We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Venice”
Review of Hotel Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canal
Ranked #248 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place in Venice”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The staff was very helpful and friendly, the room was big and clean, the location was great! We would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gelatofamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    420
    371
    157
    126
See reviews for
301
646
44
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Enjoy staying in this hotel, though it's a pity, there is no lift here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonhibj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Hotel is very conveniently located abt 5 minutes walk from the square where you are entering Venice either by bus or car. However you need to be aware that on the way to the hotel you have to cross two bridges with stairs (all bridges we crossed in Venice have stairs) and there are no ramps/slipways for trolleys. Rooms in the hotel are in average condition, but keep in mind that the hotel is XV century building. No restaurant for dinner - many others in close vicinity, and the reception staff advised us some good ones. Breakfast continental, but with addition of ham and spread cheese. Perfect view on Canal Grande from some rooms, but the view itself not very picturesque.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I and my mum have stayed at Hotel Canal for 4 nighs.

This city trip was a present from me to my mum and I put a lot of effort to prepare a trip that was perfect for her. My mum is 70 years old and I was worried because before booking I had been reading some of the negative comments and I was a bit worried and now I can say that most of the negative comments were too unfair.

- Bad comments about mosquitoes, we didn't have any mosquitoes.

- Bad comments about smell, we didn't notice any bad smell. We had a double room with views to the Grand Canal and the smell was amazing, you smell the fresh air of the sea, it is very very nice, the smell is like when you are in a seaport, I don't know if it smells bad other moments during the year but in our case the weather and the feeling of breathing fresh air was very nice.

- Bad comments about the cleaners not changing the towels, also very unfair, hotel instructions indicate that if you need clean towels you just leave the used ones on the floor in the morning and they put clean ones in place.

- Bad comments about the creepy looking of the hotel, also unfair, you can find 5 star hotels in Venice with a front entrance or a building that also looks creepy, this is the way Venice is, it is not just this hotel, 95% of the buildings are like this in Venice. Inside the hotel the walls are made of tapestry and it is very beautiful, it has the Murano stuff everywhere, even our room had a beautiful and expensive Murano lamp hanging from the ceiling.

- Bad comments about the staff not being friendly: this wasn't true at least in our case, the 2 girls were lovely, very friendly and caring at all times.

Great Hotel, great location, great value for money, our city trip was a present to my mum and this hotel helped me to make the perfect trip because this Hotel is not very expensive and that allowed us to go to the Opera and pay the entry in many places of interest. We also ate in great places and the whole trip was not very expensive at the end.

I would definitely return to Hotel Canal the next time and I recommend it.

Room Tip: The rooms with views to the Canal are great. Every morning my mum woke up and opened the windows com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jicaralt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Airone
Hotel Airone
#346 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#182 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Continental Venice
Hotel Continental Venice
#162 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#98 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal

Property: Hotel Canal
Address: Santa Croce 553, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price range (per night): $156 - $412
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing