We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Minimal Modern Design” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel STRAF

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel STRAF
Ranked #101 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Minimal Modern Design”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is a very hip place. It's industrial modern design is not for every one. Very much like Mama Shelter in Paris. Great location and friendly staff. We were there just after fashion week so the hotel was still buzzing with industry people. I tried to tell them I was a model but somehow they knew I was lying. You can't beat the location.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    319
    111
    33
    31
See reviews for
97
296
45
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

As a design hotel Straf doesn’t disappoint: it’s meticulously put together and aesthetically very bold. And the location can’t be faulted, it’s perfect for shopping and sightseeing with the cathedral just a stone’s throw away.

But the hotel is also a great example of form trumping function. The wi-fi in my room didn’t work (at all) and after trying to help, the staff admitted that most of the far-corner rooms can’t receive the wi-fi signal. They offered to move me to a street-facing room, where the wi-fi is apparently strong, but cautioned that the street noise there could be a problem.

The lighting options in the room were almost infinite (there are many switches to play with) but even with all the lights on, my room was quite dark. The post-industrial finish also meant that it felt like a glamorous bunker, with little natural light and a strange echo. It was not a place I wanted to spend much time in.

Had I been on a boozy weekend trip, Straf might have felt like a fun place to be. But on a work trip in the week, it was actually a difficult place to be productive and feel rested.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet - but the wi-fi may not work there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NY_LON_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

STRAF was ideal: excellent in every way, fabulously helpful staff, great standard of rooms and amenities, and a lovely feel to the place. No, it's not the biggest nor the brightest and yes, if you don't like the cool modern pared-down style this might not be ideal for you: but if you're looking for an amazingly central location (it really is as close to the Duomo as the map suggests) and you're a couple who're looking for a base with a sharp vibe to chill but spending most of your time out in the city, this is perfect. The hotel organised beautiful flowers in advance, booked a cracking local restaurant, and even sorted our train tickets for us for our next holiday stop in Italy. Room was spacious with brilliant floor-to-ceiling art, very clean and ultra comfy despite the austere cool looks. We'd most definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weekend_for_two
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

excellent location... great design... very kind staff! overall a great place!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

To start with location, the staff and the quality of sleep cannot be faulted at Hotel Straf. But the entourage of fashionistas hanging by the front door, the dark, confined lift and the fact that using my room key was extremely challenging made me realise I'm just not that into this hotel. Not sure whether they tried too hard or I didn't try hard enough. Do love the environmentally friendly packaging of shower products though.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MollyPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Centro Storico
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Starhotels Rosa Grand
#50 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
Centro Storico
Sina De La Ville
Sina De La Ville
#145 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Sina The Gray
Sina The Gray
#204 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel STRAF? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel STRAF

Property: Hotel STRAF
Address: Via San Raffaele 3, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#82 Business Hotel in Milan
#84 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price range (per night): $262 - $462
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel STRAF 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel STRAF is located only few steps from the Duomo cathedral, the fashionable Via Montenapoleone and La Scala Theatre. An inspired fusion of Italian fashion, original design and elegance, the STRAF combines minimalist design and classic Italian architecture. The 64 rooms and suites blend design and functionality, maximising comfort. Those seeking a stylish, urban hangout will enjoy the unconventional atmosphere of the STRAF Bar and the cool service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel STRAF reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Straf Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing