We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of a kind vacation”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to Villa Monziani, built in 1637 on Island of San Giulio, Lake Orta, 400m from mainland
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Villa Monziani, built in 1637 on Island of San Giulio, Lake Orta, 400m from mainland
The garden shady area under the bower. There are deckchairs cushions & chairs to eat outside. The small garden, borders the lake, you can dive off the wall to swim or access by the boat house.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Welcome to Villa Monziani, built in 1637 on Island of San Giulio, Lake Orta, 400m from mainland
The garden shady area under the bower. There are deckchairs cushions & chairs to eat outside.
The small garden, borders the lake, you can dive off the wall to swim or access by the boat house.
The shade of grape bower with a stone table for eating outdoors.
Long cushions, outdoor chairs, table cloths and  tableware available.
Weber Master Touch BBQ & pit area with a view, many accessories incl. chimney.
Facade of the house, dated 1637, the large lounge on first floor has a beautiful view of the lake.
The manicured garden has two stone tables for eating outside, lamps are provided.
Private dock& jetty next to garden with 8HP private boat. Sandy water entrance.
New wooden jetty, accessible by public taxiboats, also late afternoon  sundeck
Covered part with hot outdoor shower on the left, sports amenities kept here.
New 40HP boat, electronic ignition/steering wheel, available for an extra fee.
Arched glass door of the kitchen leading to the garden & next to boat entrance.
View from the kitchen on the garden and paved area around bower and stone table.
New kitchen with all mod.cons including fridge, freezer, microwave & crockery.
Microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, pots, pans, cutlery & cleaning products.
Microwave, dishwasher, washing machine, pots, pans, cutlery & cleaning products.
Antique wash basin and old copper utensils from the past.
Antique fresco above door leading to small lounge showing San Giulio's arrival.
View of expandable kitchen table, seats 10 people, many chairs available.
Lounge next to the kitchen with access to the garden, utility closet and ground floor toilet.
Lounge on ground floor with utility room, writing desk, sofa & wine cellar.
Ground floor lounge, towels for sunbathing and swimming provided, also cushions.
Selection of local wines for your convenience at shop prices, to be paid for.
Ground floor bathroom with shower.
Antique rare Gozzano marble washbasin. Towels and biological soaps provided.
Internal wooden mountain style stairs leading up to 1st floor large lounge.
View of ground-floor lounge and internal staircase from 1st floor lounge.
Wooden safety trapdoor that closes staircase opening. Guest library area.
Staircase from main entrance door up to main lounge & bedrooms. Original fresco.
View of main door leading onto the vicolo and circular stone pathway going around the island.
Corridor leading to garden, small lounge & main Island entrance door.
Ground floor bedroom with double bed, writing desk, wardrobes & fireplace.
Ground floor master bedroom with internal shower & en-suite bathroom.
Wardrobe of ground floor bedroom.
Towels and ecological soap provided, including toilet paper & hair dryer.
Antique stone washbasin in en-suite toilet including ventilation & small window.
The large 1st floor lounge with fireplace overlooking the garden and lake.
Particular of lounge with bookcase and stereo, original 17th C wooden ceilings.
Walnut parquet, 3 divans, designer lighting and a very comfortable ambiance.
The Barrow Cup, to be awarded to all guests who swim the 650m around the Island.
View of the garden and lake from the lounge. Exit to the balcony which runs the length of the facade
Master bedroom on 1st floor next to lounge, wardrobe & drawers. Linen provided.
1st floor bedroom overlooking garden & lake, access to balcony.  Original fresco
Original 17th C wooden beams of the bedroom.
Door of 1st floor master bedroom leading onto the large lounge.
1st floor baloney that leads down to the garden via stone staircase.
Stairs to mezzanine bedroom, rope handrail. Original frescos.
Fresco on window of mezzanine bedroom accessible by central staircase.
Bedroom on mezzanine floor, 2 single beds with en-suite bathroom.
Mezzanine bedroom window overlooking internal corridor staircase.
Wardroom and window looking onto vicolo of mezzanine bedroom.
Stairs from mezzanine floor to second floor bedrooms. Original fresco.
Stairs from mezzanine floor to second floor bedrooms. Original fresco.
Another view of the 2nd floor lounge
Stairs leading from 2nd floor lounge to loft master bedroom.
Detail of 2nd floor loft master bedroom with two Velux skylights, divan & library.
Adjourning bathroom to the 2nd fr master bedroom, with sauna shower, WC, bidet & washbasin.
En-suite sauna/shower bathroom to 2rd flr master bedroom, bidet and view of lake
2nd flr. studio bedroom, large divan-bed, table, wardrobe & drawers  great view.
2nd flr. studio bedroom, large divan-bed, table, wardrobe & drawers  great view.
Further details of studio bedroom.
View from 2nd floor studio bedroom with small balcony.
View from the Villa of the mainland and the antique town of Orta where there is a garage.
The Island of San Giulio from mainland Orta. Public boats or our aluminium boat are available.
A frequent visitor to the island along with many other birds and wildlife.
San Giulio Island by night. Lake Orta is generally calm, a light breeze descending in the evening.
The magical atmosphere of the most quaintest of the Italian lakes, secluded, peaceful and romantic.
Breakfast in the morning at Venus with a brioche, cappuccino and a newspaper, great start to the day
Another view of the island from Sacro Monte, a UNESCO heritage site, a short walk from Orta
The main square of Orta with its shops, restaurants and characteristic 18th C charm and grace.
The Island of San Giulio from mainland Orta. Public boats or our aluminium boat are available.
Villa Monziani on San Giulio Island, in the middle of Lake Orta,  5 bedrooms, garden & boathouse.
Map indicating arrival route and parking.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Piedmont

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sara A
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
“One of a kind vacation”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in April 2013

Orta, and this house are truly one of a kind. Our immediate family stayed for a week during the spring of 2013 and it was an unforgettable experience. The house is spacious with spectacular views throughout, old world charm meets modern amenities and well selected furnishings. The island is quiet and unbelievably beautiful. Truly unmatched and unforgettable - GO!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house and location
Liked least: Beds could be more comfortable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2015
Thank you very much, we strive to modernise within our possibilities as much as possible, guarantying as much personal comfort as possible, renovating the linen and bedding, adding extra luxuries such as bedwarmers for the colder months and heaters for the toilets all year round, and decorating with designer objects, such as the illumination pieces, as after all we are in a country famous for its design! Thanks also to many of our guests we now find the kitchen furnished with a most varied set of utensils, so complete that a few we are not 100% certain of their use, to help make your home cooking as pleasurable and convenient as possible.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LCee88
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
“Fantastic house for large groups in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in March 2013

The Villa is located on an island in Lake Orta. It is quite, peaceful, and set in one of the most beautiful places you will ever visit. The Villa has so much character and is right across the water from a great town with so many delicious restaurants. Our family spent a week there after a wedding and it was great to wind down and relax.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2015
Thank you so much, not only is it a perfect place to relax after a wedding, it's now becoming a popular location for weddings, especially among foreigners, ever more often do you see couples in the main square having their photograph taken with the island as the backdrop or being rowed around the island in one of the characteristic wooden row boats. It certainly adds a fairy-tale mystique that is completed by the singing of the nuns, who live in the monastery on centre of the island, on Sunday mornings at mass in the ancient basilica, an experience open to all and not to be missed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoneGator...
Kaneohe, Hawaii
2 reviews
“Magical Island in Northern Italy”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in June 2013

I have stayed at this Villa a few times and each and every time is just as magical as the first! The house is so charming and afternoons spent reading in the garden or fishing or just having a glass of prosecco and chatting with family and friends makes you feel like you have discovered the secret to life. The village is filled with great little shops (ranging from clothing to artwork to jewelry) and restaurants and has an open market once a week to shop for souvenirs. I will certainly go back to visit soon and I know I won't be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: Lack of wifi but there is availability in the village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2015
Thank you very much. We're so glad you appreciate the amenities that Orta now offers, over the years the quantity, quality and range of shops has improved enormously, after all the region is famous for its gastronomic specialities and improved catering is symptomatic of progress. Apart from the plethora of all types of wine bars, ice-cream shops, restaurants (in particular Venus), fashion, art, jewellery, and all the related events organised by the borough, we have now even a famous Italian TV chef, Antonino Cannavacciuolo at nearby Villa Crespi, near the Orta roundabout. He's the equivalent of Gordon Ramsey, without the swearing!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimblebea...
Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth!”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in July 2013

I'm almost afraid to write a review as I don't want it to be booked when we want to return! The sun shimmering off the lake in the morning, sitting in the garden drinking my lavazza coffee listening to the church bells ringing is a memory I call on whenever I am stressed. We took our 2 boys 11 & 13 at the time and they had the time of their life going out in the boat, fishing, feeding ducks. A chance to disconnect from technology and relax. The village is amazing, the people friendly, the food delicious - can't recommend highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very unique, peaceful and relaxing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2015
Thank you so much. We are so pleased that the boys enjoyed the lake, it is a vaunt that the water is so clean now, after the definitive depuration interventions in the 80s. There are lots of fish, so much so that on Sundays many try their luck trying to catch the renown perches and pikes. Some have also put traps for freshwater prawns, which evidences the cleanliness of the water. Apart from all the birds which we love to feed too, often the swans will pass by when the lake is quiet and that's our favourite moment. We make sure that we'll always got biscuits for them!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GerriHaye...
Honoluly
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Another Magical stay at Lake Orta”
Reviewed 23 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014

I have stayed at Barrow residence on Isola San Giulio for 16 years. I have taken family and friends at many different times of the year and we always feel like crying the day we leave.
It is a private residence with lovely garden with a pergola with grapes and roses and dining table.
There are 3 bedrooms 2 with bath ensuite and a dine in kitchen and lovely living room with fireplace for cool evenings. The rental includes a small motorboat to let you visit other villages along the lake and commute to the village (4 minutes) away. There is one restaurant on the island and a lovely convent with 80 Benedictine nuns in cloister. On Sundays they sing at the 11 o'clock Mass and it is magical. There are great shops and restaurants in the village and they are so friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is like home away from home
Liked least: The older I get the more the stairs and launching boat are a little challenging
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2015
It's always a great pleasure to have you, the house has become your home too over the years and we treasure the useful objects you've left behind to help enhance the facilities. We have always made jam from the grapes and the figs from the garden, but now thanks to you we have a new specialty with which greet future guests, San Giulio chutney! We are increasing the species of spice plants that can be found in the garden; rosemary, sage, oregano, majorana, mint, basil and chives, to enrich the culinary experience as much as possible. We'll be planting a banana tree, not that we ever expect fruits, but to use the leaves in the future to cook fish on the new BBQ grill, obviously made in USA! ;)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing