We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location”
Review of Hotel Al Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Al Sole
Ranked #123 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We booked this as part of a package with MyVenice. The location couldnt be better. It's a really short walk from Piazzale Roma where the No 5 airport bus arrives. However once you have walked over a couple of small bridges you find yourself in a beautiful and quiet backwater. We were really pleased to be able to escape back to this haven of tranquility after battling with the crowds in San Marco.

The close proximity to the Vaporetto terminal on the Grand Canal also makes this an extremely convenient location for getting around. Its also easy to wander through the back streets of Santa Croce to walk to the Rialto Bridge.

The hotel itself was lovely with extremely friendly staff. Our room (118) was at the back of the hotel and didnt have a view. However this didnt matter to us as we spent most of the daytime out in the city. The room was a reasonable size, very clean and nicely decorated.

One minor complaint about room 118 was the lack of soundproofing from the neighbouring room 122 which was occupied on our last night by a French family with a small child who spent the whole time singing at the top of her voice. You could hear every word through the wall. However this was a minor problem and I am sure we could have asked to move if we wished.

We were recommended the nearby Ae Cravate restaurant where we obtained a 10% discount as Al Sole customers. This was a wonderful family-run place with excellent food.

Breakfast at the hotel was OK with plenty of choice although I agree with previous adverse comments about the "fruit juice".

Would definitely stay here again if we come back to Venice

Room Tip: Room 118 soundproofing could have been better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drpeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    437
    123
    24
    7
See reviews for
139
559
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I booked this hotel on Alpharooms at a very reasoable rate and was just bowled over by how wonderful it was. The hotel is just a short walk from the central bus station, overlooking a small quiet canal. We were lucky enough to have room 105 which has a small balcony overlooking the canal. The room itself was newly refurbished, very large, with flat screen tv - the only English channel we found was BBC World News - tea/coffee, mini bar, safe, very comfy beds and immaculate bedding. The en suite bathroom was huge, with lovely towels and toiliteries and a door off the bathroom led to a large shower room/toilet. Breakfast was buffet style,plentiful but rather basic. The staff were absoluteluy outstanding and could not have been more helpful. A word of warning, we took the water bus from the airport, this took ages and deposited us in completely the wrong part of the city. For a fraction of the price we could have got the regular bus service, which was far quicker and stopped very near the hotel. We bought 36 hour water bus passes and visited 3 nearby islands as well as the Lido, St Mark's Sq and many other attractions - excellent value, although generally I found Venice far more expensive than Rome or Florence. If you are considering a trip to Venice, you could not do better than stay at this marvellous hotel.

Room Tip: room 105 a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We stayed at the "Al Sole" for 2 nights.

The good points:
Very nice location, close to everything, but quiet enough to have good rest.

Very nice view from the room. (see picture)

Impressive building. It is a really nice place!!!

The very bad points:
Bad service. the first morning we left the room at 10 am, leaving the keys at reception. The room was still not done at 4 pm. They wanted to do it at 16:30 while we were having some rest.

Awful breakfast: One of the worst breakfast I've ever had. everything is bad, fake powder orange juices, machine milk, bad bread and cakes, etc...

regards

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FFF666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burgwedel, Germany
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Great location just 10 minutes walk from the busstation Piazzale Roma (especially if you arrive at night time and are not familiar with the area!). We paid €60.00 per night which we consider a really good deal. The room was small and had no view but was clean.
The hotel is located in an old venetian palace and full of atmosphere. Breakfast buffet was good, especially if one remembers the typical breakfast Italian hotels used to serve not too long ago. Juices, cereals, rolls, coffee machine with lots of choices etc. etc. Very nice and helpful staff.
The icing on the cake: halfway between the Piazzale Roma and the hotel is the #1 (out of more than 600) rated restaurant in Venice, which is actually just a hole in the wall, standing room only, but serves great rolls with ham, cheese, sausage and wine/prosecco each for just €0.60 to €1.20 (Bacareto da Lele). You have to go there!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kraut55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Booked a living social deal. Great location. Spent a really lovely 4 nights in this hotel. We were booked into a superior canal view room. Staff were helpful, and the room delightful. Comfortable good sized bed. Breakfast simple but good quality. No complaints at all. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#82 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#166 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#85 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#110 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#92 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#133 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Sole

Property: Hotel Al Sole
Address: Santa Croce 134-136, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price range (per night): $172 - $1,284
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A noble beginning of the Fifteenth century building, located in a very pleasant area of Venice,with delightful indoor garden Hotel Al Sole welcomes you amongst typical Venetian atmospheres and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Priceline, Wotif.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing