We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,430)
Filter reviews
1,430 results
Traveller rating
712
513
131
48
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
712
513
131
48
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews san stae grand canal breakfast room rialto bridge water taxi no lift landing stage third floor single room minute walk watching the boats balcony overlooking the canal lovely hotel small balcony top floor google maps train station
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 1,430 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2019

We were glad we booked here. This hotel is right on the canal and very central to all parts of Venice. It used to be a villa for a local artist many centuries ago and the long reception area welcomes you in with artwork and two very beautiful Murano chandeliers. The rooms are classic. They are comfortable but not overly spacious...but that ok. This is Venice and everything is at a premium. The breakfast in the morning is wonderful and there are many choices of hot and cold. Have a drink on the balcony...the veranda....and watch the world go by. You'll enjoy yourself.

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank 181lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni s, Direttore at Hotel San Cassiano - Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favaretto, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2019

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are glad that you have enjoyed the stay and we hope to see you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2019

We arrived by boat...by far the best way! Checked in. The rooms were on the second floor. Nice. Very convenient to walking to Rialto or San Marco. Once you travel by foot a bit...you get the hang of it as to which turns to make. The front reception is lovely with large chandeliers and old wood beams. The tapestry and art is very nice as well. Breakfast is quite nice. A very good variety and filling for a day of adventure. I thought a good value for Venice.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lori F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni s, Direttore at Hotel San Cassiano - Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favaretto, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2019

Thank you very much for your review! We hope to see you again in the next future!

Reception
Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2019

Concerning the room, it was on the bottom floor. At night lights were turned off in that area. It was dark & I had to feel my way to the desk -the first night- in the middle of the night to speak with someone about the RM as no one would answ. the phone at the desk. No one was even at the desk. Somehow I got the staff’s attention that I needed help & just could not adjust to that room. They said my agency booked it & said that they were full & the room could not be changed in that hotel & the receptionist called other hotels (he said) that night & said that no one in the city that he called had a room that we could move to. So I missed sleep the first night & therefore had to sleep the next day & basically lost the next day in Venice due to the initial inappropriate room. Just know that if there had been an a high tide which they are having more often that our room would have flooded as we were near the front door which was just off the bay & the bay was already high almost to the level of the porch which was only feet from our room. Request were met with initial demeaning or rude responses. We were told to open the windows as it was not the season to turn on the air. The receptionist brought me a can of mosquito repellent & in order for us to have air at night we had to turn off all of the lights in the room & open the wooden shutters & windows which gave limited privacy from the next building.

Date of stay: May 2019
3  Thank Clarissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni s, Direttore at Hotel San Cassiano - Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favaretto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2019

Dear Clarissa,

We apologies for the inconvenience.

However, for this kind of problems as claustrophobia you had to advice the travel agency first, so we could managed the situation.
It was very difficult for our staff, during 2:30 a.m., to solve the problem because of the time (A lot of hotels in Venice have no vacancy during the late nights). You had to advice at the Desk when you have seen the room (If one has a claustrophobia and a room is unconfortable and soffocating for him/her, normally he/she go immediately at the Reception in order to change it, as we done in the past with other costumers with this kind of problem).
For the air condition, normally we put on when there is hot temperatures from outside (not in the case of your stay, with a maximum of 18 C°), so the window was the only option.

Have a nice day and we reccommend you to note your claustrophobia next time when you will make a reservation.

Kind Regards,

San Cassiano Ca' Favretto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2019 via mobile

Stayed here with my 2 daughters for 2 nights a week ago. Hotel is lovely. Very traditional typical Venetian style. Room was good size for 3 of us with excellent shower! We loved the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal & had drinks out there. Small intimate bar with very friendly efficient staff. Breakfast was really good with various choices. Location is ideal. Not too far away from anything & restaurants in local vicinity. Enjoyed our stay & would recommend

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank egremont
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni s, Direttore at Hotel San Cassiano - Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favaretto, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2019

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are glad that you enjoyed the stay with us. We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2019

We really enjoyed our stay at this boutique hotel located on the Grand Canal. When we arrived, our room was not quiet ready so they invited to have a drink in the bar on the house. Great start! 10 min late we were escorted to a room overlooking the canal on the 3rd floor. As others have mentioned, the hotel has no elevator so the 3rd floor means stairs. The staff assisted us with our luggage and we never found the stairs be a problem. Our room has huge with 2 windows opening to an amazing view.

The location was ideal with an easy walk to all the main tourist spots. Venice can be tricky to navigate, especially at night, but the staff was great with directions and recommendations. I would not hesitate to stay here again when we return.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank dalsti
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giovanni s, Direttore at Hotel San Cassiano - Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favaretto, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2019

Thank you very much for your excellent review! We hope to see you here again in the future!

Reception
Giacomo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews