We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (334)
Filter reviews
334 results
Traveller rating
87
138
47
35
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
138
47
35
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews packed lunch free bar chocolate bar boot room all inclusive deal bar area ski holiday plan maison new management cable car and gondola rooms are basic pool table and table football red run antipasti buffet main course end of the day the hotel manager
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 334 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Some of the moans in previous reviews are valid, others are preposterous. Be clear this is 3 star hotel in a ski resort and manage your expectations accordingly.

The food wasn’t exciting at all, but on a cheapish ski holiday it was perfectly sufficient with decent choice.

Location is excellent just a short walk from Plan Maison gondola and ski back to within 50 yards of hotel.

Bar service was good, often no one at reception.

Wi-fi was poor whenever more than 5 people tried to use it at once.

Staff generally really good, the on site ski hire folks being the pick of the bunch.

Rooms clean and tidy and heating good throughout.

For the price we paid this place is very good however Crystal pricing is incredibly variable and had we paid what some others have in other weeks I’d be disappointed. £650 pp per week including flight is reasonable for this place. Much than that and I’d expect slightly higher standards but for what we paid I was more than satisfied.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank philw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

12 of us stayed from 1 April for a week, including children from age 11 to 19.

The location is great, short walk to the lift, and close to town.

Rooms and shared areas, including spa, are ok but need a refurb. For the time you spend there it's fine, but I hear they're spending money on decor this year, about time.

Food is ok, breakfast good, packed lunch ok but a bit stale, and dinner ok with good buffet but average main meals.

Bar is fine, the spirits are quite limited and not great quality but beer and wine are fine.

We'd return if it was refurbished, as location was good.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank JohnsBridgend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Location for gondala is excellent - ski to door on a fairly steep red so not for beginners. It is a 10 minute walk into town which may not suit everyone.

Hotel is sadly in need of refurbishment, lounge area more like a hostel than a hotel. Food was disapointing & felt like hotel were on a tight budget.

Staff were helpful & friendly but needs money spent on upgrading.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Aly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

I have been skiing now for over 35 years , and stayed at some very poor chalets and hotels but this place could possibly be one of the worst. The hotel was recommended by friends who stayed last year, there is a group of 16 of us and so booked here 10 months prior. When the season started so did the bad reviews, I have organised over 20 years of trip for up to 30 people, so email the hotel with room names and dietary requirements. The trip was booked through Crystal who are to blame for most of the issues, and the after sales service is shocking. On arrival the hotel had no email from Crystal with room names or dietary restrictions, and what came next was a sham, with keys been given out that already had guests in and ended up with us all getting rooms with no views or hardly any natural light, and to boot the smell of sewage was almost gagging. The food the first night was a buffet and not the choice menu advertised, it was poor quality and no labels to help those with allergy’s. We complained to the rep who assured us the smell would be sorted, and speak to the manager about the food. The bad smell and quality of the food continued so we ate out most nights, we continued to complain to Ash the resort manager who was basically a chocolate fire guard. The free bar was as bad with one tap of beer which tasted strange and spirits which tasted like meths. Two of our group were so pissed off they flew home after 4 days, after speaking to most of the other guests the opinion was very much the same. We went on the 13th of January and there are some good reviews, but if you look carefully at these they are one offs and in my opinion fixed . When we left the hotel, the cases were taken down to a car park early in the morning and dumped in a pile, when we got there the cases were buried in 12 inches of snow with 4 bus loads, finding them was a nightmare. On return we contacted Crystal and complained after over 2 months of constant poor response from Crystal they offered us 150 per person , considering we paid over 1000 it is poor, but we accepted it as we were getting nowhere. On reflection I have been with Crystal over 30 times and until you have a complaint you never know the true colour, the customer service is rubbish......TUI dot the i’s and cross the t’s and put you in the middle......I DONT THINK SO. If a hotel in the UK had raw sewage issues they would transfer you, so why different in Italy? Basically it sucked.

Room Tip: All poor as far as we saw
Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

The hotel Pettit Palais is a basic 3 star hotel with comfortable beds, plenty of food selection and very helpful and friendly staff.

The only problem we had was from a large group, some of which seemed to be professional complainers constantly looking for compensation, they managed to find fault with everything. The staff continued to be polite and handled the imagined complaints with extreme professionalism.

We would return, as had many of the other guests

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank apsbluestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews