We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, good location”
Review of Hotel Al Santo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Al Santo
Ranked #22 of 45 Hotels in Padua
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We had a view of Basilica di Sant'-Antonio from our window. The hotel was located on a quiet street (we visited in March, so there was not much foot traffic and our room did not face the street but when we were out walking, there did not seem to be a lot of traffic). It was within a reasonable walking distance (several blocks) of the tram station so getting to and from the train and Scrovegni Chapel was easy. Everyone was helpful and friendly, especially the breakfast staff. Breakfast room was bright and cheery and there was a good variety of food for breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trvlgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 81 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2012

Hotel Al Santo is a very nice family run hotel within 1 block of the Basilica di Sant'-Antonio and a tourist office. The train station is a little far, as is the Scrovegni Chapel, but the Padova card includes bus transportation within the city, a stop for which is located within several blocks. There is 1 line which goes to/from all the main sights. Padua is a lovely city to visit.

The hotel has 15 rooms on two floors above their restaurant, which is a good choice for dinner after a hard day of sightseeing or if the weather is inclement. We had a smaller, very quiet room facing a roof garden with a view of the basilica. It was quite adequate for the three days of our stay. The bathroom was fine except that it was difficult to get in/out of the small shower. The room was clean and warm. We did not have a reason to need air conditioning. The breakfast room was delightful with a good selection of pastries, rolls, meat, cheese, yogurt and hot drinks. Breakfast is served, starting at 7:30am. The staff was very pleasant and helpful at all times. We needed to leave early for our train the last morning, and breakfast was ready for us by 7am.

We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and our visit to Padua. Be sure to reserve tickets to the Scrovegni Chapel ahead of your stay. It is well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTraveler4248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

This is a great family owned hotel right in the nice old section of the city near the church. The rooms were clean, we had two as we were two couples, and the beds were very comfortable. Our only complaint, was that the air-conditioning was not turned on yet...apparently it was too early. It may have been too early at the end of April but it was hot outside and a little too warm for sleeping for our liking. This was minor detail and would never hinder us from staying here again. The people are so friendly and helpful. We ate dinner in the restaurant and really enjoyed the atmosphere, the food and the prices. The breakfast room was lovely and had everything you could want. Great value, and these folks deserve top marks for the fabulous job they are doing. Great little hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorOnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My mother and I stayed here for four nights in April. It is a family business and all the staff were charming (and spoke good English). When we needed train times the receptionist looked them up online and printed them out for us to save us a trip to the station (all of ten minutes walk). The hotel is very close to the big basilica of St Anthony but central Padua is so small that we could walk everywhere in no time. Our room (101) was quite noisy with traffic on the street outside and people going up and down the stairs, but it was clean, comfortable, and had everything we needed. Breakfast was good with delicious home made bread and lovely prosciutto. The restaurant is excellent.

Room Tip: 101 is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reviewer069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

You cannot find fault with this charming hotel. The couple who run it are extremely pleasant and helpful. The location is a stone's throw from the Basilica of St Anthony. Breakfast was good and the room was nice for a 3 star hotel. We joined a tour the following week and found out that another couple had also been in Padua when we were and when they told us about the terrific place they stayed, we immediately knew they meant the Al Santo!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handhnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Padua hotels
0.2 km away
Belludi 37
Belludi 37
#1 of 45 in Padua
1,060 reviews
1.6 km away
Best Western Premier Hotel Galileo Padova
0.1 km away
Hotel Padova Casa del Pellegrino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Maritan
Maritan
#3 of 45 in Padua
1,006 reviews
0.2 km away
Al Fagiano
Al Fagiano
#16 of 45 in Padua
376 reviews
6.0 km away
Crowne Plaza Padova
Crowne Plaza Padova
#4 of 45 in Padua
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Santo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Santo

Address: Via del Santo 147, 35123, Padua, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Padua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Padua
Price Range: $118 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Santo 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely restored in 2007, our hotel is located in the historic center, next to Saint Anthony's Basilica, about 1 minute of walk from the central pedestrian zone and hospitals, with easy access to the train station and the fair trade. The comfortable and quiet rooms offer the following facilities: color TV, radio, telephones with direct outside lines, air-conditioning and internet wireless free. From the hotel there is direct access to the homonym Restaurant/Pizzeria Al Santo, acclaimed for its 10-year tradition of typical and international cuisine. The Reception Desk and the bar are open 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Santo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Santo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing