We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice.”

Mariu Kebabberia Gastronomica
Ranked #1,283 of 9,211 Restaurants in Milan
Price range: USD 6 - USD 23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery
Description: Official hashtag: #mariukebab Mariu, is the format of the network dedicated to the kebab Foodation. Mariu - kebabberia gastronomic to a new concept of kebab. A simple place, nice, with strong characterization Italian in design and the choice of ingredients. The goal of Mariu is to revolutionize the way in which hitherto was perceived kebab looking back to our roots but reinterpreting elements in a contemporary and international. Mariu kebabberia is reinterpreted with the help of the teachings of her grandmother: quality of the ingredients, heat and a touch of femininity. The meat is not chopped, stuck the spit in whole pieces chosen one by one, 100% Italian, chicken or veal, made ​​specially for us on our recipe and seasoned with only salt , pepper, rosemary and sage with no added preservatives, flavorings or chemicals. In short, a roast cooked vertically thanks to the technique of kebab which helps to keep it soft for longer. As well as the choice of the flesh transmits the attention to quality and simplicity Italian cuisine also the ingredients that can be linked are taken from the book of grandmother's recipes: fresh vegetables, creams, pickled vegetables, sauces. We called kebab gourmet, but we could call sandwich with roast and seasonings may be quietly on the blackboards of small delis throughout Italy .. In short, a mix of tradition and innovation that is a variant of the classic kebab (which you can still dial.) The inspiration given by her grandmother is the thin thread that has guided all choices for Foodation Mariu; from Mariuccia name, used in the most confidenzale Mariu as the famous song of the 30's of Vittorio de Sica, to get the use of wallpaper color retro design which incorporates the shading of the bricks used in old houses campaign and in barns which are also made ​​part of the furniture. The room has also a prominent place the reference to the book of recipes, through the use of marked squares and handwriting. A grandmother who is also a bit 'teacher , but especially cooking experience and life.
Reviewed 18 March 2017

I cannot give more than 3 stars to Mariù because I don't think it is very good and unmissable, but the kebab is definitely decent with good ingredients. Atmosphere is like a fast food (no table service) so it can be nice for a quick lunch or stop while in the area.
Prices can vary from 10€ to 15€ for a kebab, chips and a drink. I really liked that you can choose from a lot of different ingredients and sauces and make your own kebab.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dangiapedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariukebabberia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Mariu Kebabberia Gastronomica, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Thank you dangiapedia for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2016

I'm not a kebab person in the UK, but in Italy they're a different kettle of fish. So much fresher and authentic!

This place is amazing, from the interior decor to the food. The decor is very wooden with pops of colour and quite bare like an Ikea showroom. You'd actually think it was a Sweedish chain!

It has a cool ordering system where everything is on a notepad paper menu and they have pencils for you to tick the box of meat/salads/sides you want. one side is in italian and one side is in english. or if you're experienced at this place you can just tell them what you want.

It's a nice and simple menu where you pick you meat, bread, fillings, sides and drinks. I was lucky in that the guy serving explained it all to me in non fluent english (he did do well I might add) and then when larger groups came in I saw some fill out the pads and generally got the feel of how it works.

you can take a seat and wait for your meal and they ping a bell and you collect it from the hatch, along with sauces and stuff.

The place is popular with students and those under 30. You wouldn't really expect kids or older folk in there but I'm pretty sure they'd love it too. It just seems more of a student eaterie.

I wish I had it more than once as it was such a cool place to dine and enjoy a nice hot meal that filled you up!

Next time I'm in that area I'll defo make it my late night feast! But I'll try to learn Italian so I can order properly.

Really lovely place!

1  Thank Marina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariukebabberia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Mariu Kebabberia Gastronomica, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Dear Marina! Thanks so much for your kind review! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

I was there with a friend, we had to wait almost 30 minutes because we didn't know they only open at 7:30pm for dinner (usually kebabs are all day open). I choosed puccia and my friend got a Piadina. Both were delicious but pretty tiny compared to the typical street kebab size. A nice thing is you can choose all your ingredients from the bread to sauces. We paid 8€ each kebab because we choosed an extra ingredient, that's crazy if you think the majority of kebab in Milan are 3,50 to 4,00 and they're double size compared to this. At least it was good, all ingredients were delicious. Since it's so expensive I recommend to choose unusual ingredients, I mean not just the "classic" onion/tomatoes/lettuce because in my opinion it would be crazy to pay all that for a "normal" kebab (just smaller).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 244Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

Good quality, decent overall but pretty overpriced with 9-13€ a person more or less.
Still recommendable if the price is no issue.

Thank Giuseppe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariukebabberia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Mariu Kebabberia Gastronomica, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2016
Google Translation

Ciao Giuseppe G!
Grazie per la tua recensione, siamo felici tu abbia gradito il prodotto, investiamo molto sulla qualità, le nostre carni sono scelte con cura e gli abbinamenti da costruire in base ai propri gusti, proprio per questo i nostri prezzi sono un po' più cari della media (6,90€ per un kebab di pollo + 4 ingredienti a scelta), speriamo vorrai tornare a trovarci!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2015 via mobile

Stupid that I didn't take photos to prove what I'm saying. I wanted to try this marvelous "gastronomic" kebab and had a very unpleasant experience. Firstly I had to pay 20 euros for two Kebabs and water, that I could have had an even better kebab paying just 3.50 euros for one from an ordinary kebab place. The gastronomic kebab, is really nothing special. In the price, there are 4 ingredients included. These 4 ingredients include the sauces that are not "gastronomic". I was expecting so much more. The sauces should not be included in the 4 food ingredients chosen. There was nothing great about the sauces either. For the price, I really expecting something more than an ordinary kebab. It was oily and had no taste. There was no wifi, and they want payment in advance.
So in conclusion, if you want to pay that for food rather go to a normal restaurant. And if you do want a kebab, I would not recommend going to this gastronomic kebab.

Thank Alessandro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariukebabberia, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Mariu Kebabberia Gastronomica, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2015
Google Translation

Ciao Alessandro,
ci spiace leggere di un'esperienza così negativa.

Va da se che, per aver speso 20 €, ti sei orientato su una composizione ad hoc dunque non possiamo intervenire sulle aggiunte che hai selezionato ed acquistato.

Ci spiace piuttosto che tu non abbia gradito le nostre proposte e colto la qualità dei nostri prodotti, che è per noi elemento cruciale ed impegno prioritario.

Speriamo tornerai comunque a farci visita per provare a stupirti positivamente.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mariu Kebabberia Gastronomica also viewed

 

Been to Mariu Kebabberia Gastronomica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing