We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,421)
Filter reviews
2,421 results
Traveller rating
2,045
328
39
8
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,045
328
39
8
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station water taxi small deck prestige room beautiful hotel four poster bed the hotel staff watch the boats across the bridge main building hotel antiche figure pastries santa croce venetian style sister hotel murano glass factory an upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
272 - 277 of 2,421 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Charming hotel with a great view of grand canal. Location is great- on the “other”side of the canal, so it is far less touristy. But a very short walk (a little longer if you’re schlepping heavy luggage over the bridges) to the train station and the busier side of the city. Rooms are well appointed and clean. If you can get a room overlooking canal, you won’t be disappointed. Waking up and looking at the canal and the boats traversing it is something special. There’s a very small deck on the water where you can sit and have some wine and snacks and watch the canal traffic, Nice breakfast with great service. Staff was helpful throughout.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

We booked to stay here for 4 nights before we get aboard a Windstar cruise. We are almost sad to be leaving soon for the ship as we have had a great stay here at the Hotel Canal Grande. Our greeting was wonderful and much needed, after 30 hours of travel.
Our room (three of us in the Canal Grande room) is very nice. Spotlessly clean and well appointed. Unlike so many hotel rooms, the lighting is excellent. Beds are very comfy.
Breakfast was actually quite amazing. Best assortment of pastries and other baked goods you could ever desire. A very nice selection of meats and cheeses, and eggs a few ways too. With coffee(s), juices and milk included, we were not hungry until late in the afternoon.
The location is very good. We have walked to the Rialto bridge and market, to St. Mark’s, and all around the local area.
But the best part of staying here is the staff. We get greeted by name every time we enter the hotel. The have helped us with tours and reservations. Their suggestions have all been spot on. They are very friendly, even though they are working non-stop (not kidding, they work very hard). All deserve credit, but Anka gets special notice. She has gone way above what I would consider good service, to great service.
We got a good price here, but their advertised prices are fully justified and still a very good value.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Les J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Great location - while on Grand Canal, off a quiet square in a great neighbourhood allowing you to enjoy Venice without the crazy crowds. Exceptional help and atmosphere from staff who absolutely made our trip to Venice. We did everything they told us to do and we had a brilliant brilliant time.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

very nice rooms in victorian design, friendly staff, nice place to stay in Venice. at a very accessible spot, close to bus stop and good resturants.
the breakfast was small but yet delicious.
the most eye catching part was how friendly the staff were.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank gh_shhabakhsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Whilst we were very happy with the location of this hotel and the staff were amazing
we were a bit disappointed in our room. We were given the Marco Polo room -up
1 flight of stairs and to be fair, the smallest room we have stayed in. The bed was
comfortable - the shower was great but the size of the room made it nearly impossible for 2 adults to move. We barely had space for 2 suitcases. The staff made up for the small rooms - If I stayed again, I would request a much larger room. Plus we were at the back of the hotel...No view. guess you pay more for that - no one told us

Room Tip: Try and book a room over looking the canal but you will pay extra
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellterr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews