We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a roof over our head”
Review of Hotel al Malcanton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel al Malcanton
Ranked #237 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 16 October 2016

If you could sell smiles here you could be rich !!!
The room was clean and very large the bed required a new mattress one could feel the
Springs inside and was two mattresses pushed together. The younger waitress huffed and puffed when asked for an extra coffee !!! The breakfast was good , place was clean and tidy , but that bed omg , ' The green room ' !!!!
I travel the world this is the first time l have ever left such comments , sorry !!!

Room Tip: Ask if mattresses are new
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TERRENCE D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I've heard many dislike this place, I thought it was great. We only stayed a night as we were travelling to Croatia, but the manager was very kind. Great place to stay if you need somewhere close to the coach station.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Nadine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

I would have given this hotel a 3.5 rating as it's probably above 'average' but not quite 'very good'.

We chose it purely due to the location - half way between the bus station and the San Basilio cruise terminal - as we just wanted a place to lay our heads for one night. Venice hotels are notoriously pricey and this one was actually pretty cheap for Venice

It is, as other people have pointed out, more of a B&B than a hotel. However, the man who checked us in was perfectly friendly and - unlike mentioned on a previous review - stepped outside to smoke!!

The room was pretty basic and small but perfectly adequate for our needs. We had a big, nicely decorated bathroom and the mini bar was stocked with a good selection at very reasonable prices. The wifi signal was strong. I would disagree with some complaints about breakfast which was more was more than adequate for our needs with the usual choices of cold meats/cheeses, warm pastries/croissants, yogurt, fruit and juices - and delicious cappuccino. I'm really not sure what some people expect of breakfast in a budget hotel. The location of the hotel is very quiet.

I would stay here again but only if I needed the same location and was only staying one night as the price makes it good value for Venice. However, for someone looking for a 'proper hotel' experience, and staying more than one night it may be a bit limited.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nibbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my husband, it was booked last minute and was about the cheapest hotel we could find. The rooms are decorated in a traditional Venitian style. The breakfast is nothing special, but as it is a relatively cheap hotel (compared to the going rate) you can just leave it and there are loads of places locally that do amazing coffee and pastries.
It only took us about 5 minutes to walk to the bus station. And it was about a 20-30 minute walk to San Marcos square.
I would recommend this hotel but expect to get what you pay for.... A good base for a holiday but nothing too special!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

This place should definitely not be called a hotel . At best it's a b&b! Dated (but clean) rooms , tiny lobby/reception/ breakfast area and very unfriendly and unhelpful staff . No hospitality skills what so ever . In fact , never even greeted us with a hello . Just asked for passport and slapped keys on counter . Hotel is classified as non smoking but owner sits at entrance smoking non stop so the entire ground floor smells of smoke , including the room , which is on the ground floor ( one of a grand total of 7 rooms ) . The mini bar fridge did not work and smelled of old rotting fish - when reported we were told it would be fixed , but never happened , the same for the broken toilet seat . Overall , not a pleasant experience at all !!! Would not recommend this place unless you just looking for a bed and place to park your belongings !

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank Ruth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Locanda Gaffaro
Hotel Locanda Gaffaro
#233 of 388 in Venice
229 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Falier
Hotel Falier
#226 of 388 in Venice
395 reviews
Hotel Canal
#239 of 388 in Venice
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ca' Fontanea
Ca' Fontanea
#194 of 388 in Venice
307 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#212 of 388 in Venice
259 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#166 of 388 in Venice
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel al Malcanton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel al Malcanton

Address: Corte Surian Dorsoduro 3587, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: $107 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel al Malcanton 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Al Malcanton, a brand new hotel, has been attentively designed with large, comfortable rooms, decorated in the typical style of 18th-century Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel al Malcanton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing