We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly placed and could do better......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Visconti Palace
Ranked #34 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Verteillac, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Badly placed and could do better......”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This hotel is situated too far from the city centre, unless you like a walk of at least 45 minutes.
This was a big problem when we visited in January as the taxis were on strike, and we actually got stranded in the centre of Milan at 01.00 hours. We asked the hotel if they vould send the hotel car...no driver!! Fortunately the proprietor of the excellent restaurant, Il Coriandolo took pity and asked one of his waiters to take us back to the hotel. The night staff at the hotel could not care less and said we could have got the metro..big deal at that of the morning when your knowledge of Italian is minimal!!
The staff in general were surly, with the exception of the bar staff and the concierge, Bernie.,
who were excellent.
The hotel is grand but lacking five star quality and whilst the spa and pool area was good it was not part of the hotel and had to be paid for on a separate basis.. The cost for wi-fi in your room was expensive and not reliable and you received no help when things went wrong except to being told to phone Swisscom.
We booked the hotel car for our return to Malpensa airport at the behest of Bernie, the concierge, and a good decision this was as the taxis were still on strike and we would otherwise have missed our flight.
Would we return?? NO. If we go back to Milan we would try elsewhere.
One last point, there is an excellent trattoria nearby ...de LA TREBLA....excellent local place with great food at decent prices. Thank you Bernie for this.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms were quiet. Our junior suite was not large, but comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Dear Mr. Raymond H,

First of all we would like to thank you for giving us feed back about your stay, we are happy to clarify a few remarks of your comment;

The actual distance from the hotel to the city centre is 3 km, it is a good walk but we strongly suggest to use the metro which gets directly to the Duomo square in only 4 stops, the stop is at only 3 minutes walking distance from the hotel and our front office and Concierge staff are at our guest disposal especially to give you the solutions the most suitable to your needs.

We are sorry you have suffered the lack of service due to the taxi strike, unfortunately the situation was not so easy to handle since the strike has gone on for about 4 days causing a big problem to the whole city. We had about 7 private cars available only for our hotel from very early morning until late at night furthermore we have referred to all the available contacts even with Companies we usually do not work with. The night you needed the car unfortunately they were all already reserved and the night staff was informed by the Concierge that at 11.30pm ended the shift the situation was unfortunately the one described as here above therefore the only way to travel in the city were Public transports.. There was not much to do about it, but we want to underline this is not a lack of service depending by the hotel.

Please note that we are not a five star hotel, therefore we are not able to provide such a service even though, as you will be able to notice yourself on the previous comments on trip advisor, we always try to do that extra step in terms of service in order to make our guest happy and usually this is our remark “ the good service & good staff”. That is why we are very surprised to read your words about the “surly” behaviour of the staff.

On our web site there are available rates that include the use of the SPA, we recommend to always have a look to our offers & promotions directly on the site, we can ensure you will always find the best solutions that meet your request.

Internet is available for free both wi-fi and land line in our business centre and lobby area, only in the rooms there is a supplement to pay of just € 12 for 24 hours connection. As you have mentioned Swisscom is our provider that was especially chosen for the top service they can provide us with, in fact in case of issues there is 24-hour assistance to help you going through step by step and solve the technical issues, this is the reason why nobody came to your room. The assistance always worked out perfectly by phone so we are sorry once again you have interpreted the situation as a missed service of the hotel.

We thank you for the nice words you have spent about our Concierge Bernie, we will make sure he will receive your comment.

We hope we will have the chance to host you again and provide you with our usual excellent 4-star S service.

Kindest Regards.

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    645
    144
    48
    34
See reviews for
354
605
66
455
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

on arrival we were greeted with the bell boy who took our luggage.the service at reception was first class ,my husband 's italian was a little bit rusty we were introduced to antonella the concierge who was delightful.she made our stay enjoyable.the hotel resaurant was excellent.we visited porto fino ,genova,and taxi driver jani was a treat as the title says 3 days were perfect.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spicecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 25 January 2012
Dear Spicecook,

We are very glad to notice that the professionalism and friendliness of our staff is the emerging remark of Grand Visconti Palace.

Antonella is delighted by your kind comments, she and the rest of the staff try daily their best to accomplish the mission and make our guests happy, that is why we are very thankful for your input.

We hope to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I was looking for a place where to have brunch with friends on January,1st: it looked like "Mission Impossible". All main cafeterias, bakeries, patisseries and whatever happened to be close on the first day of the year.
I bumped into GH Visconti restaurant and I had an excellent experience: staff were absolutely great. The maitre d in charge of the morning service arranged a new table for us in less than 2 minutes and explained us the "ordinary breakfast" was getting over and new menu proposals for brunch were on their way. He lokked after us in a very elegnat and not invasice way: absolutely excellent!
We started with a rich buffet breakfast which is not that to be taken for granted in Italian hotels and we end up with a dreamy "seafood lasagna" and a soft homemade pizza.
The chef himself came out of the kitchen to check everything was ok and though we told him everything was perfect and we could not wish for anything more he personally brought the fresh pizza to our table.
When we complimented for the lasagna and tod him we were sure to regret it at job lunchtime the following day he prepared a "doggy bag" for me!

Listen: what really made the difference was really the staff.
So congrats to restaurant staff and to hotel management to support the staff enthousiasm and passion. This is the right way to go on.

Tourists: do not miss the opportunity to taste the real Italian hospitality- this is one of the few places in town where people know what hotellerie and hospitality really mean

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristiana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, F&B Manager at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear Mrs. Cristiana P.
thank you very much for your kind input. The restaurant staff & management appreciated your comment. We are trying to do our best to satisfy our guest in terms of quality of food & service.
We hope to see you soon again at Grand Visconti Palace, therefore at Al V Piano restaurant!.
Best regards

Claudio Ciccotti

F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I loved this hotel the minute I walked in the door. The staff were very friendly, and helpful too. The hotel struck me as being spotlessly clean, with class too. bedrooms were spacious and well appointed. Breakfast was great and I was so tempted to over indulge as it all looked so nice, and trust me what I had was great. I have stayed in several hotels around the world, and this compares well with them all. Seemed to be reasonably priced too. Probably better value than hotels near the Duomo.
It is about a 20 minute taxi ride from Linate Airport. There is an under ground station about 200m away with the Duomo a few stops down the line.
Couldn't ask for more- just wished I was there for more than one night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jager66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grgvp, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Dear Jager66,

thank you very much for your lovely comment.

We are glad you had the chance to explore the city centre, which, as yourself said, is just few stops away from us.

We hope we will see you once again here at the Grand Visconti Palace and maybe for more than one night. Maybe next time you will also visit our Spa.

Kindest Regards.

Bernie Gallotta
Concierge & Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We were there for our first 2 nights in Europe recently (early Dec 2011). We were arriving at noon time when the Receptionist welcomed us. The room was not ready and he asked whether we wanted to look around the city. We did ask him how to reach city centre or San Siro and he was very friendly to advise the directions on the map. First impression was good.
The room was clean and the bathroom was superb. Breakfast was standard in one big hall. Location was very close to metro station, about 3 minutes walk. It took 10 minutes to reach city centre (Duomo). The negative point might be on Sat night, it was a bit noisy because our room was facing the road.
For our 3 days 2 nights stay, we enjoyed the beauty of Milan, friendly people of Milan and this nice & neat hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvl, Responsabile reception at Grand Visconti Palace, responded to this review, 2 January 2012
Dear Donny H,
Thank you for your lovely comment.
We normally do our best to have all the rooms ready as soon as we can, however when we are full this become difficult, because our guests can stay in the room until midday.
Our standard rooms are facing the street, but our deluxe rooms are quieter with a very nice view over our italian garden.
Hoping to see you back at the Grand Visconti Palace.
Kind regards,

Yveline Corthier
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Milan Suite Hotel
#24 of 428 in Milan
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#79 of 428 in Milan
2,574 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 428 in Milan
6,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Visconti Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Visconti Palace

Property: Grand Visconti Palace
Address: Viale Isonzo 14, 20135 Milan, Italy (Formerly Grand Visconti Palace Milan - MGallery Collection)
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Milan
#19 Family Hotel in Milan
#26 Business Hotel in Milan
#26 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#28 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price range (per night): $147 - $454
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Visconti Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Visconti Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Visconti Palace Hotel Milan
Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing