We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
135
197
95
45
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
197
95
45
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small courtyard main sites budget hotel st marks vaporetto stop marco canal directions kettle channels boats bustle tourists
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2017

After an hour of searching, eventually we found the hotel (do not follow the online map provided - it is not correct and we had to ask another hotel for directions). The Reception Manager met us and swiftly informed us that there was a "big problem" with our room and that we could not stay there. He had booked a room for us at their sister hotel, located near the Rialto Bridge, and offered complimentary breakfast as an apology. So we set off again with our suitcases and after another 20 minutes, found the next hotel down a dark alley, near to the bridge. We checked in immediately and were given the key to Room 1 - their "Superior room". Apparently.
The room was awful - dark, cluttered, paint flaking from the ceiling, noisy and not very clean. We had one lamp that did not plug into anywhere and the bathroom was very cramped. We asked to speak to the manager on several occasions, being told they would be there later that day - they never appeared. The breakfast was poor - good job we didn't pay for it as I would have been even more annoyed.
If it wasn't for the fact that my boyfriend proposed the day before we left, I would have much less happy memories of Venice. It certainly won't be the hotel for our honeymoon!
I welcome a response from the hotel directly for what was a truly dreadful stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Room 1
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hayleyWtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Good location, however book with caution. They have the basics right - like a safe place to stay, clean, simple amenities provided. In our time spend here our room roof was leaking, the staff were nowhere to be found, and it just seemed a little unkept. Any longer than 2 nights and we would've left early and found somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try and book a ground floor room.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DanniFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Unfortunately like many others it was extremely hard to find down an alley. A local who lived all his life near the entrance to the alley did not know it existed. The person on reception was very nice and tried to sell trips of Venice but then their attitude changed when we did not want to purchase. In fact they became rude. As it was our 40 th wedding anniversary a room with a view was booked. The window was sealed over and only natural light was via a skylight. The door from the bedroom to the balcony was locked and the key could not be found.

It should have been pointed out on the website that breakfast in bed is available but only if you bring it up yourself. The office/ reception is only open from 8.30 to 18.30 and keys are left on a table. It is very impersonal.

It is not as described.

Room Tip: Make sure to get confirmation of requirements Better directions required. Local tax paid to hotel by cash only would not accept card.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daverrrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

This is by far the worst hotel I've ever seen. Rooms 8 and 9 are simply a scam, not even worth a 1 star rating. Those rooms are actually outside the hotel, like 50m away in the same street. Of course, you won't find any pictures of those rooms on the website, nobody would come to this place anymore. First, nobody will be at the reception between 6pm and I don't remember when in the morning. Shower drain was blocked, mildew everywhere in the bathroom, dead spider on the floor with dust(clearly showing the room hasn't been cleaned at all, or cleaned by a blind guy) , no remote for the air conditioning in room 8 (room 9 has the total control) and the list goes on... The atmosphere is awful, big lack of light and you end up feeling like in a prison cell! How great for holidays. Considering the price for a room, you should avoid this place at all costs. Taking the risk to end up in one of those 2 rooms is not worth it. Then, we moved to room number 7. Bit better but clearly not a 3 star rating either. Too many things that you wouldn't find in a real 3 star... The so-called manager should be ashamed of his hotel . I guess all the peoples leaving good ratings ended up in good rooms, but more than 20% of bad feedbacks clearly show a big problem and the lack of consideration for the customers. Find a another hotel if you don't want your trip to be ruined

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sébastien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Well located near a vaporetto stop and a coop supermarket, it is at walking distance of the station, but if you have heavy luggage, it is better to ask for help. Rooms on the ground floor but they are on the path, exposed at the noise of the breakfast. The overall noise insulation between rooms can be improved. Comfort of the room is OK even if the bed can be better. We would have liked a bed protector for cleanness. And items in the room needs some fixing (shower head, plug in the wall).

Note that the canal is very much used (it is a main connecting canal) so there is traffic especially emergency boats.

The hotel is cozy and small. It also offers family oriented rooms. But this is a mismatch for such a setting as you are exposed to the noise of family (as they move more) and children specially. This is a pity. This hotel would much better be a couple only place.

It offers breakfast (that we did not took) but does not offer other meals. In fact it is more closer to a B&B than a full blown hotel.

The price seams in the average of the city, but the city is very expensive. Remember in Venice tourist = cash cow.

Room Tip: Get a room with Canal view
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zatash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews