We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A splendid base from which to enjoy Venice”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
MRLAWREN
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A splendid base from which to enjoy Venice”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Lion’s House apartment #4 had all the important stuff we wanted for a week - in June - in Venice. The location is central yet the appt is quiet - the air conditioning, the kitchen, the bathrooms, the Wi-Fi and the TV all worked perfectly well – the décor is simple and pleasing – the private entrance off an elevator did away with the need to drag one’s bags and bodies up four flights of stairs –and being on the top floor allowed access to a private outside rooftop deck, [called an altana], that came with a picnic table.
We found it especially pleasant to be able to sit outside on the roof-deck after a full day – and to listen to the bells and to relax. [Space seems to be at a premium in Venice so balconies all look tiny when they exist at all, and central atria usually have to be shared].
We were glad we had not asked anybody to share the appt with us as the second bathroom does not have a shower and the second bedroom, which is up several stairs in a sloping-roofed, bathroom-less attic, seemed more suitable for children than older adults.
There were two super-mercatos, a decent bakery, a good wine shop and innumerable places to eat [almost all Italian] within a two or three minute walk. [By the way if you don’t like coffee made in an heat-it-on-the-stovetop-three-parts-screwed-together-Italian-coffee-percolator then bring a Bodum-type coffee press instead.]
The management made themselves readily available and were helpful but not obtrusive. The price seemed right in comparison to the cost of equivalent level hotels in that area of Venice. Venice itself was amazing & brilliant as always - and the Lion’s #4 apartment provided a splendid base from which to enjoy this extraordinary city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: see review
Liked least: the coffe percolator
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna641
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fanciest place in Venice!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in this apartment. Great location to discover all parts of Venice. We realized that the roof terass is great place to have some refreshments before dinner after a long touristy morning and afternoon. Great shopping and ice cream places just outside.

Some constructive critisism would be that the "extra" sofa bed (for additional 200 euro) was really uncomfortable and the toilet paper could just as well be included (not only for the first day), considering the pricing rage of this space.

Also, we were very lucky that we booked 4 nights with the airline, otherwise we would not be able to stay at this gorgeous apartment with elevator going directly into the apartment, due to 4 nights requirement.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singen Germany
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
USA
Reviewed 22 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enzian
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Perfect Place for Experiencing Venice”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We are about halfway through our one-month stay in this apartment (Lion's House #4) and I want to write my review now in case anyone is looking for the perfect Venetian apartment for a stay of 3 nights or more. So long as you do not require a canal view, this apartment is perfect. We chose it for the Altana ( roof terrace) which was more important than a canal,view. We enjoy going up there each evening to hear the 6 pm bells ring all around. You can see the campanile as well as many other bell towers all,around.

What makes this place so great? It is spacious (2 bedrooms) and modern (2010, I believe). The decor is tasteful. The kitchen is well-furnished and all the appliances work well. The bathroom with tiled shower is great. The beds are comfortable and the linens very nice quality. All in all it is a very comfortable place.

And then there is the location. It is about as central as you can get. The Campo San Lio is right below our windows. Yesterday there was a string quartet in the square playing Vivaldi. All we had to do is open the windows to enjoy the music. It is a five- minute walk to the Rialto Bridge and ten to San Marco. If you want to avoid the crowds, head over to Campo Santa Maria Formosa and from there one can walk to Arsenale area or the Giardini without going through San Marco. Going the other way,it is ten minutes to .Strada Nuova for a stroll and shopping on a wide street if you prefer that over the narrow calle. And there are some great shops and restaurants right in the neighborhood, including the highly-rated Al Testiere.

All in all it is a fantastic apartment that we highly recommend. The one caveat is that it may not be suitable for families with small children due to the open staircase to the loft area. Also, the stairs to the apartment are quite steep, but the elevator brings you directly into the apartment ( private just for you, as it only reaches the 4th floor with a key). So if you don't care for stairs you can use the elevator.

Also, the wifi is excellent--- no issues at all. It is fast enough I can enjoy FaceTime with our grandchildren.

And now it is time to go out and enjoy the Altana.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfort, and decor.
Liked least: No comment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing