We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
87
138
47
35
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
138
47
35
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews packed lunch free bar chocolate bar boot room all inclusive deal bar area ski holiday plan maison new management cable car and gondola rooms are basic pool table and table football red run antipasti buffet main course end of the day the hotel manager
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2018

We are a family of four with two teenagers and stayed the last week of the season. It was our second visit having previously stayed two years ago. The hotel had changed management since our first visit and having read the mixed reviews online I was quite concerned. I really needn't have worried! The two rooms we were allocated were as advertised with a mountain view and a (very) small bath with overhead shower. They had a free safe, TV and hairdryer. The bathroom was small and the furniture worn and old fashioned but there was always hot water and the beds were comfortable and room was warm. The food was good with a buffet dinner on both the first and last evening. Dinner started at 7.30pm and there was plenty of choice, although it was best to be on time as some things were not replenished!. The rest of the week you chose your dinner from a menu at breakfast time from a choice of three starters and mains. There was also a buffet selection of salad, antipasta, bread, cheeses and desserts and an area labelled gluten free. We enjoyed the breakfast, again plenty of choice both hot and cold with freshly prepared omelet/eggs. The hotel provided packed lunches (there is a room upstairs at Plan Maison where you can eat them) which were not as good as on our first visit but were adequate (water/juice, crisps, chocolate and a basic choice of sandwich).

We paid 10 Euro each for a dressing gown and flip flops to use the spa as many times as we wished as long as we booked. Only eight people at a time allowed with three sessions each evening starting at 4pm. The jaccuzzi was lovely after skiing all day and there was also a sauna and steam room.

The lounge has a beautiful view of the mountains but the furniture and carpets were worn and tired. There was a pool table (2Euro) and a table football. While we were there everyone was very friendly and it was a sociable place. There were free snacks after 4pm (cake and savory rolls) The Crystal rep Zoe was very visible and eager to assist.

The best things about this hotel is it's location, very close to the ski lifts. If you wish to collect your own ski equipment there is a hire shop close by and it's easy to get your own lift pass although Crystal can organise all of that for you with it's own hire shop in the basement. The ski boot room has heated pegs for the boots and they are labeled with room numbers. Our kids went to ski school organised by Crystal and enjoyed it. It was a bit chaotic on the first morning when they sorted out the groups. The long Red 7 run goes right from the top of the mountain at Plateau Rosa to within a few minutes walk of the hotel but it is steep in places especially the very first and last bit.

This is a 3* hotel so don't expect it to be 5*. The staff are lovely and helpful, it's close to the lifts and the food is good but rooms are basic. We had a lovely holiday (lots of snow even so late in the year!). I would recommend it to friends as long as they are not super fussy!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaraW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

I must admit, at first looks this place was a little run down to say the least. But it was a cheap hotel, all inclusive and technically full board (packed lunch).
The room was small and the bathroom was smaller but we were going there to ski, not sit in the rooms. The food was plentiful and edible, the included drinks on the bar were drinkable (if you must have your London Gins or single malts they were there but must be paid for) The gondola station was right outside the front door and ski hire was within the building so cant grumble at that and the skiing was amazing, 3 resorts on 1 lift pass, I didn't want to come home. The staff were great, above and beyond. The worst part of our stay was the large group of trouble making guests that spent most of their stay looking for something to complain about!
And make sure you stop for lunch and grab a bean bag at the Chalet Etoile. :)

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We knew this was a cheap and cheerful place and didn't expect any thing grand and they didn't disappoint. We arrived and the outside of the hotel is a steep gradient and was sheet ice. No attempt had been made to grit it or clear it. As a result it was a death trap with people falling everywhere. Check in was fine and efficient. We entered our room and couldn't believe the state of the floor. It was mock floor boards that had been stuck to the floor. However it had clearly been there for best part of a century and in need of ripping up. I say this but most of it was ripped up and was a real danger moving around the room especially in the dark. The curtains were hanging off the window and the TV was hanging off the wall. We were particularly disappointed as we had paid several hundred pounds to upgrade to a room with a view. We went and complained to the manager but he simply shrugged his shoulders and said that there were no more rooms. This was a lie as people continued to arrive all evening and were placed in better rooms than the one we had. He said he would come and sort out the faults but all he did was tighten the bracket on the tv. We complained to our rep who spoke to him and visited the room. She could not believe her eyes. The manager said he would repair it in the morning. The repair was to cover the whole room with little bed side rugs. It was not slippier in the room than it was outside. The Crystal reps in the resort were outstanding and found us another hotel that day.
The general appearance of the hotel was run down and dreary. Everything appeared to be done on the cheap. The bar area was drab and youth hostel like, The dining room was ok and food was reasonable but if you didn't get in quickly it just went and was not replaced. The only real plus was the all inclusive package which gave you access to drinks from 4pm until 10 pm for free. This however has now stopped.
The hotel could be turned around reasonably easily with a little investment in the fabric of the building and in staff training and quality. The staff were pleasant but not really up to the job.
The hotel is in an excellent location for the main lift but you have to negotiate the ice wall in your boots and skis to get to it. Many injured themselves before even getting there.
The boot room was good with enough room for all guests. A pity this place has been allowed to fall into this state.

Room Tip: View it before you take it
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philipneale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Some of the moans in previous reviews are valid, others are preposterous. Be clear this is 3 star hotel in a ski resort and manage your expectations accordingly.

The food wasn’t exciting at all, but on a cheapish ski holiday it was perfectly sufficient with decent choice.

Location is excellent just a short walk from Plan Maison gondola and ski back to within 50 yards of hotel.

Bar service was good, often no one at reception.

Wi-fi was poor whenever more than 5 people tried to use it at once.

Staff generally really good, the on site ski hire folks being the pick of the bunch.

Rooms clean and tidy and heating good throughout.

For the price we paid this place is very good however Crystal pricing is incredibly variable and had we paid what some others have in other weeks I’d be disappointed. £650 pp per week including flight is reasonable for this place. Much than that and I’d expect slightly higher standards but for what we paid I was more than satisfied.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank philw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

12 of us stayed from 1 April for a week, including children from age 11 to 19.

The location is great, short walk to the lift, and close to town.

Rooms and shared areas, including spa, are ok but need a refurb. For the time you spend there it's fine, but I hear they're spending money on decor this year, about time.

Food is ok, breakfast good, packed lunch ok but a bit stale, and dinner ok with good buffet but average main meals.

Bar is fine, the spirits are quite limited and not great quality but beer and wine are fine.

We'd return if it was refurbished, as location was good.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank JohnsBridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews