We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a gem”

Review of Mantegna

super bright living room with canal view of the Mantegna apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
super bright living room with canal view of the Mantegna apartment
the view from the living room and bedrooms is truly Venetian living room with double pull-out bed and canal view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
super bright living room with canal view of the Mantegna apartment
the view from the living room and bedrooms is truly Venetian
living room with double pull-out bed and canal view
the table is extensible, perfectly suitable for up to 6 people
full optionals kitchen, spacious and well equipped
full optionals kitchen, spacious and well equipped
full optionals kitchen, spacious and well equipped
spacious entrance room with wardrobe space
corridor to the bedrooms
bright and spacious double bedroom with canal view
spacious bathroom with shower
spacious bathroom with shower
twin bedroom
twin bedroom
spacious bathroom with bathtub and washing machine
spacious bathroom with bathtub and washing machine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Veneto

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Soybert
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Comfortable, except for the biting spiders.”
Reviewed 17 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My parents along with my husband and I stayed here for 6 nights. It is a small apartment on a canal in a good location. It has a washer, but no dryer, so therefore useless unless you are wearing only fast drying clothes and even then, with the humidity in Venice, don't count on it drying in one night. The heaters were supposed to be on, but did not appear to function. They have heated towel racks, which are de rigueur in most high end properties, but they also did not function. The kitchen was fine, the master bedroom comfortable. You get precisely one bath towel and one hand towel per person. The second bedroom is tiny and spiders had moved in causing my somewhat aged parents much grief - enough that we had to seek medical attention when returning home. There is are two steps to the master bedroom and bathroom, which caused my father to fall. Twice. A simple marker would solve this - we used our luggage tags. The shutters work wonders to block out light and sound. The second bathroom with a bathtub also has a shower which is awkward at best to use. Our friends rented a gorgeous place about 5 minutes walk from our place through Air B&B and it was spectacular and less expensive.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
Hello and thank you for your feedback on the Mantegna property! We are happy to hear you found the apartment comfortable. We are particularly keen on the view onto the quaint canal, the large windows which allow light into the home, and the location as it is nestled in a vibrant and local neighborhood.

We felt it best to mention a few things both to serve as a response to your review and as clarification to future guests. In the future, please feel free to call our representatives so we can help in any way.

In Italy, it is rather common to only have a washing machine. We typically utilize the drying rack and set it up in the sunshine to dry our clothes. It typically doesn't take too long to dry. Actually, it dries faster than you'd probably expect. We do offer apartments which have a dryer. All property descriptions include a list of features included.

Concerning the heaters. Actually, they were not supposed to be on as city regulations prohibit their use after a set date in April. So as you were here in May, they legally had to be turned off. As for the step, we are sorry your father tripped over it twice. We hope he is ok.

We are wondering about your spider mishap the most as we have searched the house and have not found any spiders. However, we have a strong feeling that as we live in a lagoon, it is most likely that small mosquitos were in the house, which is of course not uncommon given our geographical location.

We have many apartments to choose from in a variety of styles, prices, and locations. Perhaps next time you can select an apartment without internal steps, a washer and dryer, and you can come earlier in the year so that you can turn on the heaters! Otherwise, you always have the option of an Air B&B, where you never really know what you'll get.

We hope this helps!

Truly Venice Staff.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
migratory...
toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a gem”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Location, location, location. I cannot think of a better location, or a nicer accommodation. The apartment is located on a smaller canal, with a very pleasing view, and it receives a lot of afternoon sun, which is most welcome in the spring. The location is perfect for anyone who really enjoys food and wine, as the apartment is very closeto lots of very good restaurants, the fruit and veggie barge at San Barnaba, a well-stocked supermarket (look upstairs for very good prepared foods), and excellent tremezzi and cicchetti. The apartment is impeccably clean, very well maintained, and well appointed, and yes you can actually cook meals in the kitchen. We enjoyed just hanging out in the apartment, and it is so close to things that is easy to return during the day for a bit of a rest. Being close to two vaparetto stops is a major plus, and it is only a short walk to Zattere. Although it can be a bit noisy along the canal at night it is very quiet with the shutters closed.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MKN3
Bantry, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A perfect apartment”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A bright airy apartment on a canal on the 1st floor (2nd to Americans) of a three story house in a lively (but not too) neighborhood. Very clean, nicely furnished, good bathrooms and a well equipped kitchen. Hope to stay there again.
This was my 3rd stay with Truly Venice and the second in the Mantegna. The whole process of booking, arranging for a water taxi, meeting the taxi on the quay and being taken to the apartment was each time very smoothly and professionally handled.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the brightness of the apartment
Liked least: No complaints
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl B
Owego, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal Venetian Apartment”
Reviewed 31 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This apartment provided everything that we were looking for in our Venice vacation - great location, comfortable accommodations, and helpful management. The air conditioning was wonderful after a day of HOT July adventures and the beds were extremely comfortable. We also liked that we were off the main tourist location but close enough to easily venture when desired. We, unfortunately, had a medical emergency upon our arrival and needed to stay extra days. The manager of this apartment was responsive and accommodating which helped us immensely. All worked out (health-wise) and our family enjoyed our stay, in large part due to the helpfulness of the management team. We thank you, again, for all of your assistance as we needed. We would definitely recommend this apartment to anyone looking for a fantastic place to stay in Venice.

Travel recommendations: Burano, Lido Beach (crowded but nice experience), gelato right outside your door, and fruit and veggie boat just around the corner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, full kitchen, working ac and internet
Liked least: Washer/dryer (never did figure it out).
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassandra...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, gorgeous apartment - excellent value”
Reviewed 4 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The location was perfect, with great places to eat very close by, many restaurants in child-friendly squares, and the water bus stop only a 5 minute walk away. Being close to the university and school made the apartment feel very local. Travelling with children (aged 11 and 8) we wanted the space and convenience of an apartment, Mantegna provided well decorated large rooms. The area was very safe and the children could cross the little canal to the ice-cream/pizzeria whilst we watched from the window. We have stayed in boutique hotels on prior visits to Venice, however the apartment was the best value. We also discovered the area of Zattere (10 min walk from apartment) a great experience especially for restaurants. We would def. stay in the apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of apartment, location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing