We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not welcoming to touristica”

La Taverna dei Mercanti
Ranked #20 of 4,149 Restaurants in Turin
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The sign days open for lunch between 12 and 2:30. We arrived at 2:15 and were refused service because the meal could not be prepared before 2:30. I have toured Italy for the last forty years and although I usually eat lunch at or near noon, I have never seen a local refused service because it was near closing time. In fact it is not uncommon for the service of the meal to extend well beyond the closing time.

Date of visit: April 2018
3  Thank leef903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

18 - 22 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

This place was a little difficult to find but I’m glad we made the effort to find it! The waiter told us what to get so we could try food from Torino and we were a little hesitant but it was delicious!! Homemade pasta with veal and the ravioli were outstanding. Best meal in Torino! Go here for some delicious traditional Italian food.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank vanessaneeleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

The owner is most helpful as we needed menu translated to English and very funny and charming too. The food was lovely and we had free grappa on the house. Would recommend and will go back when I visit turin next time.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

We ate biff & it was ok but the staff were really kind and helpful, price ok, you have too book table in advance!!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Azadeh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Very delicious Piedmontese food: I tried their Vitello Tonnate and a homemade pasta with spinach and ricotta which was amazing. The redwine suggested by the waiter was perfect too. The place has a really great and warm atmosphere and the waiters are very attentive. Absolutely recommended!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JensenLykke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Taverna dei Mercanti also viewed

Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 
Turin, Province of Turin
Turin, Province of Turin
 

Been to La Taverna dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing