your opinion about your recent stay at the Hotel Montecarlo.
We are very happy to hear that you loved the location, the staff and the free boat to Murano.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Hotel Montecarlo has the best location and customer service. It is located within walking distance from San Marco Basilica, Doge's Palace, all possible restaurants and souvenir shops. The staff is amazing, very polite, and ready to help with any information you need. They offer complimentary afternoon tea/coffee, and complimentary water shuttle to Murano. The room we had was spacious, very clean, and the wifi was working perfect. I am very happy we chose hotel Montecarlo for our stay in Venice, and I am sure we'll be back soon.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank anniemarie39
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking time to write about your recent stay at our hotel. It is so nice to see that you had a great experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

This hotel is located just off the main piazza , very short walk from the water taxi /water bus ( especially great if you are coming with some luggage as we have seen travelers struggaling to get into their hotels over many breadges dragging up and over large suitcases ) The room we stay in was fab -decorated in renessance style , with good quality linen and towels , excellent water preassure from the showers , nice soap , shampoo , hair conditioner and body lotion . Great choice at the breakfast plus champagne there should you want to start your morning right . We are stayed only two night but truly enjoyed it

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30tansh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Stefano M, Direttore at Hotel Montecarlo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Guest
thank you for taking time to leave your opinionabout your stay at the Hotel Montecarlo.
We are very happy to hear that you liked our location, the room decor and our breakfast as well.
We hope you come and visit us again
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews