We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fine hotel in convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkhotel Luna Mondschein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Bolzano
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine hotel in convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

Had not expected to stay overnight in Bolzano during a recent trip to see relatives in Trentino-Alto Adige, but decided at the last minute that it made sense to do so. My aunt lives in the city center, so Hotel Luna was a very convenient place for us to stay, and I'm grateful that they had a room on 2 days' notice in mid-June.

Our room, while a little on the small side, was very clean and comfortable, with luxurious drapes. The A/C worked just fine. We also had a small balcony overlooking the park -- that was a fantastic benefit! It's too bad that my husband wasn't feeling well in the morning, because he would have loved the fulsome buffet breakfast. I certainly did.

The staff were courteous and helpful. We needed a place to leave our bags between check-out and our later train. No problem there. It was an easy walk to the station as well.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrentinaNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    114
    56
    23
    5
See reviews for
36
87
14
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2006

Charming hotel with restaurant in garden. Slightly odd 70's Decor, fancy avocado green fixtures in bathroom. Location was great, service was good (all the staff were very friendly and helpful).

Our flight from the US was delayed by one day, and they didn't charge us for the night we missed (we emailed them that morning).

Good German food at the restaurant (we had rabbit and roast pork). Big buffet breakfast with eggs, cereal, ham, cheese etc. Free Internet.

  • Liked — restaurant in garden
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TomAndDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2006

I've travelled extensively throughout the world, and the Luna Mondschein is one of the worst hotel I've been to !!!

First of all, this hotel is expensive, ans is rated as a 4-stars, so, when making your reservation, you're quite confident about this property's overall quality.

Well, the Luna Mondschein is no more than a 2-stars. The property is *VERY* old and tired, and the staff is unhelpful at best.

The rooms are totally ridiculous, I think they are the same than in 1920 !!! I had the "pleasure" to stay in this hotel in July, and there was absolutely no air-conditioning in my room !!! I was so upset, it was very hot, and we had to sleep with our window opened !

The room itself need a total refurbishment, I've never been to a room so old and tired. The bathroom is also very old, and I was (again) totally upset, because I paid an expensive fare for a 2-stars room.

I mean, if I paid 50 Euros for this room, and if it was advertised as a 2-stars property, it would have been OK...

The breakfast is a total robbery, we paid 10 Euros per person, and the "buffet" was definitely ridiculous: poor choice, poor quality...

Luna Mondschein is definitely NOT a 4-stars property, they should be ashamed to sell their hotel as a 4-stars !

By the way, as I go back very often in Bolzano for business, there is a brand new property situated in the industrial area of the town (far from city center), and this property is definitely 4-stars !

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Tiquinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bamako, Owner at Parkhotel Luna Mondschein, responded to this review, 15 May 2009
4 years have passed… in the meantime our hotel has been renovated.
We have installed air conditioning in 80% of the rooms and completely redecorated and refurbished our bathrooms, floors finishings, preserving the elegant antique structure and adding on modern comforts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2005

Very traditional hotel in a small park right in the historical center of Bolzano (Bozen). Insist on a room in the main building. These rooms are pretty quiet, some have park view. There are also some rooms in an adjoining building near the garage. Noise there coming from the courtyard quite terrible at times, especially in the early morning. Do not pay too much for your accommodation. As with most hotels in Bolzano, rates displayed through travel agents and on the hotel’s Website are unrealistic. Walk-in rates about 15% lower, maybe even more if you are good in bargaining. Do not accept a rate that includes breakfast. This will amount to EUR 10 (per person) of the total room rate. The hotel’s breakfast buffet is not worth that. Check rates with travel agents anyway, in case the Luna changes its attitude about online bookings. So far business has not been good this year for hotels in Bolzano.

The Luna offers the usual facilities. Most of the rooms are reasonably sized and quite comfortable. It also used to have a free PC corner with Internet access on the ground floor plus free WLAN in most rooms of the main building. However, the computer broke down already some weeks ago and in the meantime the WLAN has stopped working as well, except in the Lobby. It’s unclear if and when these services will be reestablished.

The hotel’s front desk staff is friendly and helpful, with very few exceptions.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bolzano hotels
0.3 km away
Stadt Hotel Citta
Stadt Hotel Citta
#3 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
4.1 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano
0.3 km away
Hotel Greif
Hotel Greif
#1 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Scala Stiegl Hotel
Scala Stiegl Hotel
#13 of 26 in Bolzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Post Gries
Hotel Post Gries
#10 of 26 in Bolzano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Eberle
Hotel Eberle
#14 of 26 in Bolzano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkhotel Luna Mondschein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkhotel Luna Mondschein

Property: Parkhotel Luna Mondschein
Address: Via Piave 15, 39100 Bolzano, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of South Tyrol > Bolzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bolzano
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bolzano
Price range (per night): $190 - $299
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkhotel Luna Mondschein 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Green oasis in the center of Bolzano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com and Booking.com so you can book your Parkhotel Luna Mondschein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkhotel Luna Mondschein Bolzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing